We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but Perfectly Formed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taj Campton Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Campton Place
Ranked #7 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Small but Perfectly Formed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

As a fan of boutique hotels, I have nothing but nice words for this jewel of a hotel. It is great value for money, has really good service and high quality room amenities. Breakfast is wonderful both in terms of the restaurant as well as choice. Location of the hotel is superb including its parking facilities. My husband was staying at the Hilton before I arrived and he says it is no comparison!

I didnt see a pool and there is no spa. Howver the hotel is surrounded by shops, beauty places and great restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 14 December 2015
Dear Mel R,

Thank you for your excellent review. We do appreciate your feedback and look forward to your future stay with us.

Warm regards

Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Taj Campton Place
Tel: 4159555532
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    276
    86
    36
    33
See reviews for
155
428
66
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

One of the best hotels I've stayed at in customer service. From the bellman to the receptionist, the concierge service was unsurpassed, Peri was amazing. I told the receptionist that it was my daughter's treat for her birthday, and we got a lovely cake with happy birthday on it. The rooms are a bit too minimalist, but the cleanliness coves for it. It's proximity to everything is a definite plus. Their restaurant is a don't miss. I will be back .

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KuwaitRanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear KuwaitRanda,

Happy Belated Birthday to your daughter! What a wonderful birthday gift! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind words about our staff, we will be sure to pass along your compliments! Our restuarant received one Michelin Star for the third year in a row, so we are happy you were able to experience some of the delicious dishes Chef Sri prepares! We look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to San Francisco.

Warm Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed two nights for a business trip. This was a last minute booking and we really didn't know what to expect. The lobby is beautiful, we were greeted and checked in very quickly. The room was clean, the bedding very comfortable, high quality sheets and very nice ammenities. Very caring and professional staff right down to the housekeeping. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 14 December 2015
Dear A M,

Thank you for your excellent review. We do appreciate your feedback and look forward to your future stay with us.

Warm regards

Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Taj Campton Place
Tel: 4159555532
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassel, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

We used this hotel for a 3 nights stop in San Francisco during our West Coast trip – we had pre-booked the room through a travel agency in Germany in order to pamper ourselves during our stay in this great city.
Reception and parking procedure was friendly and efficient – only the room which was presented to us made me assume that it was one category lower than the one we had booked as we were missing one special room feature that was advertised in the travel agency’s catalogue. Reception staff was not able to give us another room as the hotel was completely booked out but explained that not all rooms of the category had that special feature (which was not of major importance anyway) – nevertheless, reception apologized with a little gesture that softened our disposition and we were finally ok.
The room was not large but equipped with modern and elegant furniture and lived up to expectations, the bathroom was even better and provided the expected 5* feeling – toiletries are very good but not replaced on a daily basis.
It needs to be asserted that the beds are of perfect quality, very good mattresses and perfect bed linen – it was certainly the best sleep during our 3 weeks of vacation.
Most recommendations of reception staff for things to do and especially good bars in the area were really good and helpful.
Another major plus of the hotel is the restaurant, especially for big Michelin fans like us: The restaurant is rated one star, serves excellent food, has a nice wine list which is quite regionally orientated and offers all that at a price which is certainly adequate for the level of quality provided.
The location of the hotel is just perfect for tourists, at least if you are not one of those who think they need to stay directly on the edge of Fisherman’s Wharf – if you want to stay somewhere from where you can walk all the major attractions of the city, then this is certainly a good place for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLT20102010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 14 December 2015
Dear JLT20102010,

Thank you for your excellent review. i would lik eto inform you that we have ben awarded a second Michelin star for 2016. We do appreciate your feedback and look forward to your future stay with us.

Warm regards

Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Taj Campton Place
Tel: 4159555532
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

My wife wanted to do shopping around the Union Square area on our last days in the US. before we catch our international flight from SFO. We have recently stayed at a Taj palace on our trip to India,so we decided to give The Taj Union Square a try.We thought its a brand new renovated property,but was told by the taxi driver the hotel existed for over 30 years.And he was right but must have been renovated. Nice small place,a little like an apartment but lack a grandure of a Taj that is symbolic for the name in india or any resemblance of the new one opened in Maldives that got the No.1 rating for 2013 Although the rate is quite up there.
Nice cosy bar and small cafe that serve excellent food with access to street pavement.Main restaurant next to it serves same excellent food to the fine dining faire.Although some publication rated this restaurant as one Michilin star,its strange the hotel does not advertise it to guests.Prepared by an Indian Chef,good fine fining flare of french cusine with indian twist,but somehow, we feel it could be better.The excellent value would be the cafe dining as the food comes out of the same kitchen and is practically as good.
Bedroom was a little disappointed for a Taj.We booked a higher catagory room.Decoration,size ,features and amentites were quite simple . But service level at lobby was good and attentive,although at breakfast,a little confusing by staff ,some of them apparently do not seem to be able to execute without order from the restaurant manager.So request has to be reminded more than one or two times.

Overall,location,Great,don't expect to much of a Taj product.Cafe and bar dining excellent.

Room Tip: Good view starts from the 10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelbugX50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 14 December 2015
Dear TravelbugX50,

Thank you for your review. i would like to inform you that we have been awarded a second Michelin star for 2016. We do appreciate your feedback and look forward to your future stay with us.

Warm regards

Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Taj Campton Place
Tel: 4159555532
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

And rather small I have to add. We were upgraded to a superior room and wondered how the standard ones were. Decor is too minimalist for my taste. Staff is professional and location is great.
PS: what a nightmare to find taxis in San Francisco!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyNguyen, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear Giovanni C,

You were indeed upgraded to a deluxe room. Our California rooms are smaller, but have the same amenities. As a boutique hotel our rooms are very much on the same scale as those found in European small hotels, but we feel that what we lack in size is made up for by our Frette linens, cozy Ploh robes, wonderful pillow-top mattresses, Molton Brown bath amenities and friendly, helpful service. We hope you felt the same. And of course, our location can’t be beat!

Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

My husband and I have been coming to the Campton Place bar for years to enjoy drinks and grab food. We decided to spend the night on NYE after finding a great deal which included a dining credit at the bar and breakfast credit at the main restaurant the next morning.

The hotel is relatively small compared to some of the other hotels in Union Square. It feels more like a boutique hotel. I'm told the Taj properties in India, however, are like palaces. The service upon arriving was excellent. We were upgraded to a larger room on a low floor. We didn't have much of a view but the room was nice, much more spacioius than I had expected after reading other reviews. Our dinner at the bar was excellent. The service is always consistent and top notch. Our breakfast at the main dining room was also excellent with superb service.

The hotel is in a great location in the heart of Union Square which would be perfect for tourists/visitors. Luckily for us, we were able to hop on othe Muni 2/3 for door to door service from our home.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FIFItheWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 14 December 2015
Dear FIFIthe World Traveler,

Thank you for your excellent review. We do appreciate your feedback and look forward to your future stay with us.

Warm regards

Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Taj Campton Place
Tel: 4159555532
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,912 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Campton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Campton Place

Property: Taj Campton Place
Address: 340 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94108-4609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Campton Place 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Campton Place is the quintessential landmark San Francisco Hotel on Union Square. It’s located just steps away from the City’s best shopping, dining and nightlife. Award-winning Campton Place Restaurant and Bar one of the City’s most revered dining destinations. Executive Chef Srijith’s cuisine with renowned Master Sommelier Richard Dean’s wine cellar combined to create an unparalleled culinary extravaganza. Campton Place’s superb location, elegant guestrooms, extraordinary service, outstanding amenities make it San Francisco’s ideal home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taj Campton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Campton Place Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Campton Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing