We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More fun than your normal hotel!”
Review of Phoenix Hotel SF

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phoenix Hotel SF
Ranked #29 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I have stayed in San Francisco for business on a number of occasions before and I have tired of bland or stuffy business hotels, so looked for a quirky one instead - and hit the jackpot with the Phoenix, Chosen mainly because the Psychedelic Furs were included as previous guests on the website, the only disappointment was that Richard Butler and fellow band members weren't there at the same time. The rooms were large and clean with a very comfy bed, the pool area and bar have a nice cool vibe and the reception staff and really friendly and helpful. Yes, the area is on the ropey side, but you can skirt around the dodgier area - even in a suit I didn't feel too threatened any point. If you fancy something a bit different, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix_mgmt, Front Office Manager at Phoenix Hotel SF, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Martin B,

We're so happy to hear that the Phoenix Hotel "suited your fancy". Over the past year, we have worked diligently in renovations to guest rooms and facilities. Like a good old suit newly pressed and tailored, The Phoenix Hotel has modern comforts, a vintage style, and feels right - even if it is a little bit funky. Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts, and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime down the road.

Cheers & Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (983)
There are newer reviews for Phoenix Hotel SF
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 983 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

This hotel was really cool. The decor was interesting in the rooms and made it feel very homey... and there's a pretty swanky pool. Though it was a bit too chilly to swim when we were there, it just looked nice all lit up at night.

The bar/restaurant Chambers seems like a pretty hot spot. We went there both nights for a night cap and it was pretty busy. The "fireplace" outside is a nice for escaping the crowd though.

The hotel itself is in an interesting area... It's a short walk from the BART. It's in Little Siagon which is great for food. And there are bars and restaurants nearby on Polk. I would just say don't walk due east. The hotel's courtyard is fenced in so you feel pretty safe.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hermanator103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix_mgmt, Front Office Manager at Phoenix Hotel SF, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear hermanator103,

We appreciate your candid thoughts on your experience here at the Phoenix. While it's true that our hotel and its updated decor may be considered 'cool' - we mostly pride ourselves in providing warm service, a heated pool, and... well, plenty of heat in the rooms :) Each stay at the Phoenix is a chance to connect to something or someone new, and refresh the senses. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Cheers ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

If it were a rating of location - you would see one star, if it were a rating of the hotel service and property alone you would see 5 stars. If you don't mind walking through some drug deals and a bunch of drunk homeless people, the location won't bother you. Once you close the gate into the property though- you are in a real vacation place. The service is impecible, the hotel is beautiful, the bar over by the pool in the property is a lot of fun and we even met some nice people. Overall I do recommend it but to be honest, I don't know if I would go there again because I didn't feel safe walking around alone in the location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaritaKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix_mgmt, Front Office Manager at Phoenix Hotel SF, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear SaritaKim,

We truly appreciate you sharing your honest feedback with others. You can rest assured that we here at the Phoenix Hotel share your concern for the street life in the neighborhood, as it is a weight that we all feel. Over the past 20 years, the Phoenix has raised over 3.6 million dollars in support of the Tenderloin Neighborhood Development Coalition to help build a healthier community. We are also actively working with the City of San Francisco to keep our surrounding blocks clean and safe. Our resolve to in these efforts is as steadfast as ever.

It's certainly true that the neighborhood is not without its challenges, yet we consider it to be a hidden jewel given the rich array of historical buildings, art galleries, eateries, music venues, and public transportation options available within six blocks of our hotel. Additionally, the Phoenix front desk staff is on hand 24 hours a day to assist guests with viable walking routes to any nearby destination. As always, our intention is to provide an urban retreat here: a safe, relaxing, one-of-a-kind oasis conveniently located in downtown San Francisco. While everyone's comfort level with the surrounding streets varies, we do our very best to make our hotel feel like a home.

Thanks again for sharing your thoughts, and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime.

Cheers ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Love love love the Phoenix! Funky, fun and reasonably priced. It's my go to hotel in San Francisco. Staff are always super friendly. Rooms always clean. I always recommend to my friends when they are planning a trip to The City.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mistypalms P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix_mgmt, Front Office Manager at Phoenix Hotel SF, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Mistypalms P,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to write about the Phoenix Hotel. We're excited about the new amenities and comforts we've added to guest rooms, but at the heart of everything is our staff and collective commitment to enhance each guest's experience in any way we can. Thanks again and we'll see you very soon!

Cheers ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

the Phoenix is a fine place to stay in the city, particularly if you want to be a bit off the typical hotel grid. Everybody comments on the gritty neighborhood, which it is, but the hotel has an easy, relaxed vibe, comfortable beds, very cool outdoor swimming pool (which nobody uses! come on, people - its heated!), very friendly and helpful staff, and excellent restaurant and bar. oh, and Brenda's is right down the block for a great NO / soul food inspired breakfast (they say French soul food, but the only thing French on the breakfast menu is the toast....). Back to the hotel - rooms are nice, price is right, bar and restaurant attached to hotel is great and, if you have a rental car - you park for free in the "motel" parking lot. what's not to like?

Room Tip: Get a King Suite or, if you can, the Headliner!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkF12360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

great place in the heart of the city. walking distance to great neighborhoods like polk gulch, hayes valley and union square. friendly helpful staff with good knowledge of the neighborhood. they made some good recommendations. excellent restaurant and bar. cool vibe.

Room Tip: rooms on the far side of the pool would probably be better if you want to avoid the bustle of the st...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I stayed here when I went to Outside Lands. I live outside of San Francisco and this was a great experience for my first time there. The hotel is located in downtown so it's not really the nicest area in town but it's a very classy hotel when you go inside. The pool is clean as are the rooms but they are a bit small. The complementary breakfast was great and the lounge area is really nice it's a great place to go with a group and hang out. They even have their own bar which made it easy to find a place to chill after the festival. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirag A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 229 in San Francisco
1,478 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#30 of 229 in San Francisco
873 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Hotel SF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hotel SF

Address: 601 Eddy Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-7904
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £133 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phoenix Hotel SF 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky, irreverent, and young-at-heart, The Phoenix Hotel caters to touring bands and travelers with a creative spirit. A 44 room mid-century motor lodge with a lush courtyard and heated outdoor pool. It's an oasis in the heart of San Francisco on the edge of the gritty Tenderloin and three blocks from City Hall. Guests get complimentary wifi, complimentary onsite parking (one car per room) and complimentary passes to the Kabuki Springs and Spa (Monday - Friday). Show casing original sculptures from local artists in the courtyard gardens, and a one of kind mural in the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Phoenix Hotel SF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Phoenix Hotel San Francisco
Phoenix San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing