We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would be nice if less noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Ranked #57 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
YYC
Level Contributor
288 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Would be nice if less noisy”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Superb location. However the single pane windows are very good at letting street noise into your room. Room doors actually do a much better job at filtering noise from the atrium.

Breakfast buffet is not worth it. Especially in view of what is around.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bauwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,635
    1,496
    690
    259
    121
See reviews for
807
1,113
186
1,596
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (858)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was clean and nice. The rooms were large and the view from the 15th floor was beautiful, if you could see through all the fog. :). You can't do any better on location, it was close to everything. My only complaint is why don't high-end hotels have fabulous beds? I expect more for the price and the bed was average at best.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank r v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

good hotel in a very central location. have been here many times. service is only okay - lot of room for improvement. plenty of parking at embarcardo center. the partial bay view window tends to be in the corner of the room - was disappointed. odd shaped rooms with okay views, unless you pay more to upgrade to a full bay view room.

Room Tip: lots of partial bay view room here, since every room pretty much has a 15% embarcadro facing window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aarthi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here for the SF Marathon weekend. When we checked in, we were asked if we wanted to pay extra for a view of the bridge. I paid thinking it would be well worth it. I didn't realize, however, that paying extra meant also that we would be on the street side of the hotel. We stayed on the 14th floor, and you would think that our room would be high enough to be quiet and relaxing . . . it defintiely wasn't. We had a sound machine in our room, and obviously the hotel had it there for a reason. But even on high volume, sounds of ocean waves or rain could not drown out the traffic noise or the jackhammers from the construction going on. The day before the marathon, my plan was to stay in the room to rest up. Unfortunately, that was the same day hundreds of people showed up for a political protest. When I asked the front desk about the noise, I was told that the glass windows/doors are not sound proof and the noise is a common complaint . . . so my advice, ask for a room that is not next to the street and bring ear plugs (just in case)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long beach,ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We loved the location of this hotel. The cable car, Bart, trolley and buses right outside the front door. A 5 minute walk to the Ferry building. We were a bit disappointed that we didn't have a bay view just the street below and the rooftops. The service was very good, from house keeping, room service to the concierge. The rooms were well taken care of and clean. The Hyatt Grand beds are probably the most comfortable beds ever! It is more of a business Hotel but it accommodated our needs.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view room. If not then up high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macfamily04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, tx
Level Contributor
212 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here on a discounted rate for the SF Marathon. Overall it was a good experience for the most part. We did stay on like the 4th or 5th floor and overlooked a courtyard area where there was a big political rally going on Saturday, so we got to hear megaphone chanting for several hours! Very annoying.

Otherwise check in and check out went smoothly. I asked for a later check out on Sunday past noon and they said they did not allow it, BUT if we stayed over an hour or so they wouldn't "notice".

Overall the quality of the room was very standard for a big city, big hotel chain. The hotel is huge and it seems like a typical convention type place. So there is very little charm to the hotel itself, but the location, as other have stated, cannot be beat. I did laugh as they were putting all these big 42 inch flat screen TV's in the rooms (we already had one) but yet they had no HD channels-that seemed a little dated although we didn't watch much TV.

We didn't eat at the hotel except for breakfast the morning of the race. Since this was the host hotel for the marathon, they did put out a small buffet of snacks for us beginning at 4 am for a small cost. I did think that was very generous of them.

My favorite part of the hotel was the sign in our room that said do not leave the windows open or we may have pigeons coming into the room!

One more piece of advise-Avis has a car rental location at this hotel. The service there was horrendous. They had one person there trying to service way too many people. We stood in line for an hour and then took another 25 minutes to get our car brought around.

Overall I am not sure I would pay the regular weekend price for this hotel mainly because it was very sterile and if you travel a lot like me to business hotels you look for hotels when you go on vacation that have some charm. As I said earlier it worked because of location, discounted price for marathon and the ease to get to the start/finish line of the race.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cseanmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This property is CONVENIENT!!! Love the location since it's easy to get to tourist attractions especially if you have the San Francisco City Pass. Public transportation is right outside the hotel. We had a beautiful view of the San Francisco Bay Bridge which is quite stunning at night. A few steps outside the front door you will find the cable cars, Muni bus and you are easily in walking distance to the Exploratorium, Alcatraz, Chinatown and for those who are in good shape, Fisherman's Wharf. There is a bazaar outside the hotel as well where you can pick up a variety of souvenirs. The only downside is the number of homeless people you will see, who also seem to enjoy the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chasford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,491 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Financial District
Le Meridien San Francisco
Le Meridien San Francisco
#49 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,020 reviews
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#50 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Financial District
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Property: Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111-4800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 804
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 804-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing