We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Ranked #75 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 9 August 2014

For a family wedding, several of us booked rooms here as convenient to nuptials site: 6 separate sets of rooms, booked individually. The rooms are very roomy [for San Francisco], clean, very good beds, and the views from the upper rooms are terrific, especially at night. But location is the "selling point", as main public transit is almost at its front door, other stops just up or down the block, and so convenient to many very good eateries within walking distance [see hotel's informal map] as well as Whole Foods and CVS. With refrig in room, extra drinks & snacks were easy to have in room, and avoided rather high priced bar [also very noisy with lobby traffic]. Prices of room & parking were high but for this time of year and location is tolerable [I myself get to SF 3-4x year].

Room Tip: Was told after my stay, that upper rooms ending in 00 had the corner/best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MaryeeMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

We enjoyed seeing your wedding party coming and going to the various festivities. It looked like a fun group. Thank you for mentioning so many of the great features of this location. See you for the anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,910)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

683 - 689 of 1,910 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed for 6 nights in this hotel. Good location. Bus stop in front of the house and Cable Car Station just around the corner. We had a stunning view from the 22nd floor.
Staff was very friendly. Room clean and in good shape.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stefan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

A 6-night stay is long enough to test our hotel in every aspect. I couldn’t be more pleased that we came out shining. Thank you for choosing us and I hope that we are your summering hotel of choice in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Staff very friendly. We stayed in corner room #1900 on 19th floor. City view was amazing. Room very nice and light. In house food a bit pricey though. Best to eat local. Try the Grubstake round the corner!
Nob Hill area Ok but do not stray down into Tender loin. Handy for the Tram service.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Ah the Grubstake, late-night dining at its finest. We benefit from having so many great restaurants nearby. Please come back and let our friendly staff serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stay at this hotel regularly for work. The hotel just went through lobby renovation so it look great, the location is convenient, many restaurants and supermarket in the area. However, the a/c heater unit is old and noisy. But overall is good and I especially love the refrigerator in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for being a regular guest with us. Your opinion on our new lobby is important to us. The hotel is already well into our project of replacing the A/C units. I expect you will again be please on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here with my family for 3 days. We liked the room because it's sufficiently large with with four occupants and it has all the conveniences usually found in better hotels. We particularly liked also the concierge desk and the staff there as they were both very helpful and knowledgeable. Breakfast was not included, but the buffet in the restaurant was fair priced and contained all that we needed.
Location is good just next to the end stop of one of the cable cars.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PeterAxelNielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

It’s reassuring to be compared to better hotels. By that I mean we want to be better than the competition, and outstanding for you. Thank you for mentioning the helpful and knowledgeable staff. Please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in the end of July, i didn't have any reservation, after checking some hotels in the same area, it was the best option, they have big rooms, very clean rooms and facilities, professional and friendly employees.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hisham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

We were lucky to be the best option for you then, and I hope we will be again. The employees are always excited to hear when our guests appreciated their efforts. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Was on a business trip in San Francisco and stayed for two nights in this hotel. It was an average experience being with many families on the premise. I might come back with my family if I look for an inexpensive place in SF but definitely won't come back as a business guest.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmirHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ru P, Manager at Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

We would be excited to host you and your family on a future visit. As this is peak travel season, we certainly have more families visiting now than in fall, winter, or spring. Thank you for considerate remarks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#108 of 230 in San Francisco
1,045 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
4,042 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#49 of 230 in San Francisco
2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway

Address: 1500 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-4606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £75 - £444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour.The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is located in the center of San Francisco, just steps away from the historic California Cable Car turnaround. Located in lower Nob Hill, the Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is near all major attractions: Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Wharf , a few blocks from Union Square and Chinatown, and the hotel is less than 10 minutes from Moscone Convention Center and a couple blocks north of City Hall/Civic Center. The 26-story, 499 room Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway offers fantastic city and bay views. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms begin on the 6th floor of the hotel and all offer flat panel TVs and free wireless Internet access. Cafe' Marlette offers a daily buffet breakfast for quick and easy service, as well as a delicious a la carte menu. Interlude Bar & Grill is a casual bistro and sports bar, with pool tables, and large screen TVs. The Holiday Inn Hotel San Francisco Golden Gateway is the perfect location for business or pleasure in thecity by the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing