We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hardware but big chain feel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Campton Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taj Campton Place
Ranked #8 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
singapore
Level Contributor
301 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Boutique hardware but big chain feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

The Campton Place is right on Union Square, convenient to shopping and the financial district, all within MINUTES of walkable distances. UNBEATABLE. In the 80's i had stayed here multiple times because compared to the big and impersonal Hyatt right opposite, this is cozy, intimate and even romantic. Service was very personal and the restaurant was top notch in having a Californian dinner. Since Taj has taken over, the feel is distinctly less Californian and more Indian big chain The restaurant serves a tasting menu only with Indian fusion theme. I ended up eating out all 3 night i was there because I'd rather have real Indian cuisine in India. The rooms are well kept and for a small hotel the hardware is charming and good. Let's hope that the owners have the good sense to restore the CALIFORNIAN feel of its service and cuisine.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyboy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear sunnyboy9,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We thank you for returning to Campton Place after your many stays in the 80’s. Our location is a favorite of many of our guests, and we are glad to hear that you agree.

We are saddened to hear that you are not happy with Taj Campton Place since we took management. Our goal was to keep the Californian essence, but also infuse the feeling of Taj into the hotel. Additionally, that was our goal with Campton Place Restaurant. We wanted to maintain the same elegance and Californian cuisine, but infuse a spice-route flair.

We hope you come back to stay with us again soon, and give this new change another chance.

Warm Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    272
    85
    36
    33
See reviews for
147
418
63
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Perfect location if you want to dive into all the shopping SF is famous for. Rooms comfortable and staff pays attention to details. The restaurant and bar are of high quality. The rooms on union square are amazingly quite. I would ask for a higher floor if possible.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PierrePS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear PierrePS,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It sounds as though you were able to take advantage of our prime location near many of the popular stores. It is often times one of the highlights for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

This is our "go to place" when staying in SF! Right at Union Square, across from the monstrous Grand Hyatt, this hotel is part of the Taj Group, and they never miss a step!
The doorman alone is worth the price of the stay!
Exceptional staff, remember the papers you like, etc. The rooms are modernist, stark, great beds, and tomb like quiet for a downtown hotel. The dining room is not to be missed with breakfast entrees as diverse as lobster frittata with wild mushrooms and goat cheese, which I had this morning.
The doorman is so great that wen we pulled up in our car the first time we stayed, he told us to park in the paid parking lot next door for $15 instead of their valet for a lot more! Now that's service.
The shower/tub combo is funky, you literally ascend some steps to get in, but once mastered, it fun.
Walk anywhere in the city from this great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorGun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 5 November 2015
Dear DoctorGun,

Thank you for your excellent review of Taj Campton Place. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I am delighted to inform you that we have just been awarded a second Michelin star for our Campton Place restaurant. We look forward to your future visit to our hotel.

Warm regards
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Tel 415-781-5555
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

From the moment you arrive, until you depart, everything about Campton Place is just right. This is what a 5-star hotel experience should be without ever feeling pretentious or high-handed. Friendly staff, beautiful rooms and a location right on Union Square that is convenient to shopping, theater, restaurants and public transit if you want to explore other areas. This is a pricey property, but in it's class, it is the best value. I booked through American Express Fine Hotels and received extra benefits that really made the stay nothing short of perfect.

Room Tip: All the rooms have double windows so it is amazingly quiet above a noisy street. Corner rooms overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick1395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 6 November 2015
Dear Mr Rick 1395,

Thank you for your glowing feedback! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, again! It is through such thoughtful support and feedback like yours that our staff continues to be inspired to provide impeccable service each day.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel the next time you decide to travel to San Francisco.

Warm regards
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Tel 415-781-5555
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

This hotel just nailed it again! From the doorman to the bar staff, to the restaurant maitre'd, staff, and chef…just excellent food, the complimentary house car, the attentive bellhop and the General Manager…kudos to all! This is the one and only hotel that I will stay at when visiting SF. A bit disappointed with our room but the service trumps all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear lisaleslie,

Thank you for your glowing feedback! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, again! It is through such thoughtful support and feedback like yours that our staff continues to be inspired to provide impeccable service each day.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel the next time you decide to travel to San Francisco.

Warm Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

While visiting a conference in San Francisco, my wife and I spent five nights in the Taj Campton Place, just off Union Square. We booked through Hotwire, so we weren't quite sure of what to expect, but the Taj Campton turned out to be just perfect.

Arriving, we were immediately enamoured wih the excellent location, just meters away from Union Square. And the hotel itself also did not disappoint. Excellent service by the front desk clerks, and we received a very nice and large room, perfectly suited for a five night stay. The room and the bathroom were both spotlessly clean, and the beds were very comfortable. Even though we did not have breakfast at the hotel itself (it is available, by the way; we just did not choose to do so), the location right next door to a Starbucks was a bonus.

A couple of times during our stay, we asked the concierge for assistance with issues, and each time, they were extremely helpful. In fact, all the hotel personel was extremely nice and professional and helped make our stay very enjoyable.

All in all, we can most definitely recommend the Taj Campton Place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crimboween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 6 November 2015
Dear Crimboween,

Thank you for your excellent review of Taj Campton Place. We are delghted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am thrilled to inform you that we have been awarded a second Michelin star for our Campton Place Restaurant.We look forward o your future stay with us.


Warm regards
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Tel 415-781-5555
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The service- the service - the service. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the Michelin starred restaurant is top notch. The location for San Francisco's best shopping is ideal. Taj hotels never fail to impress.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NelloDas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 6 November 2015
Dear NelloDas,

Thank you for your excellent review of Taj Campton Place. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed styaing with us. I am thrilled to inform you that we have been awarded two Michelin stars for Campton Place Restaurant for 2016. We look forward to your future stays with us.

Warm regards
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Tel 415-781-5555
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,805 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#18 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Campton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Campton Place

Property: Taj Campton Place
Address: 340 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94108-4609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Campton Place 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Campton Place is the quintessential landmark San Francisco Hotel on Union Square. It’s located just steps away from the City’s best shopping, dining and nightlife. Award-winning Campton Place Restaurant and Bar one of the City’s most revered dining destinations. Executive Chef Srijith’s cuisine with renowned Master Sommelier Richard Dean’s wine cellar combined to create an unparalleled culinary extravaganza. Campton Place’s superb location, elegant guestrooms, extraordinary service, outstanding amenities make it San Francisco’s ideal home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Taj Campton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Campton Place Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Campton Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing