We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of The Mosser

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Mosser
Ranked #96 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Somersby, Australia
1 review
“Great Value”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My wife and I found the hotel to be, not only in the perfect position being but about 30 metres from the main street of San Francisco but also it was nice and clean and nothing was a problem for the staff who helped you in everyway possible. The rooms are small but hey you dont travel all the way to San Francisco to sit in your hotel room all day. The place was very clean and the shared toilets and bathrooms were always vacant when we wanted to use them. the price per room was exceptionasl compared to the other hotels charging no less than twice if not more. Truly my wife and I could not recommend it highly enough. It was one of the treasures in our trip around the US.

Room Tip: None to mention
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    1,011
    415
    136
    91
See reviews for
118
882
515
484
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Just got back from a quick weekend stay at the Mosser. We "splurged" for a Deluxe Queen room and thought it was perfect. As others have stated, the hotel has great Victorian bones but has been modernized perfectly. I peeked at a few of the rooms as I walked down the hall and yes, some are very tiny. The corner Deluxe Queen that we got, however, had plenty of room. So there are options depending on your budget and comfort level!

We walked all over the city from the hotel, and the Powell St. BART station is right around the corner. It's a great, central location.

4 stars and not 5 due to the very slow valet parking! They did warn us that it would take 20-30 minutes to retrieve my car from valet. But it was more like 40 minutes during a not-busy time. Not a huge deal, but enough of an annoyance to knock off a star. Otherwise we loved the Mosser and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: I asked for a room with a nice view and we got a corner room on the 7th floor with 2 huge windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnolia83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Our hotel for the night was "The Mosser". Check in was pleasant and quick and we were soon in our room. Lonely Planet described the rooms as small with smaller bathrooms, I can not agree with this review. Our room was spacious and the bathroom adequate for our stay even having a full size bath.  While it may not be as new as a chain hotel, it was clean and well decorated. Noise from the next room was slightly annoying but did not disturb us during the night at all.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Crangelag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a great for someone who wants to be in the middle of the action in San Francisco without breaking the bank. Of course like every thing in life there are trade offs, but if you know what your priorities are and know the facts you can make a good choice. So having said that, here is what you get, a clean room, friendly staff, free internet, muffens and excellent coffee in the morning, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, good toiletries , a small flat screen TV and a great location ( 4th and market area, near the Powell BART station with easy access to SFO and OAK) this location is as central as you can get in San Francisco, all the big Hotels are all around you but you'll be paying at least half. This is what you don't get, your own bathroom and shower ( in the standard rooms, although they have some with a bathroom if you pay extra, otherwise the shared bathrooms are close by, clean and secure since you enter alone with your hotel key and you can lock it until you are done, I had no trouble getting to one when I needed it, the toilets and shower rooms are separate), a large room ( the room is about 4x4 meters give or take), a closet ( there are wall mounted hangers) and most of all no absolute silence ( which I like, but you can't get everything you want in life). I hope I gave you an idea of what to expect and you can now make the decision that best fits your way of thinking. I enjoyed my stay , and enjoyed the dollars I saved not going to the Marriott ( good hotel but much more expensive) which is right across the street. Happy travels and good luck.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Voyager81977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Get a room with a shower in and you should be fine. The rooms are small and you have no storage space. Ideal if you live out of a suitcase, but the place was clean and you even get a tube of toothpaste! What`s great about this hotel must be it`s location as it`s far enough away from the madness of Civic Center and ideal for all transportation. There`s a Diner just round the corner for breakfast, lunch and dinner. So go for it if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: After midnight it does get quiet and that`s from a room at the front, but hey come on, you are in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This hotel might be a acceptible hotel for a single use, but for family use it is the most HORRIBLE hotel I have ever stayed at. The read the reviews so I knew it was small and old but most terrible part is that the walls are paper thin. You can hear every word the people next door are talking. We had 2 children, 3 and 1 with us but when they cried out at nights, the people next door banged on the wall to shut up... I told about it to the front desk but the answer was, "We have no room to move you guys to". It is a complete child abuse and I will never stay in that hotel again.

Room Tip: Family travelers shouldn't stay in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suguru N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This hotel is within the downtown area but in a safe, clean part of the city. There is a doorman/valet service person right when you enter the building.but if you wanted to find a cheaper option for parking, there were a couple parking lots identified by the front desk staff within a block or two. Upon driving up to the hotel there was a parking garage immediately next to the hotel, which we used briefly while we checked into the hotel and got information about where to park our car overnight. The parking garage immediately next to the hotel was pretty expensive (I think around $50 for 24 hours) but they only charged $2 for 30 minutes so that was enough time to get the information we needed from the hotel, check in, and then move on to a cheaper lot.
The hotel itself was very clean and the rooms kind of reminded me of a dorm room - fairly small but you have all the amenities you need in one room. We purchased a room with a queen bed and a bathroom, though there were cheaper options for a room without a bathroom and then the bathrooms were located in the hall. I would probably do this next time, the bathrooms in the hall on our floor anyway had single washrooms and everything was clean and uniquely decorated.
Front desk staff were friendly, and they serve coffee and mini-muffins in the lobby in the morning too! An awesome hotel and a great price :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbokitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#79 of 229 in San Francisco
1,326 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 229 in San Francisco
3,909 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#122 of 229 in San Francisco
1,246 reviews
Music City Hotel
#121 of 229 in San Francisco
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mosser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mosser

Property: The Mosser
Address: 54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3193
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mosser 2.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the city's renowned Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center, both business and leisure travelers will find excellent shopping, dining, touring and nightlife within blocks from their hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Mosser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mosser Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing