We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in amazing location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Campton Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taj Campton Place
Ranked #8 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel in amazing location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

The location of this hotel is superb!! .. right on the edge of Union Square ...very convienent and lively. I found the staff friendly and helpful, and the room clean and peaceful. I stayed here a week and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel..

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tour77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 30 December 2015
Dear tour77,

Thank you for your excellent review of Taj Campton Place. We are delightred that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to your future stay with us.

Warm regards

Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Taj Campton Place
Tel: 4159555532
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    271
    85
    36
    33
See reviews for
147
418
63
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

We chose this hotel for its location and good reviews. But we were very disappointed by the following:
1) The decorations without much taste. It's image is far away from the so called " Best Boutique Hotel in San Francisco";
2) The note about Minibar and free water was confusing - made us think there is nothing free. Only on our last day we found out there is complimentary bottle of water per person per day. We almost thought the teabags and coffee are free, but it's over priced. We have to call to check and the person who anwered the phone couldn't explain clearly - poor English.
3) Only on the last day we found out there is complimentary coffee from 6:00 -8:00 AM. The tea or coffee in the room are nothing free, but over priced.
4) The front desk people didn't explain about the free services such as the free coffee to guests.
5) The room cleaning was very delayed - almost until the evening.
6) There is only duvet and no sheet between the comfortor and the sheet which is very weired. The sheets are not vacuumed- full of lints...
7) The room is really very small for the price of $300.-(weekend rate). Besides there is no parking at all!
8) The manager will not allow a late check out - usually other hotels will give us until 2:00 pm, but she gave us nothing. Not friendly at all!

The only thing we miss are the door men. They are very helpful in giving dinning directions and very nice.

After all, we want to tell you that this is NOT "the Best Boutique Hotel in San Francisco", far away from it! Therefore, please don't fool by the price. It's over priced.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Qtty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyNguyen, Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
Actually, we don’t rate ourselves—our guests are the ones who rate us, as well as AAA, Leading Hotels of the World, American Express, Conde Nast, Ritchey, Entrée , etc. etc. So, to take your criticisms one at a time:
1. Décor is a matter of individual preference. Perhaps our taste isn’t lacking, only different from yours?
2. Thank you for your suggestions about clarifying the charge for coffee, tea and water. We provide complimentary water for each person at turndown. The charge for coffee and teas is espresso and premium grade teas.
3. I apologize you were not told at check-in about the availability of complimentary coffee in the bar. With so much information to tell the guests when they arrive, occasionally an item is omitted and I am sorry this was so in your case.
4. I regret your room was not cleaned in a more timely manner. When we have a large number of check-ins sometimes those rooms whose guests are staying over will have the cleaning pushed back in order to insure rooms for new guests are ready when they arrive.
5. No, it is not weird to have no top sheet. This is the European method of making a bed. We do, however, provide a traditional bed make up with a top sheet and blanket or duvet for those who prefer it. What is weird is your thinking the sheets should be vacuumed. Who ever heard of vacuuming sheets?
6. We are a boutique hotel and our rooms are more in scale with European boutique hotels with their smaller rooms. We feel the smaller size is more than compensated for by the premium linens and amenities and superior service we offer.
7. When we have a large number of check-ins, it is not possible to extend late check-outs or the new arrivals would have to wait for their rooms beyond the check-in time. Late check-outs would not be fair to the next guests. We do, however, provide secure storage for luggage if it is not convenient to leave the hotel by noon. I apologize we were not able to accede to your request and hope you were not too greatly inconvenienced by it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

Just stayed 1 night but I had a top-notch experience. The staff lived up to the Taj reputation. The room was very spacious and very modern and comfortable. And the location is perfect just a block from Union Square.

Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank OC_Adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 30 December 2015
Dear OC_Adventurer,

Thank you for your excellent review of Taj Campton Place. We are delightred that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to your future stay with us.

Warm regards

Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Taj Campton Place
Tel: 4159555532
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

This hotel is in a great location, rooms have all the amenities including an in room expresso machine, the staff is so helpful and attentive (at midnight the doorman offered to go find ice cream for me outside the hotel). The only suggestion is it is time for refurbishing..carpets and furniture look like they were installed in the 90s

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank columbuscirclenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyNguyen, Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
Thank you for your kind words about your stay with us. Even I didn’t know our doormen went that the length of finding a special ice cream at midnight for a guest! On the other hand, we are known for our friendly attentive service, so it’s not surprising to learn when one of them has really gone the extra mile. We are in the process of refurbishing the hotel, but are doing it room by room instead of closing for a complete redo. I’m sorry you were not given one of the completed rooms. It’s a longer process, but it is being doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

After reading the reviews on this site about this hotel I wanted to experience it for myself. Let me start with our check-in, which occurred at 9:15 AM and they told us our room was ready…what a surprise my wife and I assumed we’d have to check our luggage. Because of all the touristy-stuff we did on our first day we got back into the hotel late, but to our surprise nice chocolates were waiting for us next to our beds, which were turned-down by the way. We were still hungry so we called the onsite restaurant and wanted to make a reservation for dinner, even though they usually don’t take reservations after 8:30 PM, they accommodated us with an 8:45 PM reservation. Not to give away too much, the food was fantastic! Also you’ve got to try the espresso martini at the bar…wow it was awesome. Our experience at this hotel was fantastic and I highly recommended it to others!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Embargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyNguyen, Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 26 January 2011
Oh my gosh—your endorsement sounds as if it had been written by our PR Department! Your review was one of the nicest we’ve ever received from the very many good ones we get. I am so pleased we were able to provide the service to elicit such kind words and I loved hearing that you loved the food as well. We think our restaurant is certainly worthy of its Michelin star and you have confirmed it. Thank you, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Taj Campton instead of the Nikko where I was attending a conference. We got a great rate and noted that the service was impeccable. Every day we were greeted by the desk staff and the outside doors were opened for us each time we entered or left the hotel. We loved all the amenities in the room and the nice touch of placing the gratis sleepers by our bed each night, along with a bottle of water. We brought friends over to see our room and they marveled at the built-ins, etc. Our floor was very quiet and we enjoyed the daily newspapers. The only hiccup was that my husband checked out of the room early in the morning, but we did not leave for the airport until a few hours later, but before check-out time. In the interim, at least 3 times, someone was knocking on our door to clean the room. After the first time, we called down to the desk and were told that they'd note that we were still in the room. Well, this did not happen and we were bothered 2 more times while we were trying to finish packing and dressing. After 4 days of a great experience, this annoyance seemed like an aberration. When we return to San Fran, we hope to stay here, again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyNguyen, Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 13 January 2011
Dear Kat,

Thank you for all the very nice things you had to say about Taj Campton Place, and especially for appreciating our service. We think we have the best associates in the city, those who have the true hospitality feeling for service and it’s always appreciated when our guests notice the care they are being given.

Please accept my sincere apologies for your having been disturbed so many times while you were trying to dress and finish packing. It must have seemed that you were being given the “bums rush” after having been so welcomed before. Not an auspicious way to end and otherwise pleasant stay and I was glad to read that you still hope to stay again.

I will look forward to your next trip to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

This boutique hotel is just off Union Square which is certainly convenient. The price is somewhat high. We got a room through Megellan Vacations Luxury Hotels web site.
The room was of adequate size. We were very surpised there was no art on the walls except for a very small minimalist drawing above the toilet. We were put in the back of the hotel which suited us well because the street noise was minimal. However, the air conditioning unit fan stayed on the entire time and the thermostat was very slow to respond taking about 1 hour to change temperature.
The bathroom was very large and interesting in that the shower was completely open next to the sink and separated by glass. The shower had sloping floors which kept the water in the shower, but when walking away from the shower it was impossible not to track water through the rest of the bathroom. At the entry to the bathroom the floor sloped upward which created some imbalance when I walked and could trip a person with unstable gait.
The bed was very comfortable with high-thread-count sheets and comforters, and pillows which were quite comfortable. The amenities were not what we were used to considering the price of average $278/night. They were able to supply what we needed, however, which included an ipod dock for the Bose radio, which had very poor sound quality, surprisingly; a microwave; and a magnifying makeup mirror.
All the people we encountered except for a housekeeping person was very nice. This person spoke English with a Chinese accent and yelled at her coworkers!
The lady who did the evening turn downs was exceptionally pleasant.
The room service was quite good, but the $4.50 service charge and the 20% built in gratuity was too high. The food was above average and is made by a chef trained in India's best hotels.
The door and bell men were very helpful and polite.
Valet parking was $45/24 hrs. About a block away was an enclosed parking lot with attendants which was about $35/24 hrs.
Overall I would rate it 7/10 and would probably not stay again mainly because of the pricing.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark6299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvyNguyen, Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, 13 January 2011
Thank you for your input about your stay at Taj Campton Place. I ask that you accept my apologies for the problem you encountered with the air conditioning. The fan, of course, can be turned off and I regret the bellman did not explain this to you when he took you to your room. In order for the temperature to change, the thermostat must be pushed more than 4 degrees in either direction, up or down, for the change to kick in. I am sorry you were no told this as well.

As you did not say exactly what you expected in amenities, but I am happy we were able to supply what you needed. Our room service charges are in line with those charged in other luxury hotels around the world, and those who avail themselves of this service, recognize they will pay more for the convenience. How much is it worth to have an excellent meal in your pajamas while reclining before the TV?

Regarding the parking charges, the operative word is “valet”. Once again, one is paying for the convenience of dropping the car at the front door, being picked up there when ready to leave and not having to schlep luggage at all. Our charge also allows in and out privileges, while the other does not, something to consider if any out of the city sites, such as Muir Woods, the wine country, Monterey, etc. are planned.

Here’s hoping you will reconsider your decision about staying with us again. We are really a very nice place to visit and our location cannot be beat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,804 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#18 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,833 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Campton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Campton Place

Property: Taj Campton Place
Address: 340 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94108-4609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Campton Place 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Campton Place is the quintessential landmark San Francisco Hotel on Union Square. It’s located just steps away from the City’s best shopping, dining and nightlife. Award-winning Campton Place Restaurant and Bar one of the City’s most revered dining destinations. Executive Chef Srijith’s cuisine with renowned Master Sommelier Richard Dean’s wine cellar combined to create an unparalleled culinary extravaganza. Campton Place’s superb location, elegant guestrooms, extraordinary service, outstanding amenities make it San Francisco’s ideal home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Taj Campton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Campton Place Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Campton Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing