We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Phoenix Hotel SF
Nearby Hotels
US$385
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
US$260
US$185
MysticHotel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Comfort Inn by the Bay(San Francisco)
US$233
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$290
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
US$304
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$511
US$476
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$761
US$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$238
US$207
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$249
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
US$329
US$278
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,094)
Filter reviews
1,094 results
Traveller rating
565
357
106
41
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
565
357
106
41
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstenderloinheated poolfree parkingchambers restaurantrock n rollpool partygreat poolmotor lodgecivic centerfun place to staycool vibehomeless peoplerooms facecool hotelnever felt unsafecontinental breakfastvan ness
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
551 - 556 of 1,094 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The Phoenix embodies true San Francisco style. I loved that there was a party on the patio every night we were there. The rooms are fun and funky. Not the sterile room of the Hilton. These have personality! I loved the art and the retro deco. The funky art installation around the property were cool and set the vibe. The staff was amazing! When we arrived a little early and they graciously checked us in and got us settled quickly. I will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JesiB52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix_mgmt, Front Office Manager at Phoenix Hotel SF, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Hi JesiB52,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts after your recent stay with us. While we don't have parties on most nights here, the portico of Chambers certainly lights up with a friendly atmosphere during pool and courtyard hours, which go 'til 10pm on weeknights and 12 midnight on Fridays and Saturdays. Beyond that, we are all about providing the necessary comforts with distinctive touches. We're so glad you enjoyed our room updates, and we hope to have you back soon!

Sincerely,
Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

There are pro's and con's to Phoenix. The pro's are the courtyard, service and restaurant. Stepping into the poolside courtyard at the end of a long day is lovely and it was nice to have somewhere to relax other than your room. The people working there were lovely and the restaurant Chambers was the best meal we had in San Francisco.

The downside to this hotel was mostly the noise. The rooms are not sound proof so we did not have one good nights sleep. Other guests coming and going, slamming doors (surely something can be done to make the doors close slowly rather than slamming?) and street noise. Yelling, car horns and sirens were some of what kept us awake most of the night.

The neighbourhood is noisy, but the hotel doesn't block it. Eddy St does have lots of interesting characters but really it was sad more than threatening to see the extent of homelessness in that area. Keep your wits about you and I don't think it's unsafe, you can also walk a few blocks up and pretty much avoid that area completely.

Honestly, I wouldn't reccomend this hotel to others unless I knew they just didn't care and could sleep through anything. There are places a little closer to everything that may lack the character but would allow you to leave San Francisco rested instead of exhausted.

Absolutely make the trip to Chambers if nothing else.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The Phoenix is always a great place to stay when in San Francisco. We have stayed here so many times I can't remember how many! The staff is super cool, the rooms are comfy and hip, I love their morning coffee and juice. Sometimes there are events during the day there and you're made to feel very welcome. I always recommend this place for visiting friends from out of town. Little details like the little welcome bottle of red wine and access to the pool are other great things about the Phoenix.

Room Tip: If you want a more quiet room I would opt for anything on the second level away from pool area.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodie7079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix_mgmt, Front Office Manager at Phoenix Hotel SF, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear nutbass,

We're so glad to have guests like you that not only keep returning to the Phoenix Hotel for a one-of-a-kind experience, but take the time to write about it as well! I'm glad you enjoy the room updates, as we have worked diligently on renovations to guest rooms and facilities throughout 2013, including installing Flatscreen HDTVs, iHomes, lamps with added power outlets, and new mattresses and linens in all rooms. Each stay at the Phoenix is an opportunity for new experiences and discoveries, and the room updates continue through the end of the year, so we hope to welcome you back to your home away from home soon...

Cheers,

Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Always enjoy my stays here. Funky rooms but usually clean and comfortable. Great outdoor pool and have had some interesting conversations while lounging around here. Love the orange furniture too! Good cocktails at the restaurant but better dinner choices not far away. Try the Vietnamese sandwich shops all around the area.

Room Tip: Upstairs better than down. Suite is fun.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YummyWines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Phoenix is near the heart of downtown SF's nightlife. This is a nice way of saying the neighborhood isn't the nicest—but the Phoenix's gated courtyard and quiet, tropical-bohemian atmosphere allowed us to sleep secure and feel like we were really on vacation despite the urban surroundings. And those urban surroundings mean you're close to everything—mere minutes from fine dining and just a little more from the piers—so travel hassle is minimized. As of August 2013 the beds and bedding were new and modern—upgrades are obviously on track. (Carpets should probably come next, and bathroom fixtures/counters after that, but these dated details ARE clean and in decent condition.) Nice touches include a light breakfast in the funky courtyard and high-end, low-allergen soaps and hair products. A great value and we'd stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatchLimit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews