We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of pluses”
Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Ranked #130 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Lots of pluses”
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

We had an overnight stay in SF on our trip to Mexico. I chose Nob Hill Motor Inn for several reasons... Suites to accommodate a family of six, great location to downtown, on bus route etc, free parking - it didn't disappoint!
The two ladies that we dealt with at the front desk (check-in, check-out and all the annoying tourist questions in between) were sweethearts and so very helpful.
Our suite was large and spacious - a bed in the living area, fridge, microwave, couch (sofa bed maybe), table and chairs, full bathroom and then two beds in the bedroom. Everything was clean.
My only complaint, or maybe suggestion, would be the morning coffee :) Maybe get a keurig coffee maker or something cuz instant coffee and lukewarm water doesn't quite jive! All in all - not a biggie!
Thanks for the great hospitality :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mommalou4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    315
    103
    36
    39
See reviews for
162
247
31
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is the second time I stay at this hotel. It has been renovated since my last visit in 2007.

Pros: Great location. Withing walking distance to many sights and restaurants.
Reasonable prices during the weekdays.
Clean and tidy rooms. Well maintained.
Parking included.
Large flat screen TV.
Friendly staff.

Cons:
Can be a bit noisy, depending on the room location. Often hear conversations in the walkways and doors slamming.
I found that prices go up substantially on the weekends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MP4411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We booked one of their family suites for 6 people, not sure what to expect but pleasently surprised upon arrival. We couldnt check in until 2pm but the front desk were happy to look after our bags so we could being exploring San Francisco!
After seeing the room it was a nice size, first room had a double bed with a sofa bed and there was a seperate bedroom with 2 other doubles in it. The bathroom was large with a pretty big shower and both rooms had a flat screen TV in with cable.
The hotel had wifi and a lift up to the third (top) floor.

The front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we knowledgeable about things to do and see in the city, they suggested a hop on-hop off tour as best way to see San Francisco.

The location is good and not far from Lombard street.

The rooms were clean and there was a coffee maker and a fridge in the room.

All in all completely perfect for 3 days in San Francisco, I would reccomend it and stay there again.

the room is perfect for familys or groups of friends, good for young people and old and extremely affordable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dustiestjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Great location, a short walk to the Hyde cable car. 10 minutes walk to Chinatown, 30 minutes walk (downhill) to the Alcatraz ferry. Large clean rooms, about 50% larger than more expensive places. Nice hot high pressure shower. Breakfast is simple, but ample. The staff couldn't be any more friendly and helpful. Parking is free, the spaces are very tight but it is manageable. It is in a busy area of town, so not ultra quiet at night, but we slept well for each of the 3 nights we stayed. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Once again thanks to Tripadvisor reviewers we were able to find a good night's sleep right in the city. Huge clean smelling room on second floor with couch,table,bar sink and fridge, wifi, Large bath with sparkling clean glass doors (I know how hard that is) . Breakfast was juice and instant coffee or cocoa with packaged pastries. Pleasant and helpful staff. Although check out was at 11 they offered to let us leave our car for free until 3pm.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WATERLOGGEDinWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester, england
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

The location is great for guests wanting to see the city on public transport. The room we had was large, well equipped and spotless. Everything worked fine. The staff were friendly and helpful. All in all this hotel is great value in a city known for its pricey hotels. The free parking is priceless,. I'm trying to think of something negative to say and all I can come up with is the aircon is noisy, working but noisy. Oh yes, and there's no cheap liquor stores close by.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kwab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Very central and good quality for money motel. Freeparking is superuseful in a city like San Francisco. Room was clean and spacious and we got upgraded to a 20$ more expansive room. Breakfast was OK, very simple but filling with hot drinks, fruit and pastries. We definetely recommend it.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Giuditta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#172 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#90 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#78 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#104 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#121 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#143 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nob Hill Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nob Hill Motor Inn

Property: Nob Hill Motor Inn
Address: 1630 Pacific Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109-2518
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Nob Hill Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nob Hill Motor Inn is a wonderful hotel in the trendy and popular Nob Hill neighborhood of San Francisco. Our hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco, within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf, the Cable Cars, "Crookedest Street," Chinatown, and a number of fine restaurants and shops. FREE PARKING is available for all of our guests. Each room is spacious, newly renovated and appointed with convenient amenities such as mini-refrigerator and microwave, cable TV with HBO, and complimentary in-room coffee. All of our rooms and hallways are 100% non-smoking.The Nob Hill Motor Inn's newly renovated rooms include: FREE covered parking, 2 room family suites available, In-room microwave and fridge, FREE wireless Internet, FREE continental breakfast, 100% non-smoking rooms, Elevator access to all floors, Cable TV with HBO, Direct dial phones with dataport, Complimentary in-room coffee, Free tour pickup, Complimentary coffee, tea, juice and hot chocolate served all day in our lobby. The Nob Hill Motor Inn is an award winning member of AAA and the San Francisco Convention and Visitor's Bureau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Nob Hill Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nob Hill Motor Hotel San Francisco
Nob Hill Motel
Nob Hill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing