We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like being home....”
Review of Taj Campton Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Campton Place
Ranked #7 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
greenwich, ct
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Like being home....”
Reviewed 21 April 2011

An absolutely lovely hotel with a great staff. Small and intimate with a terrific restaurant (one Michelin star). Couldn't wait to sink into the extremely comfortable bed with top quality bedding.
You can't get a more convenient location - right in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenwich_CtLcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 30 December 2015
Dear Greenwich_CtLcp,

Thank you for your excellent review of Taj Campton Place. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to your future stays and appreciate your continued patronage.

Warm regards

Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Taj Campton Place
Tel: 4159555532
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    298
    89
    38
    34
See reviews for
170
469
75
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Taj Campton Place is a very nice hotel in a fantastic location right on Union Square. The rooms are quite small but well presented, if a little bland! The amenities supplied in the bathroom were of high quality. The room was turned down twice per day and the maids did an absolutely fantastic job. The reception staff greeted us by name every time they saw us and all the staff were a pleasure to meet. It was the friendly and welcoming service that would draw us back to this hotel without a doubt.
Despite being in a busy part of town our sleep was not disturbed by noise at all due to the extremely effective windows! I would highly recommend this hotel. My only complaint would be that wifi really should be free in a hotel of this calibre (we stayed in considerably less expensive hotels where the wifi was complimentary).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munkerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyNguyen, Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Thank you for your very kind words about the service your received and about our friendly associates. We think very highly of them as well and they exhibit a true sense of service and hospitality in the most natural way. I was sorry to read of your displeasure about the charge for WiFi in your guestroom which comes from our carrier; however we do offer complimentary service in our business chamber as well as with several of our packages. Please ask about them the next time you call for reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2011

One of the BEST hotel experiences we have ever had! We felt like members of the Taj family! Rare to find this level of hospitality and attention to detail. From the superb front desk staff, helpful concierge and friendly doorman to the unbelievable housekeeping staff (so discreet we barely saw them) but whose presence we felt each day when returned to our meticulous rooms -- daily turn down service hands-down best we have ever encountered in any luxury hotel. Each staff member ultra professional and made us feel like VIPs. The restaurant breakfast outstanding (e.g. presentation to choices - something for everyone including international travelers). Service bit slow couple of mornings but friendly staff more than made up for pace. Loved pots of chai (real deal like they make it in India) as alternative to coffee in the morning. Can't say enough about this superb place. The Campton Suite was the perfect configuration for families travelling with older kids (teens in our case) - right amount of promixity and privacy. Free coffee service in am in bar nice plus. Book your stay with confidence. The place is a GEM - superb central location close to everything! Once you step into the lobby, everything else that follows will not disappoint. FIVE STARS!!!! Taj made our trip to a beautiful city a lasting memory....

Room Tip: Campton Suite/Connecting Room great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unwearytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyNguyen, Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
As you may know from reading other Taj Campton Place reviews on TripAdvisor, many of them are very good indeed, but your review has simply blown us away. We do try our very best to ensure each of our guests has a pleasant and comfortable stay--and we would like it to memorable as well--but when we read words such as yours, it reinforces the reason we became members of the hospitality industry. It would be an understatement to say we were pleased we succeeded in making your visit a good one and in all humility, we can only say, “Thank you so very much.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2011

We stayed here a few nights late March and we couldn't have been more pleased! I'm not crazy about the big "name brand" Hotels and decided to try this cute, Boutique Hotel. The staff was amazing and very friendly (Dan was my favorite). The rooms were cleaned to perfection while we were out and the beds were so comfortable, we slept like babies!
Free internet and printer (small business room) was a plus to print our itineraries the day we checked out.
The my only minor complaint was that some of the channels on our TV did not have volume and since we didnt spend much time in the Hotel we decided not to say anything until our 3rd day there but once we did it was fixed immediately.
We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryjaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyNguyen, Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review and especially for mentioning our doorman, Dan, by name. It is always gratifying to our associates when they learn their service has been worthy of note and you may be sure we’ve copied your review to him. Thank you too for mentioning the volume of the TV as it gives us the opportunity to ensure it will be working properly for the next guest—but only if you mention your room number as well! Our guestroom attendants do try to check televisions, A/C, plumbing, etc. when they clean, but occasionally an item will get past them. When you come the next time, tell us about the TV problem when you make your reservation and we will double check your room to ensure everything is in perfect order for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

The Taj Campton Place is a very good hotel in San Francisco's informal center, Union Square. I choose it over other properties for it's location, size, style, price and quality, and can't say I was disappointed. The hotel delivers a pitch perfect performance, in a city where location really matters and luxury generally means victorian. Compared with some other properties I've visited, the hotel is sedately elegant and quiet, although by no means hip. The rooms are on the spartan side of luxury, the bathrooms roomy and nicely laid out but again somewhat lacking in style. The best part of the hotel is the restaurant, where I had three outstanding breakfasts in a cosy and elegant environment, that should really come across in the rest of the property. There's still a short way to go to consider Campton Place a jewel, but given the location, spot on service, overall ambiance and comfort, I would recommend the property.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyNguyen, Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Almost damned by the faint praise of “on the edge of excellence”, but your praise was not faint at all! Thank you. We especially thank you for your words about the restaurant and are only sorry you did not also dine there in the evening when you would experienced what fine dining is really all about. We are one of the best in a city of fine restaurants. We hope you will have the opportunity to find out for yourself on your next visit why our restaurant is a Michelin starred establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2011

5 star all the way. Service personal and friendly, Rooms lovely, location the best. This is my third deluxe stay in San Francisco prefer this location to 5 stars on Nob Hill. Plan to return again and again.
Thank you
Taj Campton Place

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigalruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyNguyen, Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 8 April 2011
Thank you so much for your excellent comments. We do have the premier location in town--and we think we have the best service as well--but it is especially meaningful for these opinions to be validated by those who have stayed here and experienced it for themselves. Thank you again. We will certainly look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at the Taj Campton and it was one of the best, if not the best, hotel experiences I have ever had. From the moment we arrived, everything was first class. As said in some of the other reviews, Dan the doorman makes a great first impression for the entire hotel! He is a pro.

When we checked in, I off-handedly mentioned that it was our tenth anniversary. Once we settled in to our room, guest services provided us with a complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries! I was totally floored that hospitality like that still exists in a big city hotel. Everyone from the front desk staff to housekeeping did all the little things right.

Leigh Ann, the conscierge, really went out of her way to make out stay wonderful. She gave great recommendations for dinner and tours, and we truly felt like she really cared that our stay in San Francisco was the best possible.

I highly recommend this hotel! I will stay there every time I visit San Fran.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyNguyen, Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 25 March 2011
It is difficult to remain modest about our hotel when we receive accolades such as yours and you name members of our staff who have been especially helpful. We are most proud of the caring hospitality they exhibit day after day and when “everyone…...did all the little things right” we have to think we deserve the compliments! Thank you so much for telling us of your experience and we certainly hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,241 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
472 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 229 in San Francisco
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
3,213 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#24 of 229 in San Francisco
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Campton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Campton Place

Property: Taj Campton Place
Address: 340 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94108-4609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Campton Place 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Campton Place is the quintessential landmark San Francisco Hotel on Union Square. It’s located just steps away from the City’s best shopping, dining and nightlife. Award-winning Campton Place Restaurant and Bar one of the City’s most revered dining destinations. Executive Chef Srijith’s cuisine with renowned Master Sommelier Richard Dean’s wine cellar combined to create an unparalleled culinary extravaganza. Campton Place’s superb location, elegant guestrooms, extraordinary service, outstanding amenities make it San Francisco’s ideal home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, DerbySoftTaj, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj Campton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Campton Place Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Campton Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing