We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Taj Campton Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Taj Campton Place
Ranked #5 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Great service, great location, great room, great restaurant! A special mention to Leigh Ann and Kyle (concierge) who made our stay unforgetable thanks to their fantastic recommendations. The restaurant at Campton Place is fabulous for a perfect dinner. The room was very comfortable and spotless, the service from the entire staff was amazing, they are all here for your satisfaction and they succed very well! The location is perfect on Union Square. Nothing more to say, simply a perfect stay! I recommend to anybody, definitely Leading!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smeagul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyNguyen, Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2011

“Fantastic”

And what a fantastic review! Thank you for your many compliments. It’s a special pleasure for us when we our associates are named for the service they have provided to our guests and we think our concierges are pretty special too. We are also very proud of our restaurant’s Michelin rating and the reason for that rating is evident in the food that comes from our kitchen. We were pleased to learn you thought it note worthy as well. It is comments such as yours that remind us why we are in the business of providing hospitality to others, and again, we thank you for your very kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,229)
There are newer reviews for Taj Campton Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

983 - 989 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2011

Ideally located in San Francisco, this small luxury hotel offers nice accomodation and interesting packages. Rooms can be pricey if you don't book in advance or don't get the best deal, though. We had two successive bookings for two different room types and, as I would have expected, we have been upgraded to be kept in the same room. That in itself justifies the maximum rating given. Service was efficient and friendly throughout, with the right balance of attention and discretion. Nice room layout, fittings still in their prime (or feeling so) and a respectable size bathroom with separate shower and bathtub, and Molton Brown amenities. LAN and wireless, and laptop-zise safe. Room service is efficient and food above average. Excellent breakfast if at a price (but certain packages include discount on breakfast and one free item of dry cleaning). The only hiccup was that one full internet charge is applied per device connecting to the wireless, and these days it is common to have one iPad and one PC. However, at checkout, the front desk staff agreed to waive one of the wireless charges. It would have been harsh indeed not to give the Taj the maximum rating.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2015

Dear MCMember,

Thank you for your excellent review of Taj Campton Place. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to your future stays and appreciate your continued patronage.

Warm regards

Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Taj Campton Place
Tel: 4159555532
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

The location of this hotel is superb!! .. right on the edge of Union Square ...very convienent and lively. I found the staff friendly and helpful, and the room clean and peaceful. I stayed here a week and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel..

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tour77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2015

Dear tour77,

Thank you for your excellent review of Taj Campton Place. We are delightred that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to your future stay with us.

Warm regards

Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Taj Campton Place
Tel: 4159555532
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We chose this hotel for its location and good reviews. But we were very disappointed by the following:
1) The decorations without much taste. It's image is far away from the so called " Best Boutique Hotel in San Francisco";
2) The note about Minibar and free water was confusing - made us think there is nothing free. Only on our last day we found out there is complimentary bottle of water per person per day. We almost thought the teabags and coffee are free, but it's over priced. We have to call to check and the person who anwered the phone couldn't explain clearly - poor English.
3) Only on the last day we found out there is complimentary coffee from 6:00 -8:00 AM. The tea or coffee in the room are nothing free, but over priced.
4) The front desk people didn't explain about the free services such as the free coffee to guests.
5) The room cleaning was very delayed - almost until the evening.
6) There is only duvet and no sheet between the comfortor and the sheet which is very weired. The sheets are not vacuumed- full of lints...
7) The room is really very small for the price of $300.-(weekend rate). Besides there is no parking at all!
8) The manager will not allow a late check out - usually other hotels will give us until 2:00 pm, but she gave us nothing. Not friendly at all!

The only thing we miss are the door men. They are very helpful in giving dinning directions and very nice.

After all, we want to tell you that this is NOT "the Best Boutique Hotel in San Francisco", far away from it! Therefore, please don't fool by the price. It's over priced.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qtty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyNguyen, Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2011

Actually, we don’t rate ourselves—our guests are the ones who rate us, as well as AAA, Leading Hotels of the World, American Express, Conde Nast, Ritchey, Entrée , etc. etc. So, to take your criticisms one at a time:
1. Décor is a matter of individual preference. Perhaps our taste isn’t lacking, only different from yours?
2. Thank you for your suggestions about clarifying the charge for coffee, tea and water. We provide complimentary water for each person at turndown. The charge for coffee and teas is espresso and premium grade teas.
3. I apologize you were not told at check-in about the availability of complimentary coffee in the bar. With so much information to tell the guests when they arrive, occasionally an item is omitted and I am sorry this was so in your case.
4. I regret your room was not cleaned in a more timely manner. When we have a large number of check-ins sometimes those rooms whose guests are staying over will have the cleaning pushed back in order to insure rooms for new guests are ready when they arrive.
5. No, it is not weird to have no top sheet. This is the European method of making a bed. We do, however, provide a traditional bed make up with a top sheet and blanket or duvet for those who prefer it. What is weird is your thinking the sheets should be vacuumed. Who ever heard of vacuuming sheets?
6. We are a boutique hotel and our rooms are more in scale with European boutique hotels with their smaller rooms. We feel the smaller size is more than compensated for by the premium linens and amenities and superior service we offer.
7. When we have a large number of check-ins, it is not possible to extend late check-outs or the new arrivals would have to wait for their rooms beyond the check-in time. Late check-outs would not be fair to the next guests. We do, however, provide secure storage for luggage if it is not convenient to leave the hotel by noon. I apologize we were not able to accede to your request and hope you were not too greatly inconvenienced by it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Just stayed 1 night but I had a top-notch experience. The staff lived up to the Taj reputation. The room was very spacious and very modern and comfortable. And the location is perfect just a block from Union Square.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
Thank OC_Adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2015

Dear OC_Adventurer,

Thank you for your excellent review of Taj Campton Place. We are delightred that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to your future stay with us.

Warm regards

Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Taj Campton Place
Tel: 4159555532
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

This hotel is in a great location, rooms have all the amenities including an in room expresso machine, the staff is so helpful and attentive (at midnight the doorman offered to go find ice cream for me outside the hotel). The only suggestion is it is time for refurbishing..carpets and furniture look like they were installed in the 90s

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank columbuscirclenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyNguyen, Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2011

Thank you for your kind words about your stay with us. Even I didn’t know our doormen went that the length of finding a special ice cream at midnight for a guest! On the other hand, we are known for our friendly attentive service, so it’s not surprising to learn when one of them has really gone the extra mile. We are in the process of refurbishing the hotel, but are doing it room by room instead of closing for a complete redo. I’m sorry you were not given one of the completed rooms. It’s a longer process, but it is being doing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

After reading the reviews on this site about this hotel I wanted to experience it for myself. Let me start with our check-in, which occurred at 9:15 AM and they told us our room was ready…what a surprise my wife and I assumed we’d have to check our luggage. Because of all the touristy-stuff we did on our first day we got back into the hotel late, but to our surprise nice chocolates were waiting for us next to our beds, which were turned-down by the way. We were still hungry so we called the onsite restaurant and wanted to make a reservation for dinner, even though they usually don’t take reservations after 8:30 PM, they accommodated us with an 8:45 PM reservation. Not to give away too much, the food was fantastic! Also you’ve got to try the espresso martini at the bar…wow it was awesome. Our experience at this hotel was fantastic and I highly recommended it to others!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Embargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyNguyen, Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2011

Oh my gosh—your endorsement sounds as if it had been written by our PR Department! Your review was one of the nicest we’ve ever received from the very many good ones we get. I am so pleased we were able to provide the service to elicit such kind words and I loved hearing that you loved the food as well. We think our restaurant is certainly worthy of its Michelin star and you have confirmed it. Thank you, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,306 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#24 of 229 in San Francisco
3,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 229 in San Francisco
1,136 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Campton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Campton Place

Address: 340 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94108-4609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £219 - £624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Campton Place 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Campton Place is the quintessential landmark San Francisco Hotel on Union Square. It’s located just steps away from the City’s best shopping, dining and nightlife. Award-winning Campton Place Restaurant and Bar one of the City’s most revered dining destinations. Executive Chef Srijith’s cuisine with renowned Master Sommelier Richard Dean’s wine cellar combined to create an unparalleled culinary extravaganza. Campton Place’s superb location, elegant guestrooms, extraordinary service, outstanding amenities make it San Francisco’s ideal home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj Campton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Campton Place Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Campton Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing