We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel”
Review of The Mosser

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Mosser
Ranked #96 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super hotel”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I've been staying at the Mosser for over 10 years. Still top of my list. Great value and location. really liked the recent upgrades. Room size is perfect, easy access to internet, and close to all my needs in SF. Will stay here again. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marc9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    998
    407
    133
    89
See reviews for
113
861
513
481
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was our first time to San Fran and we had no clue where to stay. The Mosser was very central to everything and was a great room for the money. The room was very small and we opted for our own bathroom. I would recommend staying here and would visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snljwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

A friend and I met in San Francisco for a few days September 2013. We searched hi and lo for an affordable hotel and came accross The Mosser. I never shared facilities but decided to let desitny ride. I was impressed. Everyone staying at the hotel was thoughtful and respectful making a marvelous community. Our European style room was clean, quiet and had just what we needed. Location can't be beat for exploring the city - also a Farmer's Market and Whole Foods (and Target) nearby to further help with the travel budget. Njoy San Fran ~

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsTONI2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed at The Mosser for three nights while traveling across California. I must say for the price vs location you cant get better. I was traveling solo and found this the perfect base for exploring the city. Right near the BART station and union square. If you get up early you can head to Yuba Buena Gardens and catch some enlightening Tai Chi performed by the local old timers.
This is not a luxury hotel, but it was clean, convenient and good value. Definitely recommend for a solo traveler on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cormac83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Booked in for 3 days, stayed just a few hours and checked out, not a hotel, it's a hostel. Everything about this place is terrible. Smell in the room was vile, could only get a cup of tea in the morning between 6.30 and 10am. People were queuing on the landing for showers, not all rooms had bathrooms, no shelving or drawers for your tops or undies. No door on wardrobe, just a curtain, it was terrible. The area is not great either.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DublinCollette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillary M, Sales Manager at The Mosser, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear DublinCollette,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the hotel, it truly is the best way for us to improve our operation. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us here at the hotel. Our property is unique because we do have some economical rooms with a shared bath in the hallway for travelers on a budget- probably why you saw people in line for the shower. However, majority of all our rooms on property are deluxe rooms with private bathrooms ensuite. In the end, we want all of our guests to enjoy their time and I would love for you to be one of them, but we also understand that we are just not the right hotel for some. Thank you again for your business and hopefully you can give us another try in the future.

Sincerely,
Hillary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

If you are looking for a fancy hotel with lots of amenities, this isn't the place. But if you are interested in being close to Union Square and having access to public transportation, the Mosser fits the bill and is clean, with good service, comfortable beds, and even muffins and coffee/tea for breakfast. On Friday nights, there is wine tasting, which was a nice treat. Right next door is Annabelle's Bar and Bistro, which was a great place to visit for a nightcap, and seemed to have a good food menu as well, although we didn't try it out with all the other options in the area. You can walk to all the shopping you could need - everything from Macy's and Bloomingdale's to Walgreens and Target, Sephora, Uniqlo, etc. etc. We had four days to explore SF and it was easy to either walk or take the Muni bus from this hotel. It takes just a few minutes to walk to the BART station, which made getting to and from the airport a breeze. The first night we had trouble with noise from the room next door (the walls are thin, especially through adjoining doors), but when we explained our problem to the staff at the front desk, they immediately offered to switch us to a different room, which turned out to be nicer and definitely quieter. We had a private bathroom, which was really small and had no counter space and only one tiny sink, but it was clean and serviceable. The bedroom itself was petite as well, but that is to be expected in SF, and this is a two star hotel after all. All things considered, this hotel is a great value, and I really loved the location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nori81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I got a reservation for this place for a training session at another (more expensive) hotel in SF's SOMA. This hotel is across from the Marriott right off Market St., near the Sony Metreon, Yuba Buena Gardens and MOMA. I got a great deal ($160) off hotels(dot)com. Yes, the room is small, smaller than my kid's room, but I had a private bath. Shared bathrooms for a lot of the floor, but if you are picky you can get private bath and shower. IKEA furniture and cramped quarters were comfortable for a single person. Two people in the double would be pushing it, but hey, you are in SF, so how much time are you going to spend in the room?

There were only two real downsides, first the light. There is was a glass panel above my door since this is an old-style building, it has those. There are blinds over it, but the light leaking in from the hallway lit up the room at night. Add the overly bright alarm clock, wall controls for the fan, bright "VISIO" on the tiny television and then the blinds on the other windows and it made it difficult to sleep.

Second, the noise from the hallway was loud at times too since there are shared bathrooms nearby you have to contend with that noise also. The doors opened and closed loudly and the locks reverberated through the walls with little effort. Overall pretty quiet from the street, though I was on the 7th floor and my outside window faced the alley rather than the actual street. Still could hear street noise, just not so prominent.

So great location and great price, true it was a Weds. and Thurs. night stay, but still, The building is nice and tiny, staff was helpful and had good customer service. Would I stay there again? For business sure, with my family, maybe. Depends on the cost of the larger rooms.

Room Tip: It's an 8 floor hotel, so pick 8 or 7 to keep the street noise down, in fact, don't stay on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Music City Hotel
#123 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#127 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mosser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mosser

Property: The Mosser
Address: 54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3193
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mosser 2.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the city's renowned Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center, both business and leisure travelers will find excellent shopping, dining, touring and nightlife within blocks from their hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Mosser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mosser Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing