We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Hotel and Location”
Review of Taj Campton Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Campton Place
Ranked #5 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Our first visit to this hotel. The location was excellent,"Union Square", the shopping is superb, the Trolley Cars are a block away and numerous restaurants. The staff were professional, courteous and eager to assist. The room was big in neutral colors, very comfortable bedding and a large bathroom with all the amenities. The housekeepers were sooo good, the room was mysteriously made up twice a day and you never saw a cart in the hallways. The restaurant was delicious and quaint as well as the bar/lounge. The concierge (Eduardo) was fabulous. He arranged all our tours as well as the town car to the airport. Overall, an exceptional property.!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3kbyrnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2015

Dear 3kbyrnes,

Dear NelloDas,

Thank you for your excellent review of Taj Campton Place. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed styaing with us. I am thrilled to inform you that we have been awarded two Michelin stars for Campton Place Restaurant for 2016. We look forward to your future stays with us.

Warm regards
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Tel 415-781-5555
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

768 - 774 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We checked in using American Express Platinum Concierge and were upgraded to room 1201 which was corner room and supposedly one of best just below suite category. It looked like IKEA furniture and old worn fabrics. Awful room. Shown two others by manager and similar. We left and went to St Regis and were ecstatic

We had stayed at Campton previously but will not return. It is shabby and it is not worth the price.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Ken M,

I am so very sorry that you were so disappointed in the room you had been assigned that you did not stay to experience our caring, hospitable service. However, I must disagree with your assessment that 1201 is a shabby and unappealing room. We have been refurbishing our rooms this year beginning with new draperies and carpet. That room is one which has been redone and the vast majority of our guests have been very complimentary. I truly regret that it was not to your taste and as you had been a guest here previously, I also truly hope you will give us another opportunity to extend our hospitality to you.

Warm Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

First time, it was excellent, from door to room to restaurant, excellent staff, beautiful new room, amazing decor, room service was yummy, the restaurant was amazing and such service, will definitely go back.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank princessofvisconde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2015

Dear princessofvisconde,

Dear NelloDas,

Thank you for your excellent review of Taj Campton Place. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed styaing with us. I am thrilled to inform you that we have been awarded two Michelin stars for Campton Place Restaurant for 2016. We look forward to your future stays with us.

Warm regards
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Tel 415-781-5555
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We would definitely come back. Our room was comfortable and spacious, the hotel itself is in an amazing location, and the staff were all so friendly and helpful. We truly enjoyed our stay.

And definitely eat at the Taj restaurant. The chef has these super creative and perfectly delicious dishes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Irene P,

We are thrilled to hear that you are going to be returning to stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our rooms, location, and staff. It is an honor to receive feedback such as yours from our guests.

Chef Sri will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal. His spice route cuisine in Campton Place Restaurant is truly innovative.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Luxury hotel among san francisco. Walking distance to union square. Convenience and spacey clean room. I stay only one night but experience was good with reasonable room rate. Recommend to business or

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DashMen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2015

Dear DashMen,

Dear NelloDas,

Thank you for your excellent review of Taj Campton Place. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed styaing with us. I am thrilled to inform you that we have been awarded two Michelin stars for Campton Place Restaurant for 2016. We look forward to your future stays with us.

Warm regards
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Tel 415-781-5555
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Taj Campton Place just off Union Square in San Francisco was our last stop of our Californian honeymoon trip. It was an ideal base for exploring the sights of San Francisco. We stayed for 3 nights in the lovely boutique style hotel. The hotel is fabulously situated just off Union Square away from the hustle and bustle of the busy square yet on the door step of all the wonderful shops two minutes walk from, Saks, Neiman Marcus, Macey's and so many more, cafes restaurants etc. The hotel has a lovely intimate feel not too corporate or business like.The staff we encountered there were extremely helpful and attentive particularly the man who brought our luggage to our room on arrival. In the reception foyer I particularly liked the Helen Frankenthaler art work it worked really well with the decor. Our room was surprisingly spacious with a lovely airy feel relaxing feel. The bathroom and dressing area was also quiet spacious. The Nespresso coffee maker in the room was a lovely touch and also the lovely welcome note and bottle of wine was very warmly received. Overall a wonderful stay in a great city hotel. The only thing I would change is to have free Wi Fi for guests. Out of the seven hotels we stayed in on our memorable California trip It was unfortunately the only hotel where we had to pay for Wi Fi. However overall I would highly recommend this hotel to friends who are planning to visit San Francisco.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annabelle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2015

Dear Annabelle23,

Dear NelloDas,

Thank you for your excellent review of Taj Campton Place. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed styaing with us. I am thrilled to inform you that we have been awarded two Michelin stars for Campton Place Restaurant for 2016. We look forward to your future stays with us.

Warm regards
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Tel 415-781-5555
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The room was very well appointed. Very luxurious. The hotel is relatively small and quiet. No big tour group. Guests are generally very gentile. The doorman are very helpful. Since the hotel is on the left side of an one-way street, he will come to the right side of the car to help guests enter or exit the car. The restaurant is also small and meals can be taken at a leisurely pace. The location is very good, half a block to Union Square. It does not have the hustle and bustle of Saint Francis Hotel. It is a quaint version of Grand Hyatt Union Square. If there is anything they can improve on, it is the concierge. Can pay more attention to approaching guests.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Albert C,

We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Taj Campton Place. We are nestled in the corner of Union Square, so we are close enough to the luxurious shopping area of downtown, but removed enough so that we are not overwhelmed with the hustle and bustle. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our location.

We are delighted that you found our doormen to be very helpful. We strive to deliver impeccable service and it is through feedback such as yours that inspires our staff to go above and beyond. With that said, we also take negative feedback seriously, and we will be sure to follow up with our concierge.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Campton Place in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
508 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,363 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#28 of 230 in San Francisco
3,371 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Campton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Campton Place

Address: 340 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94108-4609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £193 - £644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Campton Place 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Campton Place is the quintessential landmark San Francisco Hotel on Union Square. It’s located just steps away from the City’s best shopping, dining and nightlife. Award-winning Campton Place Restaurant and Bar one of the City’s most revered dining destinations. Executive Chef Srijith’s cuisine with renowned Master Sommelier Richard Dean’s wine cellar combined to create an unparalleled culinary extravaganza. Campton Place’s superb location, elegant guestrooms, extraordinary service, outstanding amenities make it San Francisco’s ideal home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Campton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Campton Place Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Campton Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing