We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff was great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Abri

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Abri
Ranked #46 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greensboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Staff was great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2009

I can't say enough good things about the staff at this little boutique hotel. They were extremely helpful and friendly going out of their way to make our stay comfortable. When we wanted to go to a movie, they printed what was showing at nearby theaters and provided directions to each of them. When we needed a happy hour recommendation, they did the same. The hotel does not serve breakfast, but their are so many places nearby, that it's fun to try other locations.

We arrived on a Thursday morning and stayed for three nights. We went to happy hour on Friday night at the restaurant next door. It was very crowded so we took our drinks back to the hotel lobby and drank them in front of the fire while deciding where to go to dinner that evening.

The hotel is small -- small lobby and small rooms. Two computers with internet access available in the hotel lobby for guests. I think there was also access in the rooms, but we didn't bring out laptops, so I didn't pay attention.

The room itself was small but nicely equipped. The hotel is old, but well-maintained. Brown tones dominated the color. Big, flat-screen TV and in-room refrigerator. Standard coffee maker. Bathroom nice with bath and body works toiletries. Not much room for moving around especially with two large suitcases, but we didn't really need it either.

Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank otsthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    641
    165
    42
    33
See reviews for
274
576
126
374
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2009

I had read reviews saying that the rooms at Abri were small and cramped - this was not the case for us. We had a corner front room (a tad noisy but we turned on the air conditioner to drown out street noise which worked well), which was extremely well appointed and spacious. The bathroom was huge and equipped with lovely L'Occitane products (very good quality). There was plenty of storage as well, and the fridge came in handy for snacks.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r0ckinr0byn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saint paul
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

After a long flight and BART ride with our 5 year old daughter, we finally arrived at Hotel Abri. Unfortunately, when we were checking in we discovered that my husband accidentally booked the Hotel Abri for July (2 weeks before we were supposed to arrive in San Francisco). They were fully booked for all the nights we were going to be in San Francisco, but the staff diligently worked to find us another hotel (not advised to arrive in San Francisco without a hotel reserved!). He also reimbursed us the $120 we were charged for not showing up on the first night. While we were not able to stay at this hotel, it looked beautiful and the staff were great. Location is great as we stayed a couple of blocks from here. Would highly recommend based on even our limited experience. Will plan another trip to San Francisco just to stay here!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gooseSaintPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

I loved this hotel. The hotel was an older builidng but you would never know it. It had been totally redone less than 1 year ago. I would classify it as a boutique hotel. It was very hip and modern but not too over the top.
The furnishings in the room very very modern, including the 42" flat screen tv. The bed had tons of pillows and also great bedding.
I was upgraded to a King Room so that made my 5 night stay more enjoyable.
The location was right off of Powell Street, so it was 1 block away from Union Square and right on the cable car line. I couldn't hear the cable cars at all.
I loved this hotel, and would stay there again in a minute. One month previous I was in San Fran. and stayed at the Westin Market Str., but would much rather have stayed here on both trips, because of location, and the type of boutique hotel that it was.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

We spent 5 days here and had a great stay after first night. First night we got a 2nd flr room overlooking Ellis st and the Fusion Lounge. Loud noise until 3:00 am after bar closed and all the taxis and yelling stopped and that was on a Thurs. Next night we were placed in a very nice room; spacious for San Fran and excellent service. Would stay again. Location great if you want to be near all the transportation (Mkt St and cable car)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

We stayed at Hotel Abri for 3 nights and was very pleased. The hotel is very clean with modern decor. We were pleasantly surprised to have a bottle of wine with personal greeting on arrival to help us celebrate our Anniversary. We had a room with 2 double beds. Although the room was very small, especially with all our luggage, it was comfortable. Only down side was the noise from the street below. The staff at the front desk are very friendly and helpful. There was complimentary coffee in the morning in the lobby and the kids liked the free bubble-gum machine in the lobby too. Location is excellent. We parked in the parking garage across the street ($6 per night when your car is parked after 5pm and out by 8am). This really wasn't a problem since my husband is an early riser. Definately recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goldenred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, AB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

Great location, attractive hotel, helpful staff - what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ChicAlbertan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#27 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#42 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#101 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#74 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#57 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abri

Property: Hotel Abri
Address: 127 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Vibrant. Urban style at the center of it all in San Francisco's Union Square. Ideal for both the leisure and business traveler, the newly transformed Hotel Abri is a modern day urban oasis featuring a sleek décor complemented by contemporary art and upscale amenities. The hotel's energetic vibe is delightfully balanced with a comfortable ease, offering guests a unique sensorial experience and the highest levels of hospitality and service. Hotel Abri offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. We are a dog friendly hotel, please note that a $75 pet fee will apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Abri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection San Francisco
Hotel Abri Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing