We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Next to Transamerica Bldg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien San Francisco
Ranked #47 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Next to Transamerica Bldg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Great location, close to Chinatown and Embarcadero and Broadway. Lobby was OK and gets a bit noisy at night due to the overflow from the adjacent bar and restaurant, especially if you are doing some work in the business center which has no door. Very knowledgeable concierge and extremely helpful. Manager was very accommodating to our issues with the noise in the lobby.

Ask for a room with a view of the Bay. Overall good value for a major city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy g, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for the feedback about our hotel and your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    876
    767
    227
    63
    53
See reviews for
296
777
148
505
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Came for a one-night birthday celebration and our first visit to the hotel. Overall very good and will undoubtedly add the hotel to our list for future stays. Convenient location to the Embarcadero and Ferry Building and the Financial District (which is pretty dead on the weekends); good service, very clean and comfortable rooms. Only minor complaint is that our room had damp carpet from carpet cleaning that day (a small sign was stuck in the door number telling us this) but we could not stay in the room with damp feel on your feet. Glad they are cleaning the carpet, but kind of weird we were given the room! Regardless, staff quickly got us another room and all was good. The king small suite we booked was on the end of the building and only has a small window in the corner (no view from the bed but view from chair was great). There is a large structural panel in the rest of the room that is covered by the TV and credenza/closets. However, the bathroom view was perhaps the best ever - sliding glass door with a small balcony and views of the Bay Bridge! Who can't be happy when taking a shower there! Bed was very comfy with nice sheets and great to have an hotel room with fresh air from the sliding door. Parking is not cheap but few places are in SF.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 20 are on the east end of the building looking towards the Bay Bridge and have a kil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mobie0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy g, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for the comments about your stay with us. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed the view from your room and that our staff handled the issue of the wet carpet swiftly and you were not inconvenienced. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

The room, on the 15th floor, was clean, sleek, and had a view of the Bay Bridge. We only stayed for one night, but it was so convenient. Be prepared to pay hugely extra for parking, that's how it goes in San Francisco. Then, you should tip the valets nicely, because they are very efficient and service oriented. Before you book, look around online for a deal. Don't pay full price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tfobmtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandyWLSF, Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for writing about your stay and thank you for the great review. We are happy that you appreciated our valet staff and the location. I hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
221 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

The Le Meriden San Francisco is well located and a nice choice. The room are nice, not huge, but certainly very well appointed and comfortable. The concierges at this hotel are WAY above average. The people at the front desk could use a refresher course in good service. It took over 20 minutes to check out of my prepaid room at 4am and frankly I was just plain mad and nearly late for my flight be the time I got out of there. They’d added mistaken charges for the mini bar and could not find any record that my company had prepaid the room for the event I attended. Beyond that the woman was slow and mostly seemed confused by the checkout process. this just goes to show how one interaction colors the whole experience.

Green Features: They tout being eco friendly etc... but they still replaced my used towels even though they were hung up so that they would not be replaced.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Consultantgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandyWLSF, Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for writing to let us know about your recent stay at Le Meridien. We appreciate the opportunity to receive your feedback. I am sorry about your checkout experience. We understand why this would be frustrating. Your comments will be used to help us train our staff to improve this in the future. I am happy though that you liked our concierge staff. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Everything was perfect for our stay at this hotel. The room was spotless, the decor was attractive, the bed was comfy and the view was fantastic. Located close to everything in downtown San Francisco, it's a perfect spot for a weekend getaway. The staff was professional and hospitable. The parking is pricey, but we managed to get around that by parking in an underground garage just two blocks away. They do charge for wi-fi, however. Would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonomaSweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandyWLSF, Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for staying at Le Meridien San Francisco. We are really happy you enjoyed the room, the bed and location. There are so many great things to do around the hotel and I am happy you had a great time. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

I had a gift certificate which I bid on in a charity auction last year. I noticed that it was about to expire so I called Starwood customer service. They told me that the certificate was valid and could make the reservation for me. I agreed.
Check in was great but 10 min later they called me and said that they had to charge me for the room! The excuse was" you needed to call the hotel direct to redeem"
My guest was about to arrive so I agreed under protest. After the stay, I tried to contact the supervisor and the general manager about this but no one has returned my email or my calls.
I requested that my money be refunded.
I have also contacted Starwood corporate directly.

Please be very careful about booking at this hotel. You may be sorry!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy g, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hello and thank you for your feedback. My apologies for the inconvenience you experienced when trying to redeem your gift certificate. I understand that you have been in touch with the hotel directly and the situation has been resolved. A full refund of the charges incurred will be issued and the gift certificate that was purchased will be applied to your stay. Again our apologies for any miscommunication or inconvenience you and your guests may have experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed here last week and really enjoyed my room-- I had a lovely view of the Bay Bridge. The hotel was also only four blocks from my office which was very convenient. Breakfast was very tasty and service was attentive. I loved their homemade pistachio granola with yogurt and fruit. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahkate9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandyWLSF, Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for writing the kind review about your recent stay. We really appreciate it. I am glad the hotel is convenient for you. I will share with the restaurant staff that you enjoyed their service. We also love the homemade granola! I hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#56 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,129 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Financial District
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien San Francisco

Property: Le Meridien San Francisco
Address: 333 Battery St, San Francisco, CA 94111-3230
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 100% nonsmoking downtown luxury hotel offering clean, sophisticated style blending Italian marble, Australian lace wood, and modern decor. Elegant and simple in atmosphere, Le Meridien is conveniently located downtown near the Ferry Building Farmer's Market, Chinatown, North Beach, and Union Square. 360 guestrooms include 89 suites offering both city and bay views. Hotel offers 24 hour in-room dining, a restaurant and bar, complimentary exercise facility, and limited town car service. All guestrooms offer sumptuous duvets, CD players, in-room safes, High-speed Internet access, cordless phones, minibars, and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Meridien San Francisco
San Francisco Le Meridien
Park Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing