We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien San Francisco
Ranked #49 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Situated in the Financial District is Le Meridien. My stay was very relaxing as it is quiet over the weekend. The location is walking distance to China Town, CVS, Starbucks -- you name it. The rooms decor is modern and classy and the lobby area is lively from the lounge. The room was very clean upon arrival and the view of the bay was really nice, even from the 8th floor. My only gripe was the charge I got for using the wine bottle opener that got brought up by hotel staff and not taken from the mini bar. Other than that, everything from check-in to check-out was pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    881
    769
    229
    64
    55
See reviews for
298
778
149
513
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
336 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012 via mobile

Great location that's walking distance from downtown, Chinatown, Ferry Bldg and a short mini ride from union square. Rooms are fully updated and spacious. Only concern is hotel is under major renovation so entire lobby at street level is not accessible and lots of construction activity in early morning, so not conducive to light sleepers. Hotel will be great once renovation is done but for now, maybe try the Hyatt instead.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luvtosafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

First impression not helped by lobby under renovation which meant detour to temporary second floor check in. Second impression was great - upgrade to some sort of suite. All impressions thereafter were quite negative. Shower was woefully under-powered, decoration was tired and dated. But the bedroom! There was essentially no room between the sides of the bed and either wall. The only comfortable route was to clamber over the bed. And the gym was closed for renovation. Just not up to scratch for a hotel of this price

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D j R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Our room was recently renovated and was great. The view was breathtaking!! We were driving, but every time we needed a taxi the doorman was very helpful. The room service was not very good, because there wasn't many options.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raphaela_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I don´t normally stay at Le Meridien hotels but my company booked me here by accident. First, I was disappointed at the lack of bell service upon arrival at the hotel. I´d just arrived from Madrid so was tired and did not feel like lugging my own luggage which is what happened. The reception staff were friendly and prompt, and the concierge was really helpful in giving me some tips. The room was a disappointment. So I am used to being an SPG and a Marriott platinum member so usually get upgrades, but even basic rooms at these hotels were better than this. It just didn´t cut it. Overall the stay was ok. However all my subsequent San Francisco stays are now at the Westin St Francis which is the standard I expect, but admittedly much more expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kkehs1, General Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
We apologize the hotel did not meet your expectations. Le Meridien standard guest rooms are 416 square feet which is above the size of standard hotel rooms in San Francisco. The majority of Starwood Platnum upgrades are honored; however, there are a handful of dates were this is not achievable or dependent upon the guests arrival time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Booked the hotel via priceline and was positively surprised! The room I got was recently renovated and I was very happy with it - great interieur, clean, good size. Also, the location is great - a short walk to Market Street, Ferry Building and to Embarcadero BART station (with direct access to the airport).
Staff was very friendly and helpful, concierge services helped me out with bike rental even before I arrived.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swissglobaltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

This is not like the other Le Meridien hotels around the world. I was very disappointed with the overall appearance and service at this one, as it was not up to par with the others. Pros - The hotel is in an OK location, there isn't too much close by but the views from the top floors looking over the bay are very nice and the water and Ferry Building 1 are just a short walk away. Also, the room service was great, we had a late dinner one night and an early breakfast before a race and both meals were wonderful! Cons - The appearance of the hotel was very sad... every time I stepped into the lobby area I couldn't help but notice the huge stains on their carpet/rugs, and there were a ton of them! It just kind of leaves a first impression that you will not forget :( The rooms were average and clean but very dated compared to other Le Meridien hotels. The doormen were also disappointing. No cab line here either, during the beginning of our stay we would wait for them to hail a cab, but after waiting well over 5 minutes each time we always ended up walking to the nearest intersection and quickly finding a cab ourselves. Overall, I wouldn't stay at this Le Meridien again, I feel duped by the name since this hotel is not even close to the standards of their other hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, the executive suites have a view of the bay (Not the GG bridge) - very prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KNegrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kkehs1, General Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Please know Le Meridien is currently undergoing a complete lobby restyling and will be revealed in January. The first phase of the restyling included all the meeting space as well as Park Grill Restaurant were revealed in mid November. We hope you visit Le Meridien should your future travel bring you to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#57 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,198 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Financial District
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien San Francisco

Property: Le Meridien San Francisco
Address: 333 Battery St, San Francisco, CA 94111-3230
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 100% nonsmoking downtown luxury hotel offering clean, sophisticated style blending Italian marble, Australian lace wood, and modern decor. Elegant and simple in atmosphere, Le Meridien is conveniently located downtown near the Ferry Building Farmer's Market, Chinatown, North Beach, and Union Square. 360 guestrooms include 89 suites offering both city and bay views. Hotel offers 24 hour in-room dining, a restaurant and bar, complimentary exercise facility, and limited town car service. All guestrooms offer sumptuous duvets, CD players, in-room safes, High-speed Internet access, cordless phones, minibars, and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Meridien San Francisco
San Francisco Le Meridien
Park Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing