We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place, great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Le Meridien San Francisco
Ranked #50 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
176 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Cool place, great location.”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Amazing view of the amazing city, the balcony door in my suite was able to open so you can enjoy perfect SF climate without having to use the AC. Close to Bart, cable car, ferry building.
Bar is very overpriced, but there is no shortage of great places to eat and drink all over this fabulous city.
Had a little issue with water pressure in the shower.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank DIOGENES L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandyWLSF, Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for writing about your experience with your recent stay. We really appreciate the feedback and find it very helpful. I am glad you enjoyed the room. I am sorry you felt the bar prices were too high. Thanks for letting us know. I hope next time you have an opportunity to try our well priced happy hour. Thank you again for the great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    887
    773
    231
    65
    55
See reviews for
300
779
151
520
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I usually stay near the Union Square, but decided to mix it up and stay at this hotel. I think it was an excellent decision. The hotel itself is very nice with good amenities and great rooms. The service was excellent and the staff made you feel valuable.

The location makes it easy for one to walk to Market Street (where a lot of employers have offices), Union Square (a longer walk, but still doable) and the North Beach/Telegraph Hill. With this location, you can essentially walk to work and also to a lot of great restaurants. If you are lucky to get a room with a view of the Bay, it is well worth it. The beds are comfortable and the rooms have the amenities to work if needed.

The lack of a club lounge is a drawback. If they had a lounge, it would be the best hotel to stay at in this area. I would go back there in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the bay. The view is well worth it.
See more room tips
Green Features: If possible, try to choose the Green Choice. This is not only environmentally good, but you also get rewarded with bonus points.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDAG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandyWLSF, Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for writing to us about your recent stay and thank you for choosing to stay in the financial district. There are so many great things to do in this area and it sounds like you enjoyed the location. I am also pleased you found the staff welcoming and the beds comfortable. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The room was decent sized with a nice view of the bay, it was clean, the bed was comfy and the common areas of the hotel were quiet which made for a relaxing stay and a good night of sleep.
If you like, request a room with a balcony. I opted for a slightly larger room in lieu of a balcony, but outdoor space can be a nice option to have on a beautiful day.

I initially booked the room for two nights, with the thought of relocating to another property in the event that I wasn't happy, but I ended up staying four nights because I was pleased and comfortable with the room and found the hotel's staff to be helpful, kind and friendly.

Because of its location in the Financial District, the neighborhood is quiet at night and on the weekends due to the majority of businesses closing between 5 PM and 7 PM. That said, if you're looking for hustle and bustle, you may want to consider a different hotel. However, if you appreciate a more peaceful urban setting and don't mind a short walk or taxi ride to excellent restaurants, Bart, Market Street, etc., then this property is worth considering. Also, you can catch a bus right around the corner from the property.

The design (furniture, stone used in the common areas and bathrooms) of the hotel could be considered a little dated, but, again, the room was clean, comfortable and functional for sleeping, relaxing and/or working. My only gripe is that some guests were sloppy and consistently left their empty water bottles and other trash sitting on the table next to the elevators. I don't understand why some people are pigs and think that others should clean up after them, but unfortunately that's the way it is. I truly feel bad for hotel associates who have to deal with that type of behavior.

In summary, I'd probably stay here again. Le Meridien offered good value, comfort and convenience based on this trip's needs and budget.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_k001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandyWLSF, Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are really happy you enjoyed the stay. We appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Lovely rooms, very comfy beds and blackout curtains ensure a good night sleep. The bar is great, but you're only 5 minutes from the ferry building (don't miss the chance to eat at the Slanted Door) and ten minute walk to china town if you want to eat/drink in one of the thousand of places on offer in SF.

We got this top notch hotel at a great price (using trip advisor), but what really sets this apart are the great staff. Very friendly and helpful. Would have no hesitation to recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddyPCambridgeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy g, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for the kind words about our hotel. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and in San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Recently stayed at Le Meridien using a Groupon. We were shocked at how large the rooms were, especially for such a big city. It was in a perfect location to access the Ferry Building and numerous lines for transportation. It was also an easy walk to Chinatown. Being in the Financial District, we enjoyed that we were in heart of the city but removed from the crowds of other neighborhoods like Union Square. The staff were also very helpful, particularly when it came to giving directions. They always happily pulled out a map and wrote out the best route for us to reference while we were out. We had a great view of the Bay Bridge from our room and did not have any problems with noises from other guests traveling through the walls. Free late check out was much appreciated. While breakfast isn't included, there's a Starbucks immediately across the street and plenty of restaurants at low prices to choose from as an alternative to the onsite restaurant-though we did appreciate the free coffee on the 3rd floor. We would absolutely stay here again if we're lucky enough to return to San Francisco.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room for incredible views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TulipTraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandyWLSF, Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for the review about your recent stay. We are pleased that you had a great stay. We appreciate the 5 star review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple of nights while getting to know San Francisco. The location is a good jumping off point for exploring nearby neighborhoods. Close to public transportation, shopping and night life.

The room was great! We got one of the studio rooms. It might have actually been bigger then our apartment back in Boston.

The staff was also super friendly. Very accommodating and pleasant. You won't go wrong staying here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caitlyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandyWLSF, Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for the review about your recent stay. We are pleased that you had a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My room was very spacious, sumptuous, spotlessly clean and modern. The views are good if you get a Bay Bridge/Embarcadero view but I initially got a street/limited Bay view from the 5th floor which I found noisy. The beds are extremely comfortable and the bathrooms spotless and very stylish and roomy. As it is located in the Financial District many eateries close at the weekend unless you want the much higher priced restaurants near the Ferry Building area. It is a few blocks from the start of the California cable car and very near to what is in effect a transport hub for streetcars/buses/ Muni underground system and BART. A couple of issues need to be sorted however. As the hotel is in a labour Union dispute I was awoken at 6.50am by protesters outside the entrance with loudhailers chanting (deliberately timed to cause maximum disruption to guests). This has happened before apparently and is authorised by the Police (who I called to complain). The hotel kindly moved me to the other side of the hotel for the rest of my trip and gave me free breakfast as an apology so full marks for their professional handling of my inconvenience. Also the restaurant is no longer used and is only a breakfast room now - pity as I chose the hotel due to eatery closures I knew about at the Fri - Sun weekend I was there. The bar serves limited food but is used as a loud music with TV, boisterous behaviour popular venue for local financiers and thus not conducive to a quiet eve meal which was my intention. I would stay here again as the rooms were great with courteous staff but only if they sorted the protest situation out and reinstated the restaurant

Room Tip: Ask for a non street view room to get a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bristoltravellers100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy g, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien San Francisco, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Hello and thank you for your feedback. We absolutely sympathize with you for the early-morning disturbance caused by the protestors during your last stay with us.

Unfortunately, as the protestors have no affiliation with the hotel, we have no control over their actions. The protest was carefully carried out within the letter of the law as set down by both Federal and City ordinances, and we are unable to interfere with the protestors’ legal rights.

We are a non-union hotel with wonderful and passionate associates who work in a very supportive and respectful work environment. In fact, our Associate Opinion Survey came in at 91% associate satisfaction for 2013. None of the protestors that have protested in front of our hotel are associates of our hotel. We compensate our associates well, provide complimentary meals, affordable health insurance for them and their families, a 401K with a company match, and three days of Zumba (complimentary) in support of their health and wellness.

We cannot approach the protestors or intervene in their legal right to protest. We do sincerely wish there was more we could to support our guests and associates but our hands are tied. We appreciate your understanding and support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#56 of 228 in San Francisco
4,266 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,076 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien San Francisco

Property: Le Meridien San Francisco
Address: 333 Battery St, San Francisco, CA 94111-3230
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 100% nonsmoking downtown luxury hotel offering clean, sophisticated style blending Italian marble, Australian lace wood, and modern decor. Elegant and simple in atmosphere, Le Meridien is conveniently located downtown near the Ferry Building Farmer's Market, Chinatown, North Beach, and Union Square. 360 guestrooms include 89 suites offering both city and bay views. Hotel offers 24 hour in-room dining, a restaurant and bar, complimentary exercise facility, and limited town car service. All guestrooms offer sumptuous duvets, CD players, in-room safes, High-speed Internet access, cordless phones, minibars, and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Meridien San Francisco
San Francisco Le Meridien
Park Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing