We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very neat,clean,comfortable, nice location, good price and friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mosser

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mosser
Ranked #95 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very neat,clean,comfortable, nice location, good price and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

The time first I stayed at this hotel was about a month ago.
The first time impression of the hotel was that although my room was small (because my room was a sigle room) blackets, pillars,floors, and other items in and outside the room including the corrior of my floor were very clean and neatly replenished.
The room was also comfortable and warm too.
The workers in front desk were also friendly and nice to customers.
I was once in a trouble with making transactions with my credit card when I tried to check in.
However, senior employees were eagle to help me out in a friendly manner for me to get through the problem.
The location itself is non-comparable to any other hotels near this area.
Right beside the hotel there is powell station which cuts through the very center of the downtown of San Francisco.

Lastly, the fees are relatively cheaper than other hotels with same level.
You can sometimes book a nice single room with $65 in booking.com for example.

Room Tip: use a hotel booking website to find out as best price as you can to enjoy much bigger value of your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Young Jun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    980
    400
    134
    88
See reviews for
110
847
509
478
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

The Mosser was a treat within a treat, on my first visit to San Francisco: homey and cozy, yet elegant; modern in outlook (young, friendly staff) but comfortingly and reassuringly old in detail (the elevator! the stairs! the woodwork!); conveniently near busy locations and transportation and still plenty quiet (you can open the double-paned windows if you want a little urban atmosphere); a perfect place to rest easy after walking all day. Especially nice surprises were the morning coffee and muffins and newspaper, and the Friday-evening wine, and the waffle robe, which, alas, I didn't even use. The supremely comfortable bed in my sixth-floor room got harder to leave every morning; there was excellent lighting, natural and artificial; the bathroom and shower (I went the cheaper, shared route; the room had its own cute little sink and mirror) were always spotless. The staff was immediately helpful when I had a problem with the (free) Wi-Fi, and always gracious and welcoming. As a guest, I was offered discounted use of the gym at the too-big chain across the street, but I preferred to enjoy the comfort of my room and the view of the mural out the window and the prospect of the next day's wanderings. I was impressed with the "green" reminders. A very civilized hotel, in a very civilized city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I've stayed several times here and it's always been a pleasant experience. The rooms are very pretty and I love the coziness. The location is so convenient, close to movies, restaurants and Bart. For the price you can't beat it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah94110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

This is always my first choice in San Francisco. Perfect location, great price, comfortable and cozy rooms, and friendly staff! I've stayed there several times and am always satisfied! Definitely going back! (I also recommend the adjacent restaurant, Annabelle's.)

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights in November. The hotel is conveniently located near Union Square, the Bart/Muni, the Westfield Mall, and the Yerba Buena Gardens. As a solo female traveler, I never felt unsafe walking around the area at night. I got a twin room on the 7th floor facing the exit to a parking garage. The windows are double-paned and noise was not an issue for me. However, there is no AC (only a fan), so you might need to keep the windows open during the warmer months. One downside is that there is only one elevator so I often had to use the stairs (7 flights!). My room was decently sized and there was a sink in the room, which was convenient. The shared toilet (not recommended if you’re claustrophobic!) and shower were always clean and vacant when I needed to use them. The breakfast each morning consisted of coffee and muffins, which was sufficient to start off my day. The front desk staff and doormen were always friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ceci_1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turlock, california, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The Mosser is great - a classic San Francisco building that has been remodeled into a hip boutique hotel. Great location in central SF, close to everything whether you're shopping in Union Square or running to meetings downtown. I also love the social mission of the hotel as the family that owns it is a big supporter of sustainability in the Philippines. I also love that you can reserve cheaper rooms with shared baths if you need to go the economic route.

Room Tip: If you need to save $$$, check out the smaller rooms with shared baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turdlocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I liked that the hotel was located close to Union Square but on the south side of Market Street so it was within walking distance to AT&T Park. The hotel rooms have a modern feel despite being inside an obviously older building. I felt that the bathrooms and beds were clean. The breakfast was not much to speak of - just muffins and coffee. I never heard any street noise and our room faced 4th street.

Beware, the SOMA area is not the best part of town. This particular street is fine but if you wander 2 blocks over you are risking your safety. We wanted to try a local breakfast hot spot, Dottie's True Blue Cafe (very delicious). You cross into rough turf and I'm fairly certain we saw a drug purchase.

Room Tip: No problem sleeping in the room that faced 4th street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrhinomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,015 reviews
Music City Hotel
#126 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#128 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#83 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mosser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mosser

Property: The Mosser
Address: 54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3193
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mosser 2.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the city's renowned Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center, both business and leisure travelers will find excellent shopping, dining, touring and nightlife within blocks from their hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Mosser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mosser Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing