We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Ranked #57 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
jmw61
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Spent two nights in this Hyatt for my father's 80th birthday. We reserved three rooms and were given rooms close to each other on the same floor. Unfortunately they could not give us adjoining rooms. The rooms were roomy and recently remodeled. There was a large sliding glass door which you could open to the outside (no deck just a large slider with a railing on the outside) which was nice to be able to get some fresh air. Only complaint with the room was that there wasn't any towel racks, only a hook and a small rack for a face towel by the sink. I usually like to use the towels more than once but it was hard to do this with only a hook.

Location is excellent, right across from the Ferry Building on the Embarcadero and close to the MUNI underground, BART and the F Street car line which takes you to Fisherman's wharf. There was construction going on on the street in front of the hotel and some remodeling of rooms in the hotel but this is no fault of the hotels. I would recommend this hotel for it's convenience and comfort.

The one disappointing realization was that the roof top restaurant is closed to the public and only Hyatt Club members have access to this area now. I used to routinely take out of town guests here for one of the better views of the bay. The restaurant was one of those circular restaurants that slowly spun 360 degrees around. A shame that this is only available to club members.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmw61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,635
    1,496
    691
    259
    121
See reviews for
807
1,114
186
1,596
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (858)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

If you go to this hotel get a room with a balcony. Great view of the harbor. Easy walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, AT&T stadium, ferry transport, shopping, etc. BART and cable car access right outside the hotel. Budget rental cars available at the hotel was handy if you need to venture further outside the city. One negative is that the bed was not comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Very mixed feeling about this hotel. For people visiting San Francisco, it's very well located near the Embarcadero, public transportation is easily accessible in order to reach departure points for sightseeing tours/spots in Pier 39/Fisherman Wharf. The hotel lobby is quite beautiful, but this is where the good things stop.

The rooms however are quite sub-par, especially considering the premium price paid, we expected a lot more. The bathroom is tiny and doesn't even have a counter top/sink inside of it as those are located outside the bathroom/inside the room which doesn't make sense considering there's carpet everywhere. The beds were very average in terms of comfort. However, my biggest complaint about this room is the sound proofing which is not existent. It was so loud outside during the night that I had to check to see if someone had left the patio door open as you could hear any car/trucks/cable car coming and going, which made for quite lackluster sleeping. Room cleanliness was average, nothing spectacular, "clean" towels have a very weird smell. The staff inside the hotel was rather nice and polite, however the staff outside was hit and miss, trying to persuade us to take one of they're prearranged shuttles to the airport instead of a taxi cab.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iceman213619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the discomfort caused by the street noise in the city. Our guestrooms had recently been refreshed including new Grand bed and it is disappointed to hear it did not meet your expectations. Your detailed review is much appreciated and it has been shared with the hotel management team. Should your travel brings you to our hotel in the future, please contact us directly so that we can personally arrange your stay. Hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely yours,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
222 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Checked in and given keys to room - SOMEONE ELSES ROOM, that is. The man walked up as I was sitting outside on the floor w my luggage. The front desk clerk wrote the wrong room number on the key folder. Had to call house keeping to get the sheets changed (we were staying their 1 week). They delivered the wrong package (name hand written on someone else's package).
VERY disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stefhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry for the poor experience you had recently at the hotel. A private message has been sent to you hoping to receive more information. Your satisfaction is our priority and we certainly want to regain your confidence back. Look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely yours,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahoe
Level Contributor
94 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I've stayed here many times over the past few years as a Hyatt Diamond member who appreciates the great location and fine views from the rooms I've been assigned. The quality here seem to be slipping lately, though, on several fronts. Housekeeping quality has slipped, leading to cigarette butts on balconies, dirty windows, and stains on fabrics. The quality of the Regency Club offerings has deteriorated, e.g. no more lox at breakfast. The front desk staff has been slow to handle requests and has had difficulty with award bookings. Room service has been slow and confused. As others have noted, the rooms are long overdue for refurbishment. I sincerely hope these problems are rectified, as I'm quite fond of this place. Hint to management: travel to the Hyatt Hong Kong properties, see how things are done, replicate in San Francisco.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank MovnOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho, USA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had a “bay view balcony king room” for our 2 night stay. For us, the view was worth the 20% price premium. The room was in good condition, clean and quiet. The employees were all very friendly and helpful. When we asked the person at the bell desk about the status of the restaurant at the top of the hotel, he told us about the conversion to the Regency Club® room, and gave us information on amenities and pricing. The concierge did a great job, and the check in person was very nice (even if she hadn’t heard of David Crosby). We continue to use this hotel because of the ideal (for us) location, the nice rooms, the option of getting a bay view, and the friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golf_Scuba_Eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It is always great to hear our staffs were able to assist you with your needs. All of our guestrooms have recently been refreshed and we are glad you enjoyed it. Your compliment is much appreciated, I'll be sure to share it with the team! Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
206 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here for one night while between houses, on moving day. The traffic in this part of the city is usually congested, and construction in front of the hotel made it worse. I elected to pay $64 per night to valet park rather than venture back into the construction to find the parking entrance and self-park for $32. The fee for our dog was more than the fee for the car. I broke one of my hotel rules and let the bellboy take our luggage. We waited 15 mins in our room, and when it had not arrived, escaped to the Regency Club for a glass of wine, the spectacular view, and peace. Two hours later the luggage still hadn't arrived. The "It will be there in 5 mins" turned out to be 15 mins more.

Our room on the seventeenth floor was angular and not particularly spacious. The bathroom was cramped with the toilet and shower divided off from the sink. The shower head would not point any direction except straight down. The desk was small and there was a charge for wifi.

The lobby is grand and architecturally stunning. The hotel is situated across from the Ferry Building and the Embarcadero, with many interesting restaurant choices nearby. Breakfast in the Regency Club was fine. The valet said that our car would be up in 5 mins, and that also stretched to 15.

In summary, go for the location and the view from the Regency Club, not for the service or the add-on charges.

Room Tip: High up for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,493 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Financial District
Le Meridien San Francisco
Le Meridien San Francisco
#49 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,022 reviews
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#50 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Financial District
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Property: Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111-4800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 804
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 804-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing