We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taj Campton Place
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hyatt San Francisco(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
325 Sutter Hotel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel 32One(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Triton(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
SF Plaza Hotel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,301)
Filter reviews
1,301 results
Traveller rating
814
314
96
43
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
814
314
96
43
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion squarecalifornia kingmolton brown toiletriesboutique hotelturn down serviceapple storecomplimentary coffeesmall hotelfront desk staffthe entire staffheart of san franciscofour seasonswonderful hotelthe location is perfectgrand hyattking bedthe financial district
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,047 - 1,052 of 1,301 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2011

One of the BEST hotel experiences we have ever had! We felt like members of the Taj family! Rare to find this level of hospitality and attention to detail. From the superb front desk staff, helpful concierge and friendly doorman to the unbelievable housekeeping staff (so discreet we barely saw them) but whose presence we felt each day when returned to our meticulous rooms -- daily turn down service hands-down best we have ever encountered in any luxury hotel. Each staff member ultra professional and made us feel like VIPs. The restaurant breakfast outstanding (e.g. presentation to choices - something for everyone including international travelers). Service bit slow couple of mornings but friendly staff more than made up for pace. Loved pots of chai (real deal like they make it in India) as alternative to coffee in the morning. Can't say enough about this superb place. The Campton Suite was the perfect configuration for families travelling with older kids (teens in our case) - right amount of promixity and privacy. Free coffee service in am in bar nice plus. Book your stay with confidence. The place is a GEM - superb central location close to everything! Once you step into the lobby, everything else that follows will not disappoint. FIVE STARS!!!! Taj made our trip to a beautiful city a lasting memory....

Room Tip: Campton Suite/Connecting Room great for families
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unwearytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyNguyen, Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

As you may know from reading other Taj Campton Place reviews on TripAdvisor, many of them are very good indeed, but your review has simply blown us away. We do try our very best to ensure each of our guests has a pleasant and comfortable stay--and we would like it to memorable as well--but when we read words such as yours, it reinforces the reason we became members of the hospitality industry. It would be an understatement to say we were pleased we succeeded in making your visit a good one and in all humility, we can only say, “Thank you so very much.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

We stayed here a few nights late March and we couldn't have been more pleased! I'm not crazy about the big "name brand" Hotels and decided to try this cute, Boutique Hotel. The staff was amazing and very friendly (Dan was my favorite). The rooms were cleaned to perfection while we were out and the beds were so comfortable, we slept like babies!
Free internet and printer (small business room) was a plus to print our itineraries the day we checked out.
The my only minor complaint was that some of the channels on our TV did not have volume and since we didnt spend much time in the Hotel we decided not to say anything until our 3rd day there but once we did it was fixed immediately.
We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryjaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyNguyen, Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

Thank you for your wonderful review and especially for mentioning our doorman, Dan, by name. It is always gratifying to our associates when they learn their service has been worthy of note and you may be sure we’ve copied your review to him. Thank you too for mentioning the volume of the TV as it gives us the opportunity to ensure it will be working properly for the next guest—but only if you mention your room number as well! Our guestroom attendants do try to check televisions, A/C, plumbing, etc. when they clean, but occasionally an item will get past them. When you come the next time, tell us about the TV problem when you make your reservation and we will double check your room to ensure everything is in perfect order for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

The Taj Campton Place is a very good hotel in San Francisco's informal center, Union Square. I choose it over other properties for it's location, size, style, price and quality, and can't say I was disappointed. The hotel delivers a pitch perfect performance, in a city where location really matters and luxury generally means victorian. Compared with some other properties I've visited, the hotel is sedately elegant and quiet, although by no means hip. The rooms are on the spartan side of luxury, the bathrooms roomy and nicely laid out but again somewhat lacking in style. The best part of the hotel is the restaurant, where I had three outstanding breakfasts in a cosy and elegant environment, that should really come across in the rest of the property. There's still a short way to go to consider Campton Place a jewel, but given the location, spot on service, overall ambiance and comfort, I would recommend the property.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PortoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyNguyen, Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

Almost damned by the faint praise of “on the edge of excellence”, but your praise was not faint at all! Thank you. We especially thank you for your words about the restaurant and are only sorry you did not also dine there in the evening when you would experienced what fine dining is really all about. We are one of the best in a city of fine restaurants. We hope you will have the opportunity to find out for yourself on your next visit why our restaurant is a Michelin starred establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

5 star all the way. Service personal and friendly, Rooms lovely, location the best. This is my third deluxe stay in San Francisco prefer this location to 5 stars on Nob Hill. Plan to return again and again.
Thank you
Taj Campton Place

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigalruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyNguyen, Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2011

Thank you so much for your excellent comments. We do have the premier location in town--and we think we have the best service as well--but it is especially meaningful for these opinions to be validated by those who have stayed here and experienced it for themselves. Thank you again. We will certainly look forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at the Taj Campton and it was one of the best, if not the best, hotel experiences I have ever had. From the moment we arrived, everything was first class. As said in some of the other reviews, Dan the doorman makes a great first impression for the entire hotel! He is a pro.

When we checked in, I off-handedly mentioned that it was our tenth anniversary. Once we settled in to our room, guest services provided us with a complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries! I was totally floored that hospitality like that still exists in a big city hotel. Everyone from the front desk staff to housekeeping did all the little things right.

Leigh Ann, the conscierge, really went out of her way to make out stay wonderful. She gave great recommendations for dinner and tours, and we truly felt like she really cared that our stay in San Francisco was the best possible.

I highly recommend this hotel! I will stay there every time I visit San Fran.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trip10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyNguyen, Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2011

It is difficult to remain modest about our hotel when we receive accolades such as yours and you name members of our staff who have been especially helpful. We are most proud of the caring hospitality they exhibit day after day and when “everyone…...did all the little things right” we have to think we deserve the compliments! Thank you so much for telling us of your experience and we certainly hope to have you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews