We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Ok, but the reception staff were great and vey helpful”
Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Ranked #137 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Then room was ok, could probably do with a refresh, but the room was clean. Great location, and good to have free car parking. Whilst the room was quite basic, the room rate was high, however it was inline with San fransisco.prices. A good and seemed safe location.
The reception staff were very helpful, and their local knowledge really helped.
Despite being in a fairly busy road, it was quiet at night.
Visit Alcatraz, it was fantastic.
Avoid Fishermans Wharf it was tacky not very pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

We decided to book 3 nights at this hotel. Because the good position - within walking distance from Union Square and Market Street, the parking place and the price. We were disappointed on what we found there. Old and small room, big enough for only one bed. The smell in the room was awful, everytime we returned we were hit by this smell. The bed was also very old and uncomfortable. In the room price was also a breakfast included, not worth trying, so we've decided to have a normal breakfast at one of the coffee shops in this nice area. Which are plenty. Anyway if we decide to visit again San Francisco we will not book again this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank lizy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

While not new and showing some signs of aging, my family loved the place. Great location to walk to local business plus walk to the Piers if you are ready for the hills. The Hotel has free parking, very tight spaces but I was able to get a mini van in, which helps a lot if you would rather drive to places.
The temp in the room is very easy to adjust. And the whole area was quite nice.
The only issue was the breakfast was limited in choices but you can get items from local stores and place in the refg if you would rather.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I arrived after booking through Booking.com to find there were no rooms available, they moved us to their sister hotel the Inn on Broadway which would be described as dubious at best. Room had a strange pungent smell and what looked liked blood on the carpet. I would avoid the Nob Hill Hotels if you want a fair standard of room, there are far better ones at cheaper rates.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We spent two nights in this inn before flying back home. Receptionist did all he could to meet our request: a spacious room on the top floor, far from the street. Beds were excellent, room was clean, WIFI worked fine. Continental breakfast is miserable but we knew it having stayed here before. This is not the main point for us. We enjoy the central location, the parking and friendly staff.

Would stay again but still recommend they make efforts to offer decent breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tannay53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Upon arrival we were advised that they had not received our 'booking.com' booking and were full. We were referred to a sister hotel, Inn on Broadway and, on arrival at that property the check-in clerk helpfully advised that "We always take the over-bookings for Nob Hill Motor Inn". Avoid if you can!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Cristin0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We've stayed at the Colombus Motor Inn several times, amd have really liked it. they were full, so we tried the Nob Hill. The woman at the desk said our requested "quiet room" wasn't ready (at 4:00), and gave us a room on the street, with major constuction going on. Loud jackhammering at all hours. The room had a nasty smell, and there was very little hot water.
We were told there was breakfast in the morning, so we went down for coffee. There was a thermos of tepid water and INSTANT COFFEE GRANULES! Unbelievable, and in San Francisco.
This place is grim. Stay away!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yachtchefKeyLargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#125 of 230 in San Francisco
857 reviews
Phoenix Hotel SF
#30 of 230 in San Francisco
1,032 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#100 of 230 in San Francisco
851 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#114 of 230 in San Francisco
780 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#142 of 230 in San Francisco
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nob Hill Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nob Hill Motor Inn

Address: 1630 Pacific Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109-2518
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £72 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nob Hill Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nob Hill Motor Inn is a wonderful hotel in the trendy and popular Nob Hill neighborhood of San Francisco. Our hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco, within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf, the Cable Cars, "Crookedest Street," Chinatown, and a number of fine restaurants and shops. FREE PARKING is available for all of our guests. Each room is spacious, newly renovated and appointed with convenient amenities such as mini-refrigerator and microwave, cable TV with HBO, and complimentary in-room coffee. All of our rooms and hallways are 100% non-smoking.The Nob Hill Motor Inn's newly renovated rooms include: FREE covered parking, 2 room family suites available, In-room microwave and fridge, FREE wireless Internet, FREE continental breakfast, 100% non-smoking rooms, Elevator access to all floors, Cable TV with HBO, Direct dial phones with dataport, Complimentary in-room coffee, Free tour pickup, Complimentary coffee, tea, juice and hot chocolate served all day in our lobby. The Nob Hill Motor Inn is an award winning member of AAA and the San Francisco Convention and Visitor's Bureau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nob Hill Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nob Hill Motor Hotel San Francisco
Nob Hill Motel
Nob Hill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing