We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taj Campton - In the Center of It All”
Review of Taj Campton Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Campton Place
Ranked #7 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
1,227 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 694 helpful votes
“Taj Campton - In the Center of It All”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We travel to San Francisco between 1 and 4x per month. Most often, we stay at the Taj Campton Hotel. First, it is close to our business meetings, and then, close to great restaurants.

The staff at the Taj Campton has always been the main factor, to our return, trip after trip.

The rooms are spacious, with very comfortable beds, and are very quiet. We request the __03 series, though next to the elevator, because of their floor plan - we never hear the elevators. Every room is well-appointed, and all, in which we have stayed, had a great coffee maker.

As we are members of the Leading Hotels Group (of which, the Taj Campton is a part), we get two breakfasts per day. The Campton Place Restaurant (a very lovely fine-dining restaurant) is the venue for those breakfasts. The menu is full, and some of the dishes are highly innovative.

The Campton Place Bar, just behind the restaurant, has bistro food, and a very nice wine list - if you do not see what you want on that, ask to see the "By the Bottle" list from Campton Place, and you will have a deep cellar, indeed - By the Bottle only.

We dine at Campton Place Restaurant maybe every other trip, and have done several of their "wine events." Every meal has been very good to excellent - reviewed separately elsewhere.

Other than the convenient location, our next biggest draw is the service from all employees.

The only reason that the Taj Campton did not get higher marks, is the lack of views. Depending on which room one is in, about the best that they can expect, in that respect, is a view across Union Square of Macy's. Next best is an across-the-street view of the Hyatt.

As San Francisco is such a beautiful city, if the Taj Campton had some of those views, it would be 100% perfect.

Room Tip: We like the __03 series of rooms, thought they are next to the elevator. Their floor plan is ideal f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Loup_Garou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 2 December 2015
Dear Bill_Hunt_AZ,

Thank you for your excellent review of Taj Campton Place. We are now offering complimentary wifi in the hotel. We have also been awarded a two Michelin star for our Campton Place restaurant for 2016. We look forward to your future visit to our hotel.

Warm regards

Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Taj Campton Place
Tel: 4159555532
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    298
    89
    38
    34
See reviews for
170
469
76
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We booked this hotel based on all the previous recommendations that were posted here, so we were hopeful but a little wary. Thankfully it was everything everyone had said and more! Yes the rooms are small but they are very cosy and clean! The bathroom toiletries are lovely and the robe is as good as everyone says. It is in a great location (Union Square) because it is central and not to far from the BART stop on Powell. Great high end shopping all around and it is within walking distance to China Town. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I had casually mentioned that is was our anniversary and the next evening when we got back there was a lovely bottle of champagne waiting for us in our room! A simple thing that will go along way with us. They even impressed my husband and that is hard to do. We will be back guaranteed! Would love to try out the other properties one day too!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnomore507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear Travelnomore507,

First, happy belated wedding anniversary! We are thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Taj Campton Place. We rely on positive reviews such as yours to help encourage potential guests to book with us, so we thank you for your feedback. Additionally, it is through feedback such as yours that our staff continues to be inspired to provide impeccable service each day.

In addition to our centralized location for shopping and transportation, our luxurious Molton Brown bathroom amenities and our bathrobes are always a guest favorite.

We thank you for choosing us as your hotel of choice for San Francisco. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

San Francisco was crazy-busy with tourists (ourselves included) and this hotel was an oasis to return to after each outing; staff was friendly, engaged, and extremely helpful, called us by name each time we entered. Breakfast hostess was knowledgable about what to do in the city on Sunday, and our bartender/waiter was terrific at our light Dinner on Sunday night, and the food for both meals was excellent. Will come back here for our next SF visit, no question.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EscapingDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 2 December 2015
Dear EscapingDC,

Thank you for your excellent review of Taj Campton Place. We were delighted to read the same. We are looking forward to having you stay with us again in teh future.

Warm regards

Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Taj Campton Place
Tel: 4159555532
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

This has been the best hotel expierence ever. Our Aussie friends have stayed in 5 star hotels all over the world and nothing has beat our expierence here. The staff has been terrific and nothing is a problem for them to handle.Breakfast has been outstanding and our dinner last night was exceptional.
North Carolina travelers showing Aussie friends part of the west.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 2 December 2015
Dear Bill G,

Thank you for your excellent review of Taj Campton Place. We were delighted to read the same. We are looking forward to your future stay with us.

Warm regards

Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Taj Campton Place
Tel: 4159555532
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Very comfortable room with lovely decor and a really beautiful bathroom. We were on a sightseeing trip and although a lot of tourists stay in Fisherman's Wharf we liked being near Union Square. We didn't eat at all at the hotel but grabbed our breakfast at the local Starbucks and were delighted with the concierge's restaurant recommendations for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertina32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Bertina32,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear you had a wonderful experience at Taj Campton Place. We have recently undergone a soft renovation, where we brightened our décor, and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed it.

We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our centralized location. We are indeed close by popular attractions, and the shopping district in Union Square.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future, and hope that you decide to try our wonderful Michelin Star restaurant, Campton Place Restaurant.

Warm Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

When I arrived at the Taj Campton, I was impressed with the lovely lobby and central location near the best shops in town. It seemed like exactly the sort of boutique hotel I generally love. It was a short lived romance.

I was placed in a handicapped room on the 2nd floor with an open shower which would have been fine if they had informed me before I arrived in the room. But that was really not a big deal. The real problem was that at 430 AM I was awakened to a cacophony of garbage cans being thrown into trucks. The noise so loud that sleeping was clearly not an option and even when I called the front desk I had to yell. I have never heard anything like it.
----
Me: "HELLO SIR!" AS YOU CAN HEAR IN THE BACKGROUND IT SOUNDS LIKE I AM IN A WAR ZONE! IT HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR TEN MINUTES. I HAVE TO WORK TOMORROW AND I CLEARLY CANT SLEEP. I NEED TO MOVE ROOMS."

Front Desk: "Unfortunately we don't have any other rooms available.

(and then came the kicker)

Next time you come you should ask for a room that is not in the alleyway."
----
Huh? I was supposed to know that some of the rooms are basically uninhabitable?

Then after a sleepless night I foolishly ordered room service and got the wrong order which I did not have time to wait for them to correct.

Later in the day I went to what they call the gym which is basically a few cardio machines on a freezing terrace that had been covered by a tarp.

Finally upon checking out with my colleague from work, I learned that her room had been over $100 less than the beautiful accommodations I had been afforded (Neither of us are paying but ya know. . ).

Those Holiday Inn Express ads are intended to suggest that you get a good nights sleep at their hotels but I am confident that my stay at one of their inexpensive hotels would have been far superior in every way to the disaster that was Taj Campton Place.

Room Tip: make sure to ask for a room NOT IN THE ALLEYWAY. . . of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear maddeline,

I was so very sorry to hear about the garbage pick up at that ungodly hour and when I asked our Chief Engineer about it, he said they are not to pick up until 7 a.m. and apparently had a new driver who was unaware of the schedule. That early noise has not happened since you were here.

There are no handicapped rooms on the 2nd or 3rd floors, but because of the shower configureation, many feel it is. It is probably true that we were unable to room move you the night you were here, however, because July was a very busy month and many nights we were full. Please accept my apologies that the night clerk's response was so unsympathetic and flip--obviously not what either of us expects from a Taj property and his supervisor has been advised to re-educate him on a more hospitable manner.

I also must apologize for the incorrect room service order you received. I'm sure the order taken had it correct and I regret very much you were given an order that should have been delivered to another guest. We do hundreds of room service orders each month and rarely have had a mishap such as this.

I do hope you will give us another opportunity to restore your confidence in our hospitality the next time you come to San Francisco.

Warm Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelburne, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Over the years I've stayed at a number of San Francisco hotels (Four Seasons, Ritz, Mark Hopkins, etc.), but my favorite remains Campton Place. Under Taj management, this chic property offers service both seamless and unpretentious, from curb to front desk, in-room dining, housekeeping - and concierge desk, especially Eduardo, expert and enthusiastic! The dining room and bar/bistro feature a varied menu with an Indian flair. (Do try the masala omelet and the delicious curries). Rooms are quiet, lovely and well appointed, if smallish. (Bathroom floors can be slippery; I keep a bath towel on the floor next to the bathmat.) And when you step out the door, you are close to the best shopping, Chinatown, Nob Hill and the Ferry Building. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMA2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 14 December 2015
Dear CMA2011,

Thank you for your excellent review. We do appreciate your feedback and look forward to your future stay with us.

Warm regards

Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Taj Campton Place
Tel: 4159555532
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,244 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
474 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 229 in San Francisco
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
3,216 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#24 of 229 in San Francisco
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Campton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Campton Place

Property: Taj Campton Place
Address: 340 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94108-4609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Campton Place 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Campton Place is the quintessential landmark San Francisco Hotel on Union Square. It’s located just steps away from the City’s best shopping, dining and nightlife. Award-winning Campton Place Restaurant and Bar one of the City’s most revered dining destinations. Executive Chef Srijith’s cuisine with renowned Master Sommelier Richard Dean’s wine cellar combined to create an unparalleled culinary extravaganza. Campton Place’s superb location, elegant guestrooms, extraordinary service, outstanding amenities make it San Francisco’s ideal home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj Campton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Campton Place Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Campton Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing