We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, inexpensive, and elegant”
Review of The Mosser

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mosser
Ranked #88 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I booked The Mosser because it was the least expensive lodging with good reviews close to the Moscone Centre. If you look (or ask) single room rates can be significantly lower than $150. For that price in SF I was expecting a dump, especially considering the two star rating. Instead, you get a tiny but comfortable room in an elegant setting two blocks from the convention centre. Clean, free breakfast, polite staff, free wifi; that's all I need. Be advised, shared bathrooms in the hall, but a sink and amenities are in the rooms. The hotel is giving me a discount for posting a positive review. Nonetheless, my review is honest. I just cancelled a different hotel for tomorrow just to stay here again!

Room Tip: I got a terrific rate ($100) on trivago.com.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Slepkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

742 - 748 of 2,389 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

Was a little hesitant about what to expect but pleasantly surprised. My mother stayed here alone and was happy with the room. It was clean, comfortable and in a good location to see many of the city attractions. Downside, there were some homeless people in the area who were a bit aggressive. BART station very close made an easy trip to the airport.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank originalmadshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Probably the best location if it's your first trip to SF and you want to be in the middle of everything. The hotel is in 5 min walk from Union Square, 3 min to BART and Muni. All the major shops, restaurants and many city attractions are in this area.
My wife and I stayed couple nights in a room with queen bed facing the 4th street. The room was very clean and quite.
The staff was very polite and attentive. They serve light breakfast in the lobby,which is free.
I'm glad that we stayed there and highly recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikhail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I stayed at The Mosser while attending the Fancy Food Show at the Moscone Center and was initially assigned a room at the 2nd floor. However, I requested to be moved to a different room as it was too noisy and could not sleep. The manager at that time, Jesse immediately accommodated and found me a room at a higher floor on the 4th floor and another staff member Eric showed me the room and when i said it was ok, helped me move. Jesse then made arrangements for shuttle service & recommended a good restaurant for dinner. I'd go back because of the excellent location, cleanliness and courteousness of the staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ablanc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Honestly, the shared bath for our room didn't bother me. Being there for business, having a private bath wasn't an issue. It was clean and well kept, although very small. My disappointment was in the room, which looked less like the rooms shown on the website. It was VERY small, I would estimate less than 80 square feet and very cramped for two people. Having booked my room 6 months in advance, I was surprised to have received such a small room. Additionally, there was no view, at all. Approximately three feet outside our window was a cement wall that blocked most daylight.

The noise level was also louder than I expected, being able to hear even general conversations in rooms.

As for the featured restaurant Annabelle's, I was equally disappointed. While very quaint in atmosphere and should compliment the hotel, I found their service lacking and unpersonable.

Finally, I am five calls into the hotel to correct an overcharge to my credit card and it is still unresolved.

To find a highlight, their Friday wine tasting was a nice touch as was their morning coffee and pastries. I just wish these highlights could have carried over into the rest of the stay.

Room Tip: Request a room with a bay window. The few extra square feet helps. They also seemed to be the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillary M, Sales Manager at The Mosser, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Jeff B.,
Thank you for your honest feedback- as an independent family-owned property, we are always looking for ways to improve our guest’s stays – We’re glad you appreciated the light breakfast & wine hour. Apologies that we did not quite meet your expectations – we are always open to suggestions so that we can improve our operation here at the Mosser Hotel. This property was built in 1913 and we certainly have some very value oriented rooms that are smaller, which is the room you stayed in. However we do have plenty of rooms that offer far more space for those that would like size above lowest price. Our larger rooms do face the 4th street side and we strive to accommodate all special requests. For guests who are light sleepers, we do have complimentary ear plugs at the front desk. I do wish that I had the opportunity to speak directly with you while you were here as I am confident that the issues you had could have been rectified immediately so that your experience would have been as good as so many before you. Thanks again for your business and hopefully you can give us another try in the future.

Sincerely,
Hillary M.
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is the 2nd year that I have stayed at The Mosser while attending a conference at the Moscone Center. I really enjoy the Victorian charm of this hotel. It is very clean, the bed is comfy, and it is a very easy walk to the center, as well as lots of shopping and restaurants!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kit k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I would say that this is a great place if you are just looking for a nice, clean room in a good location at a low cost, but the problem is it's not low-cost. Not at all. You're basically paying luxury hotel fees to stay at what is essentially an adult youth-hostel.

I insisted on having my own bathroom (that's where I draw the line), so that might have contributed at least somewhat to the cost. But the bathroom was like what you get on cruise ships with everything scrunched together in a tiny space. The sink is tiny and has an overhang directly above it, so that when you try to shave you can't put your face directly over it and the water just gets all over the floor.

Listen, I am not usually that crazy picky. I think if you are spending a lot of time in your hotel room when you are visiting San Francisco, there's something wrong with you. It was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the staff was friendly (but isn't it pretty much everywhere?). But this hotel is WAY overpriced for what you get. There are better places to stay in San Fran for much less money. You can do better.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank travelingERdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#129 of 230 in San Francisco
1,304 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#131 of 230 in San Francisco
1,072 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#91 of 230 in San Francisco
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vertigo
#67 of 230 in San Francisco
1,433 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#74 of 230 in San Francisco
771 reviews
Music City Hotel
#116 of 230 in San Francisco
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mosser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mosser

Address: 54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3193
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £99 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mosser 2.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the city's renowned Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center, both business and leisure travelers will find excellent shopping, dining, touring and nightlife within blocks from their hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Mosser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mosser Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing