We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Just a short walk from Union Square” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Campton Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taj Campton Place
Ranked #8 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Skillman, New Jersey
Level Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just a short walk from Union Square”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

This hotel located on Stockton Street is just a short walk to Union Square. The hotel has great rooms, is very quiet and the staff is very friendly. It is close to shipping at Macy's and Saks. And only a few blocks away from Nordstroms on Market Street. The cable car stop at Powell and Market is a very quick walk.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyNguyen, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us! It sounds as though you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our centralized location. It sounds as though you fit in some shopping during your stay – Union Square does have the best stores! We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Campton Place and thank you again for your kind words.

Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    259
    82
    35
    32
See reviews for
144
398
59
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davis California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

As a northern California resident who travels for business and pleasure frequently to San Francisco, this was the first time staying at the Taj Campton place. I was here for business and the room and tax was paid. The reservation was for a deluxe king. I was very disappointed with the hotel. I had heard good things but the room was very small, even for SF standards, no chair other then a cheap desk chair. The bathrooms are large with this room and nice but everything else was rather drab. For what is supposed to be a high end boutique hotel this was not good. When I asked about this specific room when I checked in (after looking at the room) two different front desk clerks just basically shrugged and said this was a deluxe room. There was no offer to change rooms. We will not book rooms here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyNguyen, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear DavCam,
As the general manager of an establishment which prides itself on customer service and the comfort of its rooms, I was distressed to read of your disappointment with our hotel. Because we are an older hotel, our rooms tend to be on the small side, but we feel that what we lack in size is more than compensated for with the quality of our Molten Brown amenities and the comfort of our bed and pillows with the Frette linens and the goose down comforters. I do apologize that you did not receive a more hospitable or sympathetic response when you asked about changing to a larger room, but as I believe the desk clerks told you, being fully booked, we had no other rooms to offer. I hope to have another opportunity to restore your confidence in our hospitality and that we may look forwarded to welcoming you back the next time you plan to stay in San Francisco.

Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worldwide Wanderer
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Nice hotel in a great location. Loved the room's large and well-appointed bathroom. Great respite from the lively and crowded Union Square area. Weak points - the mediocre and over-priced breakfast and staff who appeared to be scripted and lacking in genuine warmth.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andieji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyNguyen, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Andieji,

I always appreciate learning where improvement is required and we thank you for your observations about breakfast servers not appearing to have genuine interactions with guests. You are correct that this is not the attitude we wish to project--and not one we generally hear from our guests. I have forwarded your comments to our Food & Beverage Director to review with his team and appreciate your having brought it to my attention.

Regarding “over-priced breakfast”, we use only the finest, freshest ingredients which are “presented” in a dining room with all the niceties of linen table cloths and napkins, quality silver, and good china. None of this is inexpensive, but is to make a normally so-so meal into a more pleasant experience. We hope our guests take their time to relax and enjoy it.

Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

On our arrival, the concierge & the reception staff were very helpful & friendly. The hotel itself is very clean, mainly marble floored & very well presented. We got room service everyday with a free newspaper & our bathroom was particularly nice & well stocked. The mini bar & coffee/tea facilities were well stocked, but we're all quite pricey so we stayed well away. The view from our room was awful....the side of a building, which we were disappointed with, particularly as we were a honeymoon couple & we were advised that we were likely to be upgraded, but as a city high rise hotel, we didn't think to much of it. There was an in house restaurant, but didn't eat there as it was expensive. It certainly looked very high spec! Hotel is in such a great position, in the centre (pretty much) of Union Square. Room had a working flat screen Modern TV and iPod speaker/alarm clock. We had a bottle of water as complimentary when we arrived. There was a gym, but we didn't see or use it. No swimming pool as far as I was aware!

Room Tip: If you are fussy regarding your view, ensure you try & stay higher as we were on the fifth floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winston10251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 30 December 2015
Dear Winston 10251,

Thank you for your review of Taj Campton Place. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to your future stays and appreciate your continued patronage.

Warm regards

Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Taj Campton Place
Tel: 4159555532
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

I travel a lot to SFO and have stayed at most of the five star hotels. However, my favorite remains Taj Campton Place. It is a small charming hotel, and location is the best in town. Rooms are very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Javitxus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyNguyen, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Javitxus,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so delighted to hear that we are your favorite hotel in San Francisco. We do love our location, directly across from Union Square, and are glad to hear you do as well! We look forward to welcoming you during your next trip to San Francisco!

Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Don't expect too much from the hotel, it's a centrally located small boutique hotel. The staff were very friendly , they offered to change our room cause we were not satisfied with the size of the room we were in. The in room dinning service was great, quick and efficient, the bell desk service was great, I can't say the same about the concierge cause I didn't find him at his desk whenever I had a question but the reception will happily answer your queries and acts like a two in one service. Disappointing part was the Internet charge which didn't seem fair. Pleasant stay overall.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Motorcycleguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyNguyen, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Motorcycleguru,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. I apologize that you were not told we offer complimentary internet in our business center. In addition, our Business Traveler Package also includes complimentary internet along with a number of other valuable amenities as well. Please look into this option before making your next reservation.

Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,689 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#18 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#10 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Campton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Campton Place

Property: Taj Campton Place
Address: 340 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94108-4609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Campton Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Campton Place is the quintessential landmark San Francisco Hotel on Union Square. It’s located just steps away from the City’s best shopping, dining and nightlife. Award-winning Campton Place Restaurant and Bar one of the City’s most revered dining destinations. Executive Chef Srijith’s cuisine with renowned Master Sommelier Richard Dean’s wine cellar combined to create an unparalleled culinary extravaganza. Campton Place’s superb location, elegant guestrooms, extraordinary service, outstanding amenities make it San Francisco’s ideal home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Taj Campton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Campton Place Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Campton Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing