We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mosser

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mosser
Ranked #96 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Decent...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel was only ok... since we visited during during peak tourist season the hotel was a bit pricey for what we got. The room was very small, but we knew this when we booked, however space was not used efficiently for instance we could not put our suitcases under the bed. There was a bit of a musty smell to the room as well. The room was clean and the location was good, very accessible for public transportation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayjayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    991
    404
    134
    89
See reviews for
111
856
510
481
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. Hotel is in a good location, we walked to bars, restaurants etc.
Room was small but all we needed and clean.
Beds were terrible, both singles had big dips in them, sore backs in the morning.
Would stay here again and maybe expect to ask for a better bed, just couldnt be bothered this time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraser T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel is a smaller hotel in the perfect location. They had a light continental breakfast. Wine and champagne and snacks one night. We loved this hotel. The rooms are small but very clean. Some rooms have shared restrooms. We got a room with a restroom and we were very pleased. The restaurant attached was also great. If you do not mind a small hotel this one is ideal. We loved it and we are quite picky.

Room Tip: Get a room with a Bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChandraThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here for three nights. Great value deal and excellent location- very central. The room was very small but sufficient and bed was very comfortable. We had opted for shared bathrooms and this worked out very well- never had to wait for either a shower or bathroom. Coffee and muffins are provided in the lobby for breakfast and the staff are excellent - friendly , helpful and attentive but not intrusive. I will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Butlerisobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel is very central to Union Square and a really good price compared to other hotels in the same area. The rooms are small but really nice and there are lovely pastries and coffee in reception every morning. It was very quiet and good free wifi which i needed to check out all my wedding pictures a couple of days after getting married

I would definitely recommend it!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoJo_156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Not in the greatest part of town if you don't know what streets to avoid (research the tenderloin and skip those streets). The hotel was hipster and the rooms were small but the staff was nice. A bit on the pricey side for what you get. Check Groupon and you may get a break.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Mosser is a great find in San Francisco. The location is perfect, especially if you are attending an event at Moscone. It is old, but charming. The rooms are small but modern and clean. The staff is helpful and the price is right! We had a top floor front corner room with a bath which wasn't too noisey. it had big windows and was 2/3 the price of the Kimpton Hotel next door. There is a nice Bistro on the ground floor, Annabelles, and is convenient to the drug store, conveniences and even a hardware store. Amazing.

Room Tip: Get a corner room for view and cross ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Music City Hotel
#123 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#127 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mosser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mosser

Property: The Mosser
Address: 54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3193
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mosser 2.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the city's renowned Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center, both business and leisure travelers will find excellent shopping, dining, touring and nightlife within blocks from their hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mosser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mosser Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing