We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Meridien San Francisco
Ranked #48 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Le Meridien San Francisco and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our room was located on the 13th floor with a partial Bay view. The Front Desk staff was friendly and efficient.

The room was modern and spacious and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and clean and I appreciated having the table in the bathroom for extra shelf space. The shower head was adjustable with good water pressure and enough hot water. The only thing I didn't like were the cheap bath towels. For a deluxe hotel, they really need to upgrade the bath towels!

We like the location of this Le Meridien in the Financial District. It is within walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown, North Beach, and the Ferry Building. Also, the Embarcadero Center is across the street with various restaurants and a Landmark movie theatre. I also liked the speed of the hotel's elevators. We never had to wait more than a few seconds.

The Housekeeping staff was very efficient and we appreciated coming back to a nice clean room and finding everything restocked.

All of the staff members were friendly and helpful. We would definitely return to this Le Meridien the next time we visit San Francisco.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SgtBuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandyWLSF, Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for the your review about your stay. We are happy you liked your stay and glad the location was convenient for you. Thanks for letting us know about the towel quality. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    762
    225
    63
    52
See reviews for
293
771
147
500
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irricana, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I took my wife to San Francisco for Valentines Day this year to escape the Canadian snow. We arrived late at the hotel and the young man checking us in was in the middle of a dispute with a colleague. Once they were finished arguing I was helped, sort of. As a Platinum SPG member I see a lot of hotels and the check-in process sets the tone for the entire trip. No personal communication, no recognition of status, did not even tell us where the elevator was located. Gruff dismissal is a disappointing way to start the stay.
The rooms were outdated and disappointing when compared to the pictures on the SPG site, I used my Suite Night Awards to upgrade to a Luxury Suite on the 18th floor. The room felt old with yellowing smoke detectors and the bathroom had a continual stench of mold which resembled body odor. The beds were OK.
Saturday morning had us woken up at 7am by union protestors who I was told by the front desk staff, do this quite often. The police were called but they seemed to be protesting within their rights, the hotel staff had good humor about it and I was glad to be high above ground level or it would have been unbearable.
The lobby and restaurant were most modern and updated parts of the hotel, breakfast was very expensive but tasty.
All in all the stay was good, it was close to everything and served its purpose. Nothing spectacular and I would likely try somewhere else next time that doesn't have a 7am brotherly love wake up call.

Room Tip: You will want to be as high as possible to be as far away from the union protestors as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank metta_bhavana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandyWLSF, Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We do find it very helpful.

I am sorry about your first interaction with our associates. Also, please accept our apology about your SPG status. These details will be part of ongoing training sessions. Putting the guest first is a priority for us and your review helps us improve.

Thanks for letting us know about the smoke detectors and the musty spell. We can address this with the team as well. We apologize for being woken up early in the morning. We don't know when the union will arrive and we understand the inconvenience this would cause you.

Thank you for staying with us and please accept my apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed myself.

Pros

Sleek rooms: the logo headboards are pretty.
Sparkling clean bathrooms and bathtubs: I never take baths in hotels because I find them disgusting, but I did here.
Great housekeeping: When I put a "do not disturb sign" on my door, housekeeping called to ask when they could come in to clean. This is not typically done by 4-star hotel staff, and I thought it was very good service.
Quiet: I was placed in a room right by the elevators, and never had an issue with noise.
Great laundry services.

Cons

Expensive parking
Internet fee
No robe in the hotel room

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank captaincook2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandyWLSF, Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for the 5 star review. We are happy that you found the room so clean and enjoyed the housekeeping service. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Plunked down in the boring Financial District this semi-hipster hotel was clean, very convenient, very quiet, comfortable and lovely. Would definitely stay again. We did a groupon for the first time ever and it really paid off. We paid under $200 - stayed one night, left to drive thru Big Sur for 3 nights (picked up a car at Budget located at Hyatt just 3 blocks away - SUPER convenient and safe!) then came back for 3 nights at Le Meridien. We were worried it would be too quiet, boring of an area but it is centrally located. Was given an upgrade both visits. Easy check in and check out. Views from room were beautiful - to Bay Bridge and beyond. Mixed clientele - hipster, young and old like us. Elevators were a little slow/sketchy and bathroom door was weird, heavy to close and noisy but other than that this place was a wonderful place to come home to. Walking distance to the BART (easy airport commute), MUNI, and the awful tourtisty Fisherman's Wharf area. We walked home from Chinatown and North Beach neighborhoods on different nights. We could have walked to Union Square - but glad we didn't - that's just an icky shopping area. First time at a Meridien and will definitely consider going back. Hard to believe it was under $200 in a major city. We LOVED San Francisco!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1015...superior king bed. This was a free upgrade. Great view of bay bridge and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReallyANewYorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandyWLSF, Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank your for the review about your recent stay. I am happy you enjoyed it so much and that you found the location so useful. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

As frequent business travelers, we have previously enjoyed Le Meridien and Starwood properties, but the professionalism and service during our latest Friday night stay at Le Meridien San Francisco were grossly below expectations.

Le Meridien has been the the target of organized labor protests that severely affect guests. The management is being deceptive to guests by not disclosing this. Bullhorn-wielding union protestors began a loud, hour-long demonstration aimed at the hotel at 7:00am Saturday morning. When I called the front desk 30 minutes in, I was told "there's nothing we can do" and "they do this all the time". If the latter is true, this should have been disclosed at booking and checkin time. We were placed in Room 505, and protestors stood directly under our window on the pedestrian bridge, shouting for guests to check out. We were not given notice at checkin that a disturbance was likely to occur, although, as several staff members said the next day, "they do this all the time". Staff declined to move us to a higher/quieter room. We moved to the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway for the next three nights of our trip.

I have written to Hotwire to make them aware of severe disruptions in service at Le Meridien SF and to request that it be removed from inventory until the issue is resolved.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandyWLSF, Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for the feedback about your recent review. We appreciate the feedback and to have an opportunity to hear your concerns. I am sorry about your experience with the protestors and the load noises that woke you. Although we never know when they are going to show up we do understand the inconvenience this would cause you. They do not let us know when they are coming and I am sorry we were unable to let you know at the time of check-in. Please feel free to reach out to us with any questions. We do value your feedback and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF bay area
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed on a Friday night at a discount rate which elevates a good hotel to very good. We did use the very expensive valet parking, and the valet service was excellent (the entrance is on Clay st, not Battery). However, there is plenty of garage parking at the embarcadero center, especially on the weekends. Traffic in the area is very congested during commute times, so if you don't need a car use BART.

A major flaw is that the shower head is positioned lower than 6' high. The bathroom has a shower and a separate small tub and a nice magnifying mirror. Lots of towels too! The bed sheets were very soft and there were plenty of pillows.

We walked to the Ferry building and Union square, so the location is convenient and we had a view of the bay bridge from our 9th floor room (see photo). I was surprised to have a view since when I asked about getting a room with a view the receptionist just said she had given us a room with a small balcony implying that we did not have a view. We could hear traffic noise from Battery st, so bring earplugs if you are sensitive.

The bar was not too loud and about half full after 10pm. During happy hour the bar was bustling. According to the info in the room, the complimentary coffee is offered on weekdays, so we did not try to get that (see other reviewers comments). illy is just up the street though if you need some good coffee. On Saturday you can get sightglass at the ferry building farmers market (on the waterfront side). Blue bottle and peets have permanent storefronts in the ferry building.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusyMomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandyWLSF, Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for writing the review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate the feedback and thank you for sharing your experiences with others.

I am sorry about the shower head and will look into that. We are glad though that you enjoyed the rest of the room and the view.

There is so much to do in this area and it sounds like you had too full advantage of the location. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed at the Le Meridien San Fran for 1 night in December, but I wish wilee had stayed longer. I'm not too familiar with San Fran, but the location seemed perfect for getting around. We were able to walk to Market Street and could easily catch transportation to other San Fran sites.

The hotel itself is gorgeous. I've stayed at quite a few Le Meridiens. Some have more of an antique decor, while others are more trendy/modern. This one was definitely trendy/modern and felt very new and clean! There's also a pretty hip bar in the lobby.

Staff were very nice and did everything they could to make us happy. Overall, I'd definitely recommend this hotel to a friend!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gmichael315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandyWLSF, Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your stay in December and for the 5 star review. I am happy to hear that you had such a great experience with the staff. We hope you will have a chance to stay here again. Thanks for sharing your experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#58 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,034 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien San Francisco

Property: Le Meridien San Francisco
Address: 333 Battery St, San Francisco, CA 94111-3230
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 100% nonsmoking downtown luxury hotel offering clean, sophisticated style blending Italian marble, Australian lace wood, and modern decor. Elegant and simple in atmosphere, Le Meridien is conveniently located downtown near the Ferry Building Farmer's Market, Chinatown, North Beach, and Union Square. 360 guestrooms include 89 suites offering both city and bay views. Hotel offers 24 hour in-room dining, a restaurant and bar, complimentary exercise facility, and limited town car service. All guestrooms offer sumptuous duvets, CD players, in-room safes, High-speed Internet access, cordless phones, minibars, and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Meridien San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Meridien San Francisco
San Francisco Le Meridien
Park Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing