We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Campton Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taj Campton Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Campton Place
Ranked #7 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Campton Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a week in 2008/2009. Centrally located, service was extraordinary, price was good, food exquisite...Being a boutique hotel the room was on the small side but hey it's San Francisco and all space is at a premium...Not one thing bad to say about this place. I would return and enjoy every moment.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Will D,

Thank you for this great review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed everything from our room, to our location, and also our restaurant. We thank you for sharing this great feedback with us, for it is through this kind of feedback that we are all inspired to continue to provide exceptional service.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    276
    86
    36
    33
See reviews for
155
428
65
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Taj in San Francisco is in such a great location right on Union Square. It's convenient to transportation, shopping, restaurants. The building itself is quite traditional.. Although this section of the hotel is very pretty, it's also very loud. The lobbly, passage and the room size is relatively small. I know this is often to be expected in these older hotels, but it still wasn't enjoyable. Otherwise, the beds and bath were up to Taj standards.

It was a bit pricey, but nothing too far out of the ordinary for the location. The staff at the front desk are very welcoming. The loose ends here are the dining facilities and gym. I would probably stay here again InshAllah.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 5 November 2015
Dear iimz,

Thank you for your excellent review of Taj Campton Place. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I am delighted to inform you that we have just been awarded a second Michelin star for our Campton Place restaurant. We look forward to your future visit to our hotel.

Warm regards
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Tel 415-781-5555
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Courteous multi-cultural staff, friendly treatment.
Good Breakfast, but hope they will introduce some Indian dishes soon.
In the heart of the city, near China Town. All convenience shops nearby. Good choice for your next stay..

Room Tip: Choose higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 5 November 2015
Dear SGR2014,
Thank you for your excellent review of Taj Campton Place. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I am delighted to inform you that we have just been awarded a second Michelin star for our Campton Place restaurant. We look forward to your future visit to our hotel.

Warm regards
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Tel 415-781-5555
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Cali
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

My daughter, husband and I recently traveled to SF for a short family weekend...good food, museums etc... The hotel we normally stay in was booked, so I spent a substantial amount of time searching for an older, charming hotel. The Taj could have been it!!! The staff was charming. The service could not have been better. We enjoyed the lovely fruit basket provided by the management. The location was amazing...a block off Union Square. Much to our surprise, it was quiet, even though we were on the third floor and on the corner closest to Union Square. The bathroom was well- appointed, however there was no shower door, hence anytime we showered, the floor was flooded. The main problem was that this very expensive room with much potential was drab, shabby and completely dated. In addition, the carpets were stained. There are very few things worse when staying in a new hotel room, than thinking about what else might be dirty. With all this taken into consideration, I would say that we spent way too much money for this room.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank momalu444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Mamalu,

Thank you so much for your feedback. I was happy to read you were generally satisfied with your stay, but of course concerned about your comments regarding your room. Last year new televisions were installed in all our guestrooms and the broadband of our internet service was increased. We have been refurbishing our rooms as well; however short of closing the hotel for an extended period, refreshment is an ongoing process, a few rooms at a time due to occupancy constraints—each room must be put out of order for three days to complete each phase. So far we have completed nearly half the rooms with new window covering and a third with new carpet. I am truly sorry you room was not one that had been one of those completed.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to redeem our reputation for being worthy of our luxury hotel status and we may look forward to welcoming you back the next time you come to San Francisco.

Warm Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I recently attended a java one conference and due to last minute booking and all hotels sold out we stayed here. The hotel was a bit pricey but it had an Indian flavour to it and the staff was great. By flavour I mean decorations, hotel info on TV, food offerings. The rooms are a bit small but my wife and I enjoyed our stay here it is located on the north end of union square within walking distance to everything. My wife loved the shopping, I would recommend this place to anyone because of the customer service and room quality. I still don't get why hotels charge for wifi but star bucks is right next door. The restaurant is small and very expensive, food is excellent.

Room Tip: I wish the rooms were a little bigger, for the price we are paying should be alto more freebies such...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gurinder R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Gurinder R,

We are thrilled that you had a wonderful experience with us at Taj Campton Place. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our Indian inspired décor and location while you attended the Java One Conference.

Being a small boutique luxury hotel our rooms may seem cozier than some other hotels, however, it sounds as though our service and location made up for it. It sounds as though your wife was able to take advantage of our centralized location and enjoy the upscale shopping that is right at our doorstep.

Thank you for choosing Taj Campton Place. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Taj with my family. I usually stay at the Mandarin, Ritz or Omni but Taj was about the only hotel that would guarantee connecting rooms to our kids (so much for "family friendly" hotels). I was very pleasantly surprised with this great hotel and I expect that on my next business trip to San Fran I'll be staying at the Taj again.

When we arrived they upgraded us to a very nice suite. The service was excellent and attentive, from the front desk, to the concierge, to the very helpful and polite doormen. Across the board, very nice and very helpful staff. Food was also well above average for a luxury hotel. Our only issue was a very slow breakfast service one morning, however that evening the staff sent a wonderful bottle of wine to our room and called to personally apologize. Hotels will never be perfect, but the difference is in how they handle a guest's bad experience. The Taj nailed it. No excuses, just "let us do better" and a bottle of wine. A class act at this hotel. Well done, Taj Campton.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 6 November 2015
Dear Mr S,

Thank you for your excellent review of Taj Campton Place! I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased to inform you that our Campton Place restaurant has earned a second Michelin star. we are looking forward to your future stay with us.

Warm regards
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Tel 415-781-5555
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
98 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed almost two weeks with my mothers and had a great time. It is right on Union Square, Chinatown and so easy to take the bus from there. The rooms are very nice and clean and everybody is very very polite and helpful. They try remember your choices( for exemple my mother like continental breakfast and orange juice and they always remeber, even in the first days of our stay). From the doormen, the front desk , concierge, everybody was so wonderful. And the food the bistro was delicious too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debora W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 6 November 2015
Dear Ms Deborah W,

Thank you for your excellent review of Taj Campton Place. we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We are looking forward to your future stay in our hotel.

Warm regards
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Tel 415-781-5555
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,910 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Campton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Campton Place

Property: Taj Campton Place
Address: 340 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94108-4609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Campton Place 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Campton Place is the quintessential landmark San Francisco Hotel on Union Square. It’s located just steps away from the City’s best shopping, dining and nightlife. Award-winning Campton Place Restaurant and Bar one of the City’s most revered dining destinations. Executive Chef Srijith’s cuisine with renowned Master Sommelier Richard Dean’s wine cellar combined to create an unparalleled culinary extravaganza. Campton Place’s superb location, elegant guestrooms, extraordinary service, outstanding amenities make it San Francisco’s ideal home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Campton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Campton Place Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Campton Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing