We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mosser

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mosser
Ranked #96 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I enjoyed my stay here it's clean and the staff very friendly. I will definitely come and stay here again. It's close to Walgreens, restaurants, Imax, Cal Train, Moscone Center. There are no bums on the front of the hotel. Very very safe day or night!!!! Noise minimal. They even have bathrobes and that for me is a plus.

Room Tip: The bed very comfortable, I had a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Westie313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillary M, Sales Manager at The Mosser, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Westie313,
thank you for staying with us and for your appreciated recommendation! I’m very happy to hear you enjoyed the location of our hotel- I completely agree that our location is very central to majority of all the shopping in downtown and your key points of interest. Our location is good for quick walks to some of the best up restaurants and bars and public transportation is easily accessible from our hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and I look forward to you staying with us in the future!

Many thanks,
Hillary M.
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    991
    404
    134
    89
See reviews for
111
856
510
481
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great Hotel just off Market St and next to Union Square. Very clean and spacious room&Bathroom, nice staff and free coffee & muffins in the mornings! (always a plus).

Ideal for business trips (my case), but I'd also recommend it for friends, solo and couples, as it has anything you can ask for in a city hotel.

Also, WIFI worked perfectly during the 4 days I was there, which it's not always the case in other hotels.

I'll definitely come back to the Mosser if back to San Francisco, and I'll recommend it to everyone

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ipico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillary M, Sales Manager at The Mosser, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hello Ipico,
thank you for your glowing review! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here at the Mosser Hotel. We do pride ourselves in our clean rooms and our excellent location near the main points of attraction in the Downtown SF area. I'm very pleased that you liked our complimentary coffee, tea, and muffins-- our restaurant bakes the muffins daily! Please feel free to reach out to me if you need to check availability for future dates-- I'm here to help. Thanks again for the recommendation and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Regards,
Hillary M.
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Mosser for a week! Clean, friendly staff and great location! It's a smaller hotel with coffee & muffins served in the lobby from 6am - 10am. The hotel is an older well maintain boutique type hotel without the high cost. We were in town for a wedding and chose not to stay at the pricier hotel (right around the corner) with others in for the event. There were many complaints about the $$$ hotel so were very glad we stayed at The Mosser. The room was small and we opted for a private bathroom & shower. There was built-in hair dryer and you could request extra towels (recommend you do this when you check in). Room was quiet whit the window closed and since it is cooler in San Francisco you did not need to have them opened at night. There is only one elevator so it is shared with housekeeping... the stairs are fine if you're in a hurry. We took the BART from and to the airport! The Powell St station is right around the block so no hassle from and to airport.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Cbeefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillary M, Sales Manager at The Mosser, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hi Cbeefoodie,
thank you so much for your awesome review! I'm so happy to hear that you really liked your recent stay with us. Our hotel is conveniently located near all the main points of attraction in the downtown SF area--- so glad you loved our location. I'm also happy that you noticed how quiet our rooms are when the windows are closed-- we have double paned windows in each room to help ensure a good night's rest. Thanks again for your business and we hope you stay with us sooner better than later!

Sincerely,
Hillary M.
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We are a family of 6. The single rooms are so small, we ended up booking 1 queen size bed and 1 suite for the kids. Specifically asked for them to be on the same floor -- ended up on opposite ends of the hotel (3rd floor & 8th)

The queen room was ok, barely.

The suite wasn't clean -- toiletries were used, snacks left in the bedside drawers, sheets weren't changed and the staff was difficult when I called down to ask for replacements.

We were in town for a family event, with many other members of my family staying the same weekend.Next day lunch conversations included stories of the weird personalities that each of us came across in the hallways, elevators and shared bathrooms. Let's just say ... not exactly a family friendly environment.

We chose this hotel for it's location and room accommodations. But it was just an overpriced youth hostile - with shared bathrooms, young hipster crowd with in-public offers of sex & drugs. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have private baths, while others only get access to a public bathroom in your hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne O, Director of Sales at The Mosser, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for the comments. We encourage our guests to write us a review so we could improve our services. The Mosser Hotel is a historic type of property built in 1913 located right in the heart of downtown San Francisco. We maintained the Victorian look from the outside and completely renovated the rooms from the inside. We have quaint rooms with well-appointed and custom-made furniture. We have a few economical rooms with shared bath room. The Front desk usually detects upon check in if a guest is suspicious. In any place you go, if we see anything unusual or suspicious we usually report it. Did you report the sex and drug incident to the Front Desk ? It would help us investigate the incident immediately.
As for the suite, we usually have an inspector who checks all the rooms that were cleaned for every floor. I will report this to my housekeeping and Front desk supervisors so as to avoid this incident in the future.
The Mosser Hotel is a favorite property for corporate accounts and conventioneers because of our location. We are only one block away from the Moscone Convention Center. This place is very safe.
Thank you for staying at the Mosser Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel is in a fantastic location in the heart of San Francisco. We really enjoyed our stay. While the rooms are quite small, they fit the bill for the price you pay! Anything else in this area is more than double what you will pay at the Mosser. The room, shared bathroom & showers were impeccably clean and I would highly recommend staying here. It is easy to get to from SFO (BART to Powell station then a 2 minute walk around the corner). MUNI transit is equally easy to find around the hotel. Even the cable cars are within a 5 minute walk!
Because you're in the heart of the city be prepared to deal with city sounds, it is a bit noisy at night but nothing intolerable.
The coffee & muffins weren't bad, a good start before a nice breakfast elsewhere.

Room Tip: Take note of "SHARED BATHROOM" classifications!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Have stayed here many times for Salesforce. Very convenient and AnnaBells restaurant is great!

Too many times I have seen people at the counter not knowing the room they reserved had a shared bath. Make sure you confirm that.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ted T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillary M, Sales Manager at The Mosser, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Ted T.,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your thoughts. We thank you for your continued business and for your recommendation. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel as well as our restaurant, Annabelle's Bar & Bistro! Feel free to contact me directly if you need me to check availability for any future dates--- hope to see you stay with us again sooner than later.

Best regards,
Hillary M.
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I liked this hotel. It's old and very European with the shared toilets and all. I was lucky enough to book a room with a private bathroom. The room was cozy and perfect for one. It was pretty loud but acceptable since it's located in the heart of Union Square area. Great shopping nearby too!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne O, Director of Sales at The Mosser, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you so much for staying at the Mosser Hotel and giving us a nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Music City Hotel
#124 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#127 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mosser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mosser

Property: The Mosser
Address: 54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3193
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mosser 2.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the city's renowned Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center, both business and leisure travelers will find excellent shopping, dining, touring and nightlife within blocks from their hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mosser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mosser Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing