We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week at the Embarcadero Regency”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Ranked #52 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A week at the Embarcadero Regency”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful, inside and out. The ferry building is across the street and many sites are close by. Instead of paying the $64 a day parking, I suggest parking at Embarcadero 3 for $33 a day. It is across the street. Wifi is $10 a day. (Since I was there for a conference, they waived the fee.) The room was typical size, not small, not huge. Beds were clean and comfortable. The bathroom is pretty small, with a black floor, suppose that's why housekeeping didn't see the yuck that was left from a former occupant. The room had a frig., coffee maker with Starbucks coffee, large flat screen, no blow dryer, (they do have a list of available items you may request if needed). Definitely can hear ALL of the city sounds from the 11th floor. They did host our conference very well! Conference rooms were comfortable, restrooms were clean, food was good, and servers were very nice!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GmaDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,738
    1,559
    712
    269
    123
See reviews for
863
1,174
201
1,642
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (884)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I got lost in San Francisco and god bless this staff! i cant remember the name of the staff that helped me to call my family to a celphone, but i think he was from concierge, he was latin and spanish spoken!

The lobby of this hotel is AWESOME!! The had a replica of the alcatraz cell and the roof of the looby its the rooms hallway in a form of a pyramid! i was very amazed of the way you see the lobby roof!

i did not get to see the rooms but it think having this kind of staffs this hotel one of its kind!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review! Great to hear our Concierge staff was able to assist you and reunited with your family. Hope you will be able to stay with us next time when you visit San Francisco again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Can't beat the location of the San Francisco Hyatt, just opposite the San Francisco Ferry Building on the Embarcadero. Was fortunate to be here on a weekend and walked out to see street vendors plying their trade as they do during the summer months. Room was comfortable, updated and clean. Have come to expect little else from Hyatt. Keep in mind that parking is in the adjacent 2 Embarcadero garage and will run you $64/day. A very short walk through a promenade to the adjoining Hyatt hotel. Dissappointed that Internet access is charged on a daily basis. Have stayed in a number of Hyatt's and found this to be the first that charges - or at least charges and does not refund Gold Passport members. Only complaint though. Was a short overnight stay so didn't try restaurants or other hotel amenities. Staff generally very friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view room, other rooms don't offer much to look at. However it is a bit of a walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecbatana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A friend and I stayed here on business for a conference. We found the amenities to be very comfortable and satisfying. There is wifi offered in the hotel; however, it costs $10 per night.
As far as location goes - it is directly adjacent to the ferry building which is AWESOME. Foodie mecca offering anything and everything. Also right across the street from a walgreens which was convenient. If you're looking to be close to the pier/touristy stuff I would recommend the Hyatt at Fisherman's wharf as the Regency is a bit of a walk from the active piers.
This hotel was right near many muni options (public transportation) and we chose to walk to union square for nightlife and shopping. (approx half an hour)
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be near the muni - you can basically get anywhere good in SF from this hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed on the fourth floor and didn't hear a thing!
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling bins were offered in the hallways, definitely environmentally friendly!
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Pros: Across the street from the Ferry building.

Cons:
1. Front desk service is awful. I prepaid for 2 rooms and one of our assigned rooms ended up being occupied. I politely asked Amy at the front desk what we should do, and she just frowned and said, "That room should be empty." Then she proceeded to stare blankly at me.
Finally, I asked her what we could do about it, and she said, "I'll call you when that room becomes available."
Are you kidding me?! It's 3:30, and check out is at noon, and the people have their clothes and bags strewn about the room, AND they are not even there! I asked Amy what if those people don't leave tonight?"
Amy: "Oh, they'll leave."
Me: "what if they don't leave till 7 or 8?"
Amy scoffing: "Oh, don't worry, they'll definitely be gone by then."

No apologies, and she resisted our request to assign us another room by saying the hotel was booked. Finally, after 4 trips, my family got our second room, which we PREPAID and booked weeks ahead.

2. The rooms are outdated and dirty. See my pics, as they speak for themselves.

3. Probably a 1/3 chance your view will be of a dirty old apartment, psychic, and Taco Bell.

4. Located in the financial district, so on weekdays, it will take you 20 minutes to drive 3 blocks due to congestion.

5. Construction right now, so aside from sirens and homeless people making noise all night, it's loud all day too. We were on the 10th floor and it was very loud.

Will never stay here again. Mostly due to the rude front desk service.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank EdBhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leawood, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I've stayed in this hotel many times over the years for business but most recently with family. This hotel is perfectly located across from the Ferry Terminal, Pier 1 and the Embarcadero Center. It is within a brisk walk of Fisherman's Wharf, at the base of Market and California Streets where you can catch a cable car to China Town and within a brisk walk of Union Square.

We checked in on a Thursday evening and were upgraded to a Bay view room with a small patio. It was fantastic. The room was clean and well furnished with plenty of outlets to charge our boatload of electronics. The highlight of the hotel is the Atrium where you can sit for a drink and admire the 14 floor vaulted ceiling and curtains of lights. Great people watching. The staff are very accommodating and friendly. Notwithstanding the issues below, I would count this hotel among my favorite in the City by the Bay.

The downsides are there though:

1) It's very expensive. We found a rate of $287/night and with tax it was well over $300. Sure, San Francisco is an expensive town but I feel that the hotels have gone overboard.

2) Parking is ridiculously expensive. They wanted $64/night for valet parking or as I did, opted in for parking across the street in Embarcadero 3 for $33/night. Suggest you leave the car behind and use public transit.

3) Breakfast in the Atrium is expensive and mediocre. We had stayed at a Hilton property in Sonoma for 1/3 the price and it included breakfast which was fantastic. The Hyatt Regency breakfast buffet is not worth the money. They don't even do omelettes or custom eggs as part of the $23.95 price. The waffles were brittle, the eggs dry and the choices uninspiring.

The Internet was not included in the room. C'mon folks. It's 2014. Most hotels provide free Internet in the US. For $287/night, you should too. What's next, you going to charge me for towels?

5) There are lots of street people nearby so shopping at the adjacent shops is always accompanied by hassles from pan handlers, mentally disturbed street people and bums. We actually witnessed a mugging during our stay!

In summary, if you can afford it, this is a great hotel in which to camp when you visit San Francisco. But book early, because their 802 rooms frequently fill up with conventioneers.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a Bay View Patio, you will have a nice place to have coffee in the mornin...
See more room tips
Green Features: I don't subscribe to "environmentally friendly" hotel policies. I pay for clean towels and it worries me that somebody's dirty towel might somehow find it's way back on the rack.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMFLYBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are delighted you find our waterfront location ideal for sightseeing and close to many San Francisco attractions. Great to hear you enjoyed the bay view from your room and the additional electrical outlets are sufficient for your electronics devices.

Our pricing is comparable to other four-diamond hotels in the area, and we feel we provide good value but clearly this was not your experience and for that I am very sorry. I have shared your comments with my management team for review.

Your business is truly appreciated and we hope you will come back and visit us in the future.
Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Pierce, FL
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Before embarking on a bus tour, my husband & I stayed here for 3 days. Upon check-in, we were offered an upgrade for $40. extra and we accepted. We had a lovely balcony with chairs and table partially overlooking the water on the 26th floor. The bed was super comfy with great pillows. They offered an amenity card for a great deal of products you might need including slippers. You could also borrow a great, soft robe (not the heavy terry cloth). You just had to call and what ever you needed was delivered quickly to your door. all the staff was very helpful and friendly. The bathroom was roomy and had a makeup mirror for us ladies. Although the breakfast buffet was pricey, it offered plenty of options. They even had gluten-free scones. What a treat. Upon attending the welcome dinner for our trip, the only meal options were pasta and pizza. My husband asked the manager if they had any fruit, but he replied no--only in the dining room. Not too long afterward, the same manager arrived at our table with a lovely large assortment of fruit for me. So thoughtful and I didn't have to go hungry and could join the others in having dinner. The location is super. Right across the street from the Ferry Bldg. with a trolley stop and next door to a cable car terminus. The Embarcadero Mall is on the other side where you can find shopping and eateries. I would definitely recommend staying here and would do so again when in SF.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, ask for an upgrade especially on an upper floor to avoid street noise and have...
See more room tips
Green Features: They have separate recycling bins for waste and ask that you use towels more than once.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floridasusan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,668 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,232 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
468 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
2,929 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#27 of 229 in San Francisco
5,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Property: Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111-4800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 804
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 804-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing