We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to feel at home”
Review of Hotel Abri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Abri
Ranked #49 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
“Great Place to feel at home”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The hotel staff were just awesome, enough said. The rooms are very nice and taken care off, some rooms may be smaller but they are well taken care of and they feel more at home kinda feeling than that of a corporate hotel setting where you feel your actually in a hotel.

I will definitely stay again next time I visit, perfect location to everything around that you would want to see.

The only issue I had was no gym, they have a place they use to go to gym but its 15.00 per day per person to use with the discount. But If you like to walk and tour you do not need the gym, The hills and places to go are a great walk.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    775
    690
    179
    47
    41
See reviews for
302
634
132
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

A very centrally located hotel, a two minute walk to union square.

The staff are lovely and the wifi is free.

There is no gym which is always disappointing, especially when you are jet-lagged and wake up at 5am with no where to go and nothing to do.

The rooms are big, clean, with big screen TVs and comfy beds.

If the amenities list is unimportant to you and what you want is a great room in the heart of the city, then this is a good place to come.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The location of Hotel Abri can't be beat. It's a couple of blocks away from Union Square and is right in the middle of the shopping district with easy access to transportation.

The rooms themselves were ok, very small and not many amenities. We got a suite, which had a separate sitting area and bedroom. There's no central air, only individual window air conditioning/heating units, so the room always smelled funny when we first entered. The smell disappeared once we started running the air, but don't expect to be able to turn off it off at night (and the units aren't particularly quiet) or when you're in the room. There were 2 large TVs in the suite, but one didn't work until we had someone come fix it, and the other one which had a DVD player connected was in black and white when we watched a DVD and was pretty fuzzy.

Overall, not a bad pick for SF if you can get it for a good price, but not worth splurging on.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ILSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I almost rated the Hotel Arbri a four instead of a five because the hotel is an older building and my room was small. On the other hand, my traveling companion had a suite and it was very roomy with extra amenities. The staff treated you like royalty, the rooms were super clean and the bed very comfortable. Great location near Union Square and restaurant recommendations from the hotel staff were great, so I rate it a five. The price was very reasonable. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: For just a little more, you can get a suite that has two rooms, two wide flat screen TV's and ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dachsielover53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

What a wonderful boutique hotel! Just walk out the door and you will find restaurants, shopping, jazz clubs and the Bart station is around the corner. The biggest thanks and compliments go to Wilmer and Luis the front desk staff. They were helpful in giving restaurant advice and always greeted us by name, sure made us feel special. Luis surprised me with a nice bottle of wine to wish me a happy birthday. The room was very nice with every amenity you could possibly need. We stayed in suite 405 and had a nice courtyard view with a beautiful bay window. I will definitely stay at Hotel Abri for our next visit.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are nice and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winetraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Have stayed at this hotel a few times in the past so was looking forward to returning. Had hotel booked online a long time in advanced and confirmed, with 2beds, but then closer to the trip was called and said that the room was no longer available but they would upgrade us for close to triple the price! No amount of complaining or escalating helped. Figured they just wanted is to cancel so our rooms could be resold at a higher price. Ended up getting so frustrated, we booked at a different hotel, up the street for our original booking price.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank arif_a786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Extremely pleased by this little boutique hotel, one block from all major shopping (Macys, Nordstrom, Shopping Centre), but also the cable car, the BART, the tramway, the bus stops to take you to the other exciting neighborhoods of San Francisco. The room facing the internal courtyard is quiet, the twin beds are super confortable, wifi is free, bathroom has shower only which is what I personally prefer. Excellent price-quality ratio and will definitely recommend and return when travelling back from Switzerland to San Francisco.

Room Tip: Courtyard facing room for less street and cable car noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The Flying Fish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#17 of 229 in San Francisco
303 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 229 in San Francisco
569 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 229 in San Francisco
3,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#46 of 229 in San Francisco
978 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#60 of 229 in San Francisco
685 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#55 of 229 in San Francisco
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abri

Property: Hotel Abri
Address: 127 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Vibrant. Urban style at the center of it all in San Francisco's Union Square. Ideal for both the leisure and business traveler, the newly transformed Hotel Abri is a modern day urban oasis featuring a sleek décor complemented by contemporary art and upscale amenities. The hotel's energetic vibe is delightfully balanced with a comfortable ease, offering guests a unique sensorial experience and the highest levels of hospitality and service. Hotel Abri offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. We are a dog friendly hotel, please note that a $75 pet fee will apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Abri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection San Francisco
Hotel Abri Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing