We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, relaxed stay”
Review of Phoenix Hotel SF

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Phoenix Hotel SF
Ranked #31 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 November 2013

the Phoenix is a fine place to stay in the city, particularly if you want to be a bit off the typical hotel grid. Everybody comments on the gritty neighborhood, which it is, but the hotel has an easy, relaxed vibe, comfortable beds, very cool outdoor swimming pool (which nobody uses! come on, people - its heated!), very friendly and helpful staff, and excellent restaurant and bar. oh, and Brenda's is right down the block for a great NO / soul food inspired breakfast (they say French soul food, but the only thing French on the breakfast menu is the toast....). Back to the hotel - rooms are nice, price is right, bar and restaurant attached to hotel is great and, if you have a rental car - you park for free in the "motel" parking lot. what's not to like?

Room Tip: Get a King Suite or, if you can, the Headliner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkF12360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

great place in the heart of the city. walking distance to great neighborhoods like polk gulch, hayes valley and union square. friendly helpful staff with good knowledge of the neighborhood. they made some good recommendations. excellent restaurant and bar. cool vibe.

Room Tip: rooms on the far side of the pool would probably be better if you want to avoid the bustle of the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I stayed here when I went to Outside Lands. I live outside of San Francisco and this was a great experience for my first time there. The hotel is located in downtown so it's not really the nicest area in town but it's a very classy hotel when you go inside. The pool is clean as are the rooms but they are a bit small. The complementary breakfast was great and the lounge area is really nice it's a great place to go with a group and hang out. They even have their own bar which made it easy to find a place to chill after the festival. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirag A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

A great get away in the middle of the city. After enjoying what San Fransisco offers it was nice to know that you had a place to relax with friendly and proffesional staff. The restaurant was excellent and everyone could find their favourite in the drink list.

Room Tip: on the south side you get the sun on the balkony in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mats m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix_mgmt, Front Office Manager at Phoenix Hotel SF, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear mats m,

Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience at the Phoenix Hotel. We certainly pride ourselves in providing a one-of-a-kind vibe, with the lush courtyard inviting guests to kick back, lay loose, and unwind with us. Maybe our staff is so friendly because we consider it a privilege to serve - as we are blessed to have the best guests in the world stay with us! On that note, we look forward to welcoming you back next time your travels take you to San Francisco :).

Cheers ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We attended a concert nearby this hotel, so it was extremely convenient. The neighborhood was a bit sketchy, as we walked back to the hotel from a bus stop on a early Sunday afternoon, we had to maneuver around some drug addicts about to have a fist fight. But I don't hold that against the hotel, we never truly felt in danger, we just stayed aware of our environment. It was also very close to a bus route that took us right to the pier area, convenient and easy to catch. The hotel decor was very trendy, and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marleema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I have stayed at this hotel and the staff was very friendly. The room was clean and the hotel was very nice. It took me some time to find it but I was happy to see it was a good place. I will definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix_mgmt, Front Office Manager at Phoenix Hotel SF, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear stephen s,

We're so glad you discovered our little hotel. We've worked very hard to upgrade the guest experience here at the Phoenix, but like the little engine that could, we keep going! Renovations continue into 2014, so we hope to welcome you back to an even better experience next time.

Cheers ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Ok- full disclosue- my wife wasn't that crazy about it, mainly because of the surrounding neigborhood, which is pretty run-down. But I loved the hotel. Very cool retro 50s-60s kind of feel. Off street parking for free- hard to find in SFO. And a courtyard with a very cool pool. The bar-restaurant area is awesome. I would come back just for that. The rooms are simple, but clean. A great rock-and-roll kind of vibe here. Somebody's tour bus was parked there while we were here, but of course the staff would not reveal whose.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AParkhillHand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#82 of 230 in San Francisco
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 230 in San Francisco
4,100 reviews
Union Square
White Swan Inn
White Swan Inn
#7 of 230 in San Francisco
1,755 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Hotel SF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hotel SF

Address: 601 Eddy St, San Francisco, CA 94109-7904
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £110 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phoenix Hotel SF 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky, irreverent, and young-at-heart, The Phoenix Hotel caters to touring bands and travelers with a creative spirit. A 44 room mid-century motor lodge with a lush courtyard and heated outdoor pool. It's an oasis in the heart of San Francisco on the edge of the gritty Tenderloin and three blocks from City Hall. Guests get complimentary wifi, complimentary onsite parking (one car per room) and complimentary passes to the Kabuki Springs and Spa (Monday - Friday). Show casing original sculptures from local artists in the courtyard gardens, and a one of kind mural in the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Phoenix Hotel SF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Phoenix Hotel San Francisco
Phoenix San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing