We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will only stay at The Phoenix”
Review of Phoenix Hotel SF

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phoenix Hotel SF
Ranked #20 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Felton, CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“We will only stay at The Phoenix”
Reviewed 9 May 2009

Our very favorite place to stay in San Francisco. Known as the Rock and Roll Hotel, The Phoenix is a true oasis in the middle of the bustling city. This was our second visit to The Phoenix Hotel. My family won't stay anywhere else! What a fun place. What an incredible staff! Especially helpful is front office manager Diana Weech. We had tickets for Wicked on April 30 and, of course, we booked The Phoenix, having had a wonderful time there the previous November. Our 20 year old daughter loves The Phoenix!

Yes, The Phoenix is in the Tenderloin, you wouldn't want to go wandering out alone at night but we feel perfectly safe at The Phoenix. Once you enter the private courtyard at The Phoenix, you're in another world!

Here's what you get: An incredibly clean, comfortable room, with lovely furnishings, wifi, in-room coffee, as well as a nice complimentary breakfast in the morning AND a very reasonable rate. Add in the superlative assistance at the front desk, a great pool and lounge area with fun statuary around, a relaxed, casual atmosphere, the occasional rock star and you have a recipe for a delightful get-away. And did I mention that there is free, and safe, parking?

If you need anything, a simple call to the front desk takes care of it. Staff makes each and every guest feel special and welcome. As a member of the Joy of Life Club, we had a split of Chardonnay waiting for us when we arrived as well as a greeting card from the staff welcoming us to The Phoenix again.

We also enjoyed a superb dinner at the Bambuddha prior to our show. They offer a blend of small and large plates and make it easy for a family to enjoy many different dishes. If you enjoy Asian fare, give the Bambuddha a try. You'll be glad you did.

We already have another trip to SF planned in July so we'll be back to The Phoenix Hotel! Don't miss this gem on your next visit to San Francisco. We recommend The Phoenix to our friends visiting SF.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memorysgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    311
    91
    39
    20
See reviews for
176
302
70
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2009

This is a hidden gem indeed! Old 50's caravan lodge reinvented to a hotspot!
I had been to the lounge for drinks and good music before and adored it. This time around we stayed there for a night away from the kids.
It has a cool rock n roll edge. There was a band staying while we were there.
It is fun to look at, nicely decorated, comfortable and so affordable.
We would definately go back. We had no complaints. A few guests were having some late night fun late but I am not put off that, makes the place more fun.
Some street noise as this is in a busy area. The neighborhood although not the best was fine, we had no problems and walked around for a drink at Temple Bar around the corner.

I really liked the look and feel of this place!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santitam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, SD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2009

I would stay at the Phoenix again. As mentioned in previous reviews, the neighborhood was dicey. My friend, my child and I walked from the end of the street car line, at Market Street to the hotel. No one harassed us or anything, but we were uncomfortable. I volunteer with the homeless, so my inclination is to take people where they are, but I was intimidated. The Phoenix is an oasis. The courtyard is great, the room colorful and clean. I love the ceramic coffee mugs and glass water glasses instead of wretched Styrofoam and plastic cups. I brought my own coffee, because one never knows, but the coffee was not the usual bad tasting stuff found in most hotel rooms. We were only there one night, but I would definitely come back to the Phoenix. Luke and Matt at the front desk were helpful, bright and cheerful. Breakfast was fresh and tasty.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carmenveranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2009

We loved this hotel and our brief stay there. We would definitely come back. The courtyard is beautiful and inviting, with birds, flowers and a tropical appeal. The staff were amazingly helpful and took a genuine interest in their guests. The rooms were comfortable and well-appointed. Breakfast, sitting in the courtyard, was also great. I especially loved that this hotel did not feel like a chain and felt unexpected and personal. The parking was convenient. Although I was warned not to walk down Eddy St., we did walk toward the Civic Center and felt entirely comfortable. From there it was easy to catch a bus and explore the city. Lastly, on our way out of the city, the young woman at the front desk suggested a detour to drive down the crookedest street, which we did and enjoyed.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zainaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold coast
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2009

what a fantastic 4 days I spent in San Fran just recently, made all the better from staying at the Pheonix Hotel. Right from the start the welcome was tops, very friendly staff greeted me and the welcome was quick and painfree. When ever I asked for or about something the info was given and it was all good. Restaurant review and sight seeing spots were perfect. Local knowledge was also very good, I was told on arrival that the area was not the very best however like any major city if you have your witts about you you will be fine.

The room that I stayed in was relaxing, clean and very comfortable, I must admit that the reason that I booked the hotel was purely becasue of the look of it, and the kitch way it looked on line, I loved the fact that all the original styles were kept but modernised internally, I found out after that some of the bathrooms in the other rooms have recently undergone renovations but I found mine perfectly fine, however I would have explored upgrade options if I had of known.

Other than that I don't know what else to say but I will be mack, thats a fact and I have allready told so many people about you hotel that I am sure there will be some more Australian visitors soon...including me

THANK YOU .....TAHNK YOU .....THANK YOU for an awsome time, and also thank you to Matt and Dave for just being excelent city guides, the restaurant on Tuesday night that Matt suggested was AWSOME and I must say a big thanks to Raphael and the guys in the Restaurant and Bar, AWSOME AWSOME AWSOME to say the least, those Lychee Martini's were the best that I have had in ages, and the food was TOP 10 the restaurant is beautiful and I have some amazing pictures to remind me of my visit, the pool area at night is spectacular and you must include pics of the tree at night, the only sad thing about my trip was that I was there mid week, but itwas going to cost me more that my return flight price to change my books and stay for the weekend

Thanks everyone

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minnimanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2009

After staying in many San Francisco hotels,we finally found the one we would return to again & again. Eco-friendly,customer friendly,car friendly. Everything we want when we travel for business & need to relax afterwards. Free parking, a nice bar,restaurant,pool,peaceful surroundings & extra helpful staff. Even the neighborhood doesn't put us off. Good restaurants-especially Vietnamese nearby.We love it here.Rock & Roll atmosphere without the TV's being thrown out the windows! If only they had rock & roll in the Bambuddha Lounge.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cadvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Sur, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed here within the last 2 weeks. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, and our private balcony was a nice thing to have too. Although it was a little scary in the area surrounding the hotel at night, daytime was much better...The courtyard is peaceful and overflowing with plants and art. The hospitality at the front desk was amazing as well....I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meoddity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,176 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
2,909 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#43 of 229 in San Francisco
2,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Hotel SF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hotel SF

Property: Phoenix Hotel SF
Address: 601 Eddy Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-7904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phoenix Hotel SF 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky, irreverent, and young-at-heart, The Phoenix Hotel caters to touring bands and travelers with a creative spirit. A 44 room mid-century motor lodge with a lush courtyard and heated outdoor pool. It's an oasis in the heart of San Francisco on the edge of the gritty Tenderloin and three blocks from City Hall. Guests get complimentary wifi, complimentary onsite parking (one car per room) and complimentary passes to the Kabuki Springs and Spa (Monday - Friday). Show casing original sculptures from local artists in the courtyard gardens, and a one of kind mural in the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Phoenix Hotel SF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Phoenix Hotel San Francisco
Phoenix San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing