We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay for an upgrade - it is worth it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Ranked #49 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Pay for an upgrade - it is worth it!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I have always felt a little mixed about this hotel. I have had some excellent experiences, and some 'not quite on the radar' experiences. For sure, the location is superb, and the lobby is certainly striking. Ultimately I do think the flooring could do with a facelift, but that is personal opinion and a minor consideration when presented with so many things to look at and enjoy (we were a little perplexed by what looks like price labels at the bottom of each of the string of lights - I am sure it is something to do with code). On this occasion however, I had exemplary service, the most wonderful full bay view room, and made use of the club level amenities. The food served was so much better than I was expecting, and the views are spectacular.
Back to my room, or rather my suite! I am now able to confirm that a regular room in this hotel is poles apart from a bay view suite. What a pleasure it was to wake up to the light shining in and the bridge winking hello as the sun hit and reflected upon it. I know there are renovated rooms on the upper level floors that have similar decor and balconies which are also wonderful.
There is parking nearby which is certainly cheaper than valet, ($33.00 for the day/night which is almost half the valet price). All in all, I can say for this trip at least, I would most certainly recommend this Hyatt Regency for your stay in San Francisco!

Room Tip: I really would recommend upgrading and asking for a more recently renovated room (new colors have mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abbe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,746
    1,560
    712
    270
    123
See reviews for
866
1,179
202
1,643
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (884)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cupertino, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

As always I book flights and hotel on hipmunk.com due to amazing convenience and time saved (try it!!) however this time it was the hotel of choice of a local conference I attended. At first the room felt spartan, but it grew on my wife and I over 5 days. We had an external balcony and bay view on the 11th floor. The internal atrium design of this place is stunning so I even enjoyed walking from my room to the elevator. Service is friendly and excellent. Everything you need is close by. I always travel with earplugs for night noise from open doors or air conditioning units and this also was the case here. Our Hornblower cruise trip under the GG Bridge is worth it. I cruised the Boston Harbor in June and there is no comparison.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-CA-Engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YYC
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Superb location. However the single pane windows are very good at letting street noise into your room. Room doors actually do a much better job at filtering noise from the atrium.

Breakfast buffet is not worth it. Especially in view of what is around.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bauwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was clean and nice. The rooms were large and the view from the 15th floor was beautiful, if you could see through all the fog. :). You can't do any better on location, it was close to everything. My only complaint is why don't high-end hotels have fabulous beds? I expect more for the price and the bed was average at best.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank r v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

good hotel in a very central location. have been here many times. service is only okay - lot of room for improvement. plenty of parking at embarcardo center. the partial bay view window tends to be in the corner of the room - was disappointed. odd shaped rooms with okay views, unless you pay more to upgrade to a full bay view room.

Room Tip: lots of partial bay view room here, since every room pretty much has a 15% embarcadro facing window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aarthi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here for the SF Marathon weekend. When we checked in, we were asked if we wanted to pay extra for a view of the bridge. I paid thinking it would be well worth it. I didn't realize, however, that paying extra meant also that we would be on the street side of the hotel. We stayed on the 14th floor, and you would think that our room would be high enough to be quiet and relaxing . . . it defintiely wasn't. We had a sound machine in our room, and obviously the hotel had it there for a reason. But even on high volume, sounds of ocean waves or rain could not drown out the traffic noise or the jackhammers from the construction going on. The day before the marathon, my plan was to stay in the room to rest up. Unfortunately, that was the same day hundreds of people showed up for a political protest. When I asked the front desk about the noise, I was told that the glass windows/doors are not sound proof and the noise is a common complaint . . . so my advice, ask for a room that is not next to the street and bring ear plugs (just in case)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long beach,ca
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We loved the location of this hotel. The cable car, Bart, trolley and buses right outside the front door. A 5 minute walk to the Ferry building. We were a bit disappointed that we didn't have a bay view just the street below and the rooftops. The service was very good, from house keeping, room service to the concierge. The rooms were well taken care of and clean. The Hyatt Grand beds are probably the most comfortable beds ever! It is more of a business Hotel but it accommodated our needs.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view room. If not then up high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macfamily04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,681 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,241 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
471 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#34 of 229 in San Francisco
2,936 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#28 of 229 in San Francisco
5,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Property: Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111-4800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 804
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 804-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing