We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome view, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Ranked #50 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Just back from an epic motorcycle trip to MotoGP in Monterey, CA. My husband and I stayed at the SF Regency our second night out. We were upgraded to a suite due to being members of their Gold Passport loyalty program. This is my first review and I'm pretty good at being objective so here goes... We rolled in around 8:00 pm.

The first thing I heard as we walked in was a door man (? - top hat and long overcoat) complaining to his coworker that there was a group who was returning to their rooms last night, and when he asked how their evening was they said it was the best night of their lives, and then "Can you even believe it, they didn't give me a quarter or nothing!!" which made me think about my tipping technique. I didn't know you were supposed to tip the door man for addressing you. Really bad form... Complain about the patrons on your break where the rest of the patrons can't hear you.

The front desk wasn't feeling cheery, and they were not welcoming. Then again, we were road weary and probably didn't smile much either.

We were put on the 8th floor, and if you went out on the balcony, you could see the pier and bridge. FANTASTIC view! The room you entered into was very cold both in decor and temperature. It wasn't a neo-modern look either... there was just nothing there. 400 SF with a TV, a chair and a couch. There absolutely nothing decorative, except for a stainless vase it looked like they found in a storage closet and placed in on top of a seriously scratched vanity that held the TV. The carpet had a cool design, but was F I L T H Y: multiple coffee (?) stains and something wet, sticky and smelly by the sliding glass doors. The furniture was old and well-used.The rooms were freezing; the AC had been blasting for quite awhile, and the temp in San Fran was no more that 60 F. We couldn't seem to get the place to warm up. And yes, we tried to rally the heater.

Just a heads up for those on a pleasure trip thinking about staying at this Hyatt... It's in the Financial District, and because it's a business oriented area, nothing nearby is really open past 8pm. Fisherman's Wharf or Union area would have been better choices.

Where I'm sure it's probably rare, on another note if anyone else finds themselves riding their motorcycle to this location, there was nowhere on site for us to park our bikes. We were directed to the Embarcadero Parking where we paid a greater price than if we had been able to park at the Hotel (they wouldn't let us park in the same space, therefore we had to pay double). As you're probably aware, the Regency is a steep $57/night to park.

We'll find elsewhere to stay next time we're in San Francisco.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear Jen A,

Thank you for your feedback which helps us get better. It is disappointed to hear the unpleasant experience you had with us. All of our staff go through a thorough guest service training but clearly we fell short this time. Please accept our sincere apology. We take your comment very seriously and will certainly share it with my General Manager and management team. Your business is much appreciated. Should you choose to stay with us again in the future, please contact us directly so that we can make your stay an enjoyable one and gain your confidence back.

Best regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,564 - 3,570 of 4,750 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

This was our first time staying at a Hyatt, the location is great the hotel lobby is attractive but the rooms are dated and "very" dirty. Hard to see the pretty veiws with the nasty dirty windows. The bathroom was horrible. I called the front desk and they send someone to rinse out the bathtab but nothing else was done. There was something wrong with our door sensor and we had to constanly bring our keys to the front desk. We moved to the Serrano Kimpton Hotel after the secont night. I highly recommend the Serrano Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are "very" dirty. Stay away from floor 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear L L,

Thank you for your feedback which helps us get better. It is disappointed to hear you had an unpleasant experience at our hotel. Our staff tries very hard to maintain the quality of our guestroom. But clearly we fell short this time and for that, we are truly sorry. We take your comment very seriously and it will be shared with my management team.

Thank you again for your review.
Truly yours,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed for a long weekend and really enjoyed the comfort and location of this property. Also, we were conveniently able to rent a car from a desk inside the hotel and picked up in the front driveway when we took a drive out to Sonoma. The atrium was very impressive as well.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABethC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear ABethC,

Thank you so much for the 5-star review! We are thrilled you had such a great experience with us! Please come back and see us again soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Just stayed here for a couple nights on the Embarcadero section of San Francisco. The location of the hotel is very convenient to catch the trolleys, subway, or whatever transportation is desired as they are right outside the door. The hotel lobby is impressive and very attractive. Everyone was pleasant at the hotel and very accomodating. The rooms was relatively spacious, however, I would have liked something other than double beds (I'm used a a full bed size minimum in a hotel if not queen or king). We had a bay view room which afforded us a view of the Embarcadero and bay so we could see the ships entering the bay which was cool - as well as look at the fog over in Sausolito. Other than the beds being small, the hotel is very nice with no negatives. Be prepared for parking costs as it is around $50 a night. I'd probably recommend not getting a rental car in San Francisco as you'll pay through the nose for parking and the public transportation was really good.

Not a 5*, but I wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend.

Room Tip: We had a bay view room. IF you don't choose this, you will probably be staring at a building or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAJAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed our convenient location and the lovely bay view from your room. I must agree with you pubic transportation in San Francisco is the way to go but if our guests need to rent a car for a day, there's a Budget desk on the ground floor. All of our guestroom equip with either King size or double size bed and we apologize for the discomfort you experienced. Please do come back and see us again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here for one night on Memorial Day weekend and absolutely adored the hotel. The front desk staff was more than accommodating when we requested to be switched to a 1 King bedroom instead of the 2 double beds he was originally going to assign us. The view of the Bay Bridge from our room on the 9th floor was amazing! The room was clean and spacious, the bed comfortable and there was plenty of counter space in the bathroom. The best part was that the hotel was close to everything so all we had to do was cross the street to catch the F trolley to go to Fisherman's Wharf.

We had dinner at the hotel restaurant, Eclipse and was quite impressed with our meal. I had the bass and my BF had the steak and we both pretty much cleaned our plates and still managed to order dessert!

Overall, I will definitely stay at this hotel again the next time I'm in SF. My only gripe is that valet parking was quite pricey ($50) but I think that's the standard in the city. BTW, make sure to call the valet people 30 minutes before you want your car since they take awhile.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oopzydaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay with us over Memorial Day weekend! Sounds like you took advantage of our convenient location and had a great time exploring San Francisco! Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Easy trip from SFO. If we hadn't needed a rental car for our drive down the coast and to Napa, we would have relied solely on the easily accessible public transportation. Parking costs are steep, but they are everywhere in the city. Room was nice and clean, lots of space for some girlfriends who overpacked for a 5 day trip. Location is excellent - easy walk to the Ferry Building for breakfast. Easy access to cable car up California or street car to Pier 39. Concierge was helpful. Valet attendant gave fantastic directions. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Bay view rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SC8117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review! Sounds like you took advantage of our convenient location to explore San Francisco! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Please come back and see us again soon!

Best regards,
Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I recommend this place. The room was very large, especially for a big-city hotel, and the housekeeping was excellent. The location is terrific--a block or so from the spectacular Ferry Building. The atrium is quite dramatic. My only criticism is the really odd entrance--you walk in through a respectable entry, only to run smack into a cramped area with an escalator as the focal point.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Jackcatscal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 231 in San Francisco
5,035 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#22 of 231 in San Francisco
6,229 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 231 in San Francisco
3,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 231 in San Francisco
5,579 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#3 of 231 in San Francisco
565 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#31 of 231 in San Francisco
3,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111-4800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £160 - £491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 804
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 804-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing