We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room not what the pictures advertise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Ranked #74 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here 4th of July weekend, 25th floor grand view suite - with a fabulous view. Room furniture was VERY outdated something from the 60's "modern" look. Not warm and cozy chairs or couch like advertised. Old dingy carpet, felt like people walked barefoot with wet feet and it was only vacuumed and not cleaned. Very comfortable pillows, linens were clean but not new and crispy feeling. Bathroom was OK. Toilet was outdated, seemed like a child's toilet in grade school real little, and low to the ground, a senior would have a hard time getting off and on. The parking just about killed me. I thought we got a good deal on the room but they get you on the parking! OMGosh $40 a day?? Wow, not valet, not in a luxury hotel on the wharf.... left me speechless. But - your there, you gonna argue or just pay? Check in was friendly and fast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

To be honest, I’m confused about the title of the review and your comments regarding your fabulous view. In any case, all 500 rooms will not have the same view and the marketing team always uses the ones from the best suites, don’t they? Thank you for giving us a chance. I hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

695 - 701 of 1,909 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed 5 nights.

POS:
Centrally located (bus stop and cable car stop very close), clean room, good service.
We got a 21th floor room facing Van Ness, although you can hear the street noise, the view is spectacular
6 quick elevators make your stay nicer, we never waited for it.
Front desk is very friendly and helpful
Nice breakfast buffet.
Complimentary WIFI

CON:
Housekeepers try to enter your room early in the morning (they start knocking even before 7.00) and keep knocking regularly, this is pretty annoying.
Expensive Parking ($ 40 plus tax)... but that's the city!

Overall very nice experience. Holiday Inn made our stay in San Francisco more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Fabi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for listing both pros and cons for our hotel. It provides us a good balance of knowing what is going well and what needs improvement. I’m thrilled that we helped make your stay more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Clean and centrally located Hotel in San Francisco. Helpful guest advisor who managed to fix tickets to Alcatraz with few Days notice (package with round trip bus. Good breakfast and nice view from room (we stayed at 18th floor).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

We sure appreciate your visit. The Concierge (Guest Advisor) will be thrilled to hear that everything worked out well for you. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights as part of a tour. The location is good very easy to get on tram system to get around the city. The rooms are large and very clean. Wifi in all rooms but it could cut out at times. Large flat screen TV's in the room, hair dryer and very comfortable beds and pillows. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Pat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for your recommendation. Guest referrals are important to us. Hopefully your tour group will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I have stayed a few times the first time they send me to my room while it was being cleaned. I went back to the front desk and told the person that gave me my key it was not ready but I don't mind waiting. I waited and got my room later. A few hours later I was woken up by house keeping who opens my door and walked in. I called downstairs and complained about it. Later the house keeper was outside the sam De floor and saw me walking out of my room and apologized. Two weeks later I checked in and a couple of hours later same thing happened. House keeper opened my door and entered my room. This time I called to speak to the manager the operator keep transferring me to a non working number. After several try I gave up and hang up. A few minutes later someone called me and ask what happened. I told him instead of apologizing he keeps giving me excuse after excuse why she opened my door and entered in to my room. Which don't make any sense to me. I told him they should have the room numbers that needs to be cleaned instead of opening and checking everyone's room. I work day or night when I get in to my room I need to rest. This incident have disrupted my rest time finally I almost missed my ride because they don't forgot to call me to wake me up when I really needed to be woken up as I requested it. They have the worst customer service and they pretend to be a manager and talk to you as if they are one when they are not. It is terrible
...

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flight-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

This is unpleasant news. It sounds like every attempt failed. Not much more can be said about your experience, other than we clearly have much to improve on. Thank you for taking some extra time to share this with me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here two days and we had a good night sleep, maybe the noise of the street can be a minus....but that the only thing.
Good breakdfast and nice and helpfull staff, the hotel is located well and busstop and cablecar nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

I look forward to sharing your comments with our kitchen staff. They have worked hard to improve the selection and quality. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here for a week on business. The location was convenient and the accommodations were decent. Like most of the larger San Francisco hotels, it was more than a bit expensive for my taste. That's just the cost of doing business in the City. I was most impressed by the attentive and friendly staffing at all levels -- from maintenance and housekeeping all the way to the front desk. You just don't find that many pleasant people by chance -- this reflects a good management philosophy and effective personnel training.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cletus-Atwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Your review is music to our ears. The staff here are truly fantastic and care a great deal about their hotel and guests. Training is ongoing, but you can’t create friendly personnel through training. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#107 of 230 in San Francisco
1,044 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
4,039 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#50 of 230 in San Francisco
2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Address: 1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-4606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £83 - £466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour.The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is located in the center of San Francisco, just steps away from the historic California Cable Car turnaround. Located in lower Nob Hill, the Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is near all major attractions: Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Wharf , a few blocks from Union Square and Chinatown, and the hotel is less than 10 minutes from Moscone Convention Center and a couple blocks north of City Hall/Civic Center. The 26-story, 499 room Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway offers fantastic city and bay views. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms begin on the 6th floor of the hotel and all offer flat panel TVs and free wireless Internet access. Cafe' Marlette offers a daily buffet breakfast for quick and easy service, as well as a delicious a la carte menu. Interlude Bar & Grill is a casual bistro and sports bar, with pool tables, and large screen TVs. The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is the perfect location for business or pleasure in thecity by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing