We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, It's like stepping back into the 50's with internet”
Review of Phoenix Hotel SF

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Phoenix Hotel SF
Ranked #20 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oakdale, California
1 review
“Amazing, It's like stepping back into the 50's with internet”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The Phoenix is the most unique place in SF that I have ever stayed in. It has a super cool vibe for folks who don't want the typical tourist stay in the city. The nightlife outside the hotel is sketchy but if you want to go somewhere else just take a cab. There is an amazing breakfast place I ate at around the corner called Brenda's and a good Vietnamese deli too.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleetus_riva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    304
    88
    38
    20
See reviews for
166
296
70
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel
Pro's
Nice atmosphere, friendly staf and good restaurants in the area, parking space
Con's
The area is somewhat less, two blocks away

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed here for four nights in October and had a ball. We were a family with a 2 year old and felt well accommodated for, safe and welcome.

Having read the reviews here, once we arrived we asked for a map of the area at reception and how to get around. We also asked for an indication of where not to go. A no go area (fairly close to the hotel) was marked on our map and we stayed clear. Therefore we missed some of the dodgier side of the area mentioned here.

The breakfast and coffee was amazing - our body clocks had not adjusted yet and we were always up early and really this was the best time for breakfast and an early start to our sightseeing day.

The pool was clean and warm and a nice way to relax after a hard day's sightseeing.

We walked to MAx's Opera Cafe one night which was filing food in a great atmospheric restaurant with opera singing waiting staff!

We loved our stay and would definitely return if we were in that part of the world again - I hope we will be!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cpoulter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

After an extensive search for a hotel in the Bay area, my girlfriend stumbled upon the Phoenix Hotel. With reasonable prices, a retro feel and FREE PARKING FOR GUESTS, she booked it without hesitation.

Upon our arrival, we discovered an incredibly helpful hotel staff, a great pool/lounge area in the middle of the hotel and the same funky flair depicted on the hotel's website. Our room was spotless, well-appointed and proved to be exactly what we needed for a quick two day getaway.

Breakfast was definitely more continental than buffet, but it was perfect for a quick bite before catching my plane back east.

Overall, Phoenix Hotel exceeded our expectations and made our stay in the Bay area a memorable one.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrewjacobschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prospect, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

My experience was consistent with other reviews and that's why I selected it along with being within walking distance of my son's studio apartment. My only negative experience was with the Wi-fi. It did not work more often than it did. The staff was great, however, and called the ISP, found the problem and got wi-fi to the point where it worked more or less.

Despite some of the other reviews, parking at the hotel was not difficult for the full-size pick-up (without dualies) I'd borrowed for this trip. The spaces are city-tight, but not impossible.

My wife is staying in August, and I'll be back again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bible_and_rifle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I loved the hotel, which is a really nice building, quite centrally located. It isn't in the world's greatest area, but that wasn't a problem at all for us. The staff were really helpful and knowledgeable, with great advice on the area. However, the noise in the evenings from their bar/restaurant is massive. With all the rooms opening onto a shared courtyard, which is used by guests from the bar too, it was like trying to sleep in a nightclub until at least midnight, with the bass from the bar's sound system going onto at least 2am. It is a lovely hotel, but I fear I value my sleep too much to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prentiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petrolia, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

That's just it... it's not that there's anything so fancy about the place (except the pool... that is a wonderful luxury!). It's that the Phoenix feels like such a reasonable, comfortable place to be! Friendly, normal people (normal to me-- artists and musicians staff and frequent the place), a nice earthquake-safe-feeling low-profile building, a courtyard with some space to move around, combine to make this heart-of-the-city hotel feel like a small-town, old-fashioned roadside motel. The free parking lot makes getting around San Francisco easy, by just forgetting about the darned car, and walking or taking the Muni. Also, the price for our room was quite reasonable for in-town SF.
I have only stayed at the Phoenix twice, but highly recommend it. (Actually, i don't know why i would want to promote this place, as it's hard enough to get a reservation-- but not at all times. Be advised... plan ahead... or if you just want to experience the mellow vibe, go at a low-occupancy time and enjoy the pool all by yourself after midnight!)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraIsMyRealName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenxHotelGM, Manager at Phoenix Hotel SF, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
Hi Laural,
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I think the Phoenix is a pretty fun and unique hotel and it puts a smile on my face when others feel the same…
Looking forward to your next visit with us.
Diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,076 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
5,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#34 of 228 in San Francisco
2,872 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Hotel SF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hotel SF

Property: Phoenix Hotel SF
Address: 601 Eddy Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-7904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phoenix Hotel SF 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky, irreverent, and young-at-heart, The Phoenix Hotel caters to touring bands and travelers with a creative spirit. A 44 room mid-century motor lodge with a lush courtyard and heated outdoor pool. It's an oasis in the heart of San Francisco on the edge of the gritty Tenderloin and three blocks from City Hall. Guests get complimentary wifi, complimentary onsite parking (one car per room) and complimentary passes to the Kabuki Springs and Spa (Monday - Friday). Show casing original sculptures from local artists in the courtyard gardens, and a one of kind mural in the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Phoenix Hotel SF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Phoenix Hotel San Francisco
Phoenix San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing