We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky, Chic, Unpretentious”
Review of Phoenix Hotel SF

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Phoenix Hotel SF
Ranked #30 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My colleague and I had been traveling nonstop for several weeks, and we always lamented that our standard corporate Hiltons and Sheratons were a bit boring. Fortunately, our company sponsored hotel in San Francisco was booked, so we checked out the Phoenix!

The location is give-and-take - it's near the Civic Center BART stop, but the surrounding area is a tad, um, gritty. I didn't feel unsafe at any point, but my colleague was solicited by an, ahem, lady of the night while waiting for a cab at 5:30 AM the next morning. Definite plus - the hotel has ample free parking!

Check-in was a tad sluggish due to only one agent and a constantly ringing phone, but the agent was very friendly and made plenty of dinner suggestions and cheerfully arranged a cab for us. The adjacent courtyard/pool area is vibrant and fun with plenty of lounge chairs and dining/drinking area nearby. I was concerned that this would be loud at night, but, fortunately, it was dead silent (but, I was there on a Wednesday night!).

The room was tropical in theme and had virtually everything needed. The bed was comfortable, and the in-room local coffee was fantastic. The bathroom was clean, yet it did lack counter space for personal items. The ceiling fan was a great touch to circulate the air given the hotel doesn't have air conditioning (not that it was needed). The only bad part - the room seriously smelled like incense. I got used to it, but it is overpowering at first.

Overall, it was fun - I wish we had time to check out the pool and bar, but perhaps another time!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,032)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

690 - 696 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

After reading most of the reviews about this hotel, I decided to give it a try. I was not disappointed, and enjoyed my stay very much. The room I requested was ready upon check-in and the front desk staff (Blair and Erika) were very friendly and helpful. True, the surrounding area is not a place where you would want to walk the streets after dark, but the hotel was very safe with good security inside the gates. The only negative thing I could say is that there was no refrigerator in my room, and for the price I paid ($186 on a Friday night), I would have expected that one small amenity. A more reasonable price would have been about $40 less, but then again it is San Francisco and rooms don't come cheap on weekends. All in all, I had a great stay and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool are well lit and are great for people watching!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firedog13814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Stayed here in August and again in early september. Great little hotel reminiscent of the drive-in motels you see in Mad Men.

Great service from the check-in desk, and a good price, too.

Great food and drinks from Chamber's bar next door.

All in all, will be staying here again, definitely!

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much the same. If you have lots of luggage, choose a ground-floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This is a nice hotel with nice room but the bar / restraint turns into a late night bar, and the smoking area / outside area for this is the patio that all rooms look onto which dose get noisy at weekends. And we was not told about this on checkin however it stops at 1am ish

The rooms are tidy and nice and the place holds a lot of history.

The location is ok but after dark it's a bit rough, they do provide a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrJRKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I must admit that when we first arrived I had my reservations (no pun intended). The area is quite run down, and I wouldn't recommend walking around there at night. The hotel also resembles a 1960/70's motel (which it was) and at night (especially at the weekend) the hotel is very loud (reception give out free ear plugs). BUT, the place has a definite vibe, everyone is super friendly and it is a real bohemian gem.

It's about 3 blocks up from the Civic Center, and to be honest the area actually looks worse than it really is. We had no problems, but if you're concerned the hotel staff can tell you the areas to stick to and to avoid. The resturant/bar is excellent. Get a reservation for the weekend, and settle yourself for some people watching.

Top Tip 1: Take Mr Toad's classic car tour - it's awesome.

Top Tip 2: Taxi's are unreliable and rude (even compared to NYC cabs)! They don't honour reservations (they'll pick up anyone that's there) and when you do get in the cab put you seatbelt on, say your prayers and hold on. Ask reception to order your cab, as they use reliable sources.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool, which is a party area at night. Maybe not for you if you're after a rel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ellisario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I've stayed at the Phoenix numerous times over the past 10 years. It's not fancy by any means, but it's an interesting place, clean, really nice staff, not too far from public transport. Lots of good restaurants nearby (Lers Ros has some of the best Thai food ever). Don't be alarmed by the crazy people and drunks in the Tenderloin--they are loud but pretty harmless.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kurtzu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I've pretty much spent more nights at the Phoenix over the past two years than most people spend at hotels in a lifetime. There is a reason I keep coming back: the amazing staff. Sure the central location is killer (right next to Saigon Sandwich!), the parking included (a bonus), and the new bar/resto (Chambers) serves up some delicious food. But it's the attention to detail and the friendliness of the staff that have me coming back to this Joie de Vivre establishment every time. It's not for everyone, but it's definitely a great place, at a great price. What more can you ask for?

Room Tip: No fitness center but a groovy heated pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#83 of 230 in San Francisco
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#70 of 230 in San Francisco
4,104 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#7 of 230 in San Francisco
1,756 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Hotel SF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hotel SF

Address: 601 Eddy St, San Francisco, CA 94109-7904
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £109 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phoenix Hotel SF 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky, irreverent, and young-at-heart, The Phoenix Hotel caters to touring bands and travelers with a creative spirit. A 44 room mid-century motor lodge with a lush courtyard and heated outdoor pool. It's an oasis in the heart of San Francisco on the edge of the gritty Tenderloin and three blocks from City Hall. Guests get complimentary wifi, complimentary onsite parking (one car per room) and complimentary passes to the Kabuki Springs and Spa (Monday - Friday). Show casing original sculptures from local artists in the courtyard gardens, and a one of kind mural in the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Phoenix Hotel SF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Phoenix Hotel San Francisco
Phoenix San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing