We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice value option near Moscone”
Review of The Mosser

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Mosser
Ranked #91 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice value option near Moscone”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I usually stay at the Intercontinental when I attend events at Moscone, but due to a big sports event that week, the least expensive room I could get there was $500/night. That's just not in my budget. I stayed at the Mosser on the recommendation of friends. The location is just as good as the Intercontinental, if not a little better. The rooms are small, but clean. The staff is nice. Coffee and muffins in the morning is more than the Intercontinental offers. My only quibble is that there is no good place to work in the room: no desk or table. If it had that, I'd give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWbySE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    1,016
    415
    137
    91
See reviews for
118
890
516
484
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Recently stayed at The Mosser for 4 nights while on vacation. We reserved a twin room with an attached bath. The room was tiny, but workable, and the bathroom was huge. Pretty sure we were assigned to the accessible bathroom suite. Everything was clean, and the hotel had a really good location for catching public transport to the tourist areas. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: This hotel has no AC, so if you want to be able to keep the windows open at night, make sure you ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jax9103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I stayed for 2 nights in one of the tiny rooms with a shared bath down the hall. My impression... I was pleasantly surprised. The room was very small but I was just there to sleep at night as I had meeting all day. If you were here on a family trip definitely splurge for a bigger room but it was perfect for one traveler.

The bed was really comfy, the furnishings were new and modern and most importantly the shared bath and shower were very clean. I'd stay here again for sure. The location wasn't my favorite part of town, but it is right in the middle of a lot of action if that's where you want to be.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wavecation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Rooms are very nice, staff is GREAT. Really, really good location!! The city can be a noisy place to try to sleep, this hotel was quiet. Could hear the person beside me when I was walking down the hall, but not at all once I got into my room. Highly recommend the place. Good place if you're traveling by yourself, or with friends.

Deb from Vancouver

Room Tip: Ask for the back of the building, or south side, that way you can keep the windows open when you sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We reserved this hotel but we were preocupied about what we will face when we get there. And for our surprice we were very glad with the selection. The rooms are small but comfortable. We had private bathroom room. The washer sink is in one corner of the room outside the bathroom. But we were ok with this since the distribution of the space is fair. Notice that if you are overweight or very tall this may bother you. But in general the room and cleaniness are very good. We saw the sharing bath in our floor and they were very clean too and always available. And the price is great. The location is also a plus. Is is on the corner of Ross and Market Street. You will have everything you need at hand.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pajarillos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I love this hotel and we are already discussing our return! We were thrilled to get the corner room on the top floor - complete with dual aspect windows high over the wonderful SF street below.
We had avoided other hotels for fear of traffic noise but the double-glazed windows here shut it all out! The decor was simple and elegant and, thankfully, very clean. The facilities were modern and useful. I particularly appreciated the free branded toiletries which made you feel valued and the coffee table books of SF which helped us plan our days.
Tip: as others have mentioned, pay extra if you can for the en-suite. The bathrooms are lovely and convenient to have in the room, rather than sharing with others! The bed also was super-comfy!
The location is great - right near to the shops and trolley car line, which takes you straight down to the Piers (you may have to queue though!).
My only concern would be the lack of value parking - we had to pay $33 a day to leave our car in situ - be warned, but I guess it is to be expected with most city hotels. Also we would have appreciated more assistance with our bags from one of the conciereges upon our arrival at 1am, but others were fine and the cleaners and counter staff were great! Small gripes from an otherwise perfect stay!
Seriously, I am choosy so why look elsewhere?!

Room Tip: Charm the staff and tell them if it's a special trip - I found them really helpful, listening to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KPereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Late flight into San Francisco, trying to find a good deal once I landed. Happened upon The Mosser, got a room for under $100, in Union Square. Small but clean with nice amenities, did have to share bathroom but it was clean and updated. More European in style. Interesting collection of guest from businessman to students to international travelers. Held my bags for no charge while I explored the city ;->

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eleanor0691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#77 of 229 in San Francisco
1,344 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 229 in San Francisco
3,962 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#122 of 229 in San Francisco
1,261 reviews
Music City Hotel
#118 of 229 in San Francisco
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mosser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mosser

Property: The Mosser
Address: 54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3193
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mosser 2.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the city's renowned Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center, both business and leisure travelers will find excellent shopping, dining, touring and nightlife within blocks from their hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mosser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mosser Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing