We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Value Hotel - all boxes ticked!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Ranked #76 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Melbourne
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A Good Value Hotel - all boxes ticked!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here for three nights in mid June because frankly, it was cheaper to stay here than stay in the city proper.

Being elderly and travelling without a car, public transport access was important so we were pleased to find a cable car stop around the corner, and bus stops near the hotel. The hotel offered maps outlining the transport options, and we were told that the Hotel's Gift Shop also sold "Muni" Transport Passports which, at $23 for 3-days unlimited travel, are a bargain. It was just a pity that when we called, there were none left at the shop!

On first accessing the room we noticed a wet patch on the carpet near the wall where the air-con was mounted. We contacted reception but as the hotel was full, we weren't offered another room. However, a technician was rapidly dispatched to our room with a drier/blower and the carpet was quickly dried, so full marks for prompt service. The problem did not recur during our stay so hopefully it wasn't the air conditioner leaking.

The room was clean and compact (which is retiree's code for saying it was a little small) with a view over the streets of the City. Most "normal" amenities were provided, e.g. small coffee machine, security safe, a small fridge, ironing board and iron, and a tiny circular table. The desk in front of the window supported the LCD TV and there was sufficient space to set up your computer. Wi-Fi speeds were surprisingly good and we were able to Skype our grand-kids with only the occasional fuzziness/picture breakup.

As others have noted, there are plenty of restaurants nearby, and the Whole Foods store was an unexpected bonus. About the only point of (admittedly minor) criticism of the room was that in the mornings, the weather was such that the windows were covered in condensation, and the desk prevented easy access to clean them. Other than that, the beds were comfy, the bedside radio received PBS, and overall we enjoyed our stay so much we elected to stay another night. Alas, we couldn't, as the Hotel was still full. Now that says something, doesn't it.

OK, Bottom Line: Would we stay here again? Yes!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnceBittenMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
We try hard to make the product and service a value to our customers. Thank you for your business and patience. You clearly understand that not all problems can be foreseen, but that a prompt and courteous response is important. You’re welcome back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    830
    420
    105
    63
See reviews for
440
605
124
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel! We were completely satisfied!! Great location to cable cars!! Only steps from the front door to the Holiday Inn! We highly recommend purchasing a Muni pass at the gift shop! We caught the 47 straight to ATT Park! (Included in the muni pass were the trolley cars, buses and cable cars!!!) Awesome time! Only regrets was that the remodeling of the lounge area was not complete! But hey no big deal there are plenty of bars and restaurants in the area!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBuddies24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Now that’s a review title worth sharing! I am so happy that everything worked out so well for you. Please come back and see us. The bus is by far the best way to go. Traffic near the stadium is crazy. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Our room was spacious enough, clean, well maintained and wifi is for free. There is a Whole Foods very close by as well as quite a few restaurants, also next to a cable car station. Very quiet. I personally will book a hotel closer to the city center next time, but that is just my personal taste. Definitely a hotel to recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyonDoml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for considerate review. You recognized that although the location wasn’t perfect for you, we still have much to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Pleasant surprise on the location and upgrades of this hotel. Rooms are all modern, clean, had an excellent view from the 20th floor. No Noise. We were very happy to have the California street cable car next to the hotel as well as bus service right out front. Would definitely stay here again, Poke street is one block for bars and restaurants. Hotel provided maps, info and staff were very nice, far different from other hotels I've stayed at in SF.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellyLvBulTer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
I agree that it’s the friendly staff that can set a hotel apart from the others. Thank you for pointing out so many great benefits for staying here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The location for this hotel was perfect. There is easy access to public transportation, and the store in the hotel can provide you with all the tickets necessary. The hotel has a nice feel, plenty of "definitely not free" parking, good restaurants, and helpful staff. The internet speed was about average, but varies depending on your room's location. I didn't use the workout facilities, so I can't speak to those.

My biggest complaint was how cramped the rooms felt. It may have just been my experience because I had a room right behind the elevator, which probably results in an abnormal layout. So take that for what it's worth.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us. Our rooms do vary in size according to how many beds are inside. Two bedded rooms are larger than king bedded rooms. Next time you visit, be sure to use the new workout room as it’s as good as any gym.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway on Van Ness and California recently. We were very surprised and impressed. The rate for the hotel was about $120 per night, which was the cheapest by far among the Holiday Inns in the city. The reason is that it is not in the middle of downtown, Fisherman's Wharf, etc. But the terminus of the California Street Cable car line is at the corner and from there you can transfer to the Bay Street or Hyde St. lines going to Fisherman's wharf or Ghiarardelli Square. It also drops you on Grant which is the main street in Chinatown From there you have an easy walk downhill to Union Square. The reason it is such a pleasant bargain is that you can take a cable car ride or a taxi to the places you want to go. Or you can pay another $80-$100 to stay at another Holiday Inn!
We stayed at midweek and the desk clerk was very kind to give us newly-refurbished room on a high floor overlooking downtown. The views in the morning and in late afternoon and evening were just splendid. The room was very comfortable, clean, and with great amenities. There was a wonderful breakfast buffet I would recommend. The hotel is one block from Polk Street and in the same block as the hotel, one street away was a nice range of ethnic restaurants (Thai, Indian, Greek, etc.) My wife thought the Greek Restaurant was one of the best in which she had ever eaten. In short, the price of the hotel, the quality of the rooms, the proximity to nice affordable restaurants, and underground parking at the hotel made the Holiday Inn Golden Gate a real winner for us. We look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: If you join Holiday Inn's frequent stayer plan in advance for free, then ask for a room on a hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrJimJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
A winning combination! Thanks for the thorough review of the surrounding restaurants, transportation, and kind staff. You’re welcome here any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We just had a fantastic stay at this hotel, staff were lovely and helpful and the location was great with ease of walking everywhere or if you dont like hills, bus and cable car very closely located nearby :-) the best surprise was the gym which is brand new and really good for a hotel gym, containing dumbells up to 50lb and a duel cable pulley machine, a few benches along with plenty of cardio equipment. The wholefoods across the road was very convenient as well having spent a few weeks on the road its good to have these options! Would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksmrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
I love to hear comments about the helpful staff. With almost 500 rooms, it takes the entire team to provide quality service to everyone. Thank you for also noting our new fitness room. It’s a fantastic space overlooking the pool. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#90 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#20 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vertigo
#75 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#119 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Property: Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Address: 1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-4606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour.The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is located in the center of San Francisco, just steps away from the historic California Cable Car turnaround. Located in lower Nob Hill, the Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is near all major attractions: Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Wharf , a few blocks from Union Square and Chinatown, and the hotel is less than 10 minutes from Moscone Convention Center and a couple blocks north of City Hall/Civic Center. The 26-story, 499 room Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway offers fantastic city and bay views. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms begin on the 6th floor of the hotel and all offer flat panel TVs and free wireless Internet access. Cafe' Marlette offers a daily buffet breakfast for quick and easy service, as well as a delicious a la carte menu. Interlude Bar & Grill is a casual bistro and sports bar, with pool tables, and large screen TVs. The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is the perfect location for business or pleasure in thecity by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing