We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER!!!”
Review of Hotel Whitcomb

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Whitcomb
Ranked #181 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 4 May 2012

BURNEY is by far the best manager ever. May 3rd was magical because of him. We were new to the city and unfamiliar with the area. Burney pointed us in the right direction and we had a great day thanks to his very helpful ideas. He made sure everything was taken care of from valet to our room amenities. The location is great and central to everything in the city... getting anywhere you'd like is very simple. With out Burney's help we don't know what we would have done.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KyleVivian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. We are very pleased to know that you had a great overall experience and we will make sure to share this posting with Burney so he can read for himself the difference he made in your stay. We hope to see yopu again soon.

Thank You.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,870 - 1,876 of 3,141 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

The staff was useless and unfriendly! Our room smelt like cigarettes, musk, and moth ball. Towels are ratty and stingy plus a dirty bathroom. Oh not to forget no one informed us the $40 per day parking until we checked out! There are also many homeless people sleeping outside the building, no frig, no microwave, no coffee maker, and no they WILL NOT heat anything up for you! Therefore bring lots of money to eat out! Management was there for decor! How they got a 3star rating is a mystery!

Room Tip: Don't book here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carmen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us about your recent stay. We have listened to your comments and have shared them with the staff. Our goal is to constantly imporve the overall guest experience.

Thanks Again.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My friends and I stayed at the Whitcomb from April 19-20 for my friend's 21st birthday. We got a steal for $132 for the night.

At first we had trouble finding our room because the walls were covered in mirrors- as was our door so it blended in. Finding it was a fun journey! The 5 of us fit comfortably in a room with a rollaway, very high ceilings but somewhat dated furniture. We didn't care about the room because we were there for the location to the bars downtown. The beds were average in comfort with clean linens. We tipped the maid for her efforts.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and there is a doorman that checks guests for room keys before they can get into the elevator. That is nice because downtown on Market Street has some interesting civilians, to say the least.

All in all, it was a good experience and I would visit again.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet sleep, try to request a high level room or one not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mipeloesenfuego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post you r comments about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to know that you had a positive experience and that the staff treated you so well. We do our best to make sure every pereson who comes to the Hotel Whitcomb has a great time.

Thanks Again.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

my boyfriend and I arrived on april 17th, we pre paid for our stay and stayed a total of 5 nights- wow was this ever a regret! front desk staff, rude, european which makes the langauge barrier terrible. room was old. not nice old, old old. air con looks like it was from the 70's. bed was terrible. tv had a buzzy noise. we called down as we had rust in our bathtub plug hole, asked someone to come look at it, after the 4th time of asking we gave uP! after check in, being in our room for 30 mins we had SOMEONE WALK INTO OUR ROOM. yes, WALK into our room, i was getting changed!!!! he was an asian man who worked their and they claimed was "head security" well, we didn't feel secure at all. spoke to the manager at night on the 17th, he was very nice and apologized, offered us two free nights parking (valued at $35 a night!) i guess we were okay with this, until check out and we got out bill and charged for the entire 5 NIGHTS! we work in the hotel so the way the handled, went about and everything was terrible. the manager even asked us if we were with the "Contiki" group because we were young- this is very offensive jsut because we are young, doesn't mean we are stupid and complaining just to get a cheaper or free room, which didn't even happen. homeless people everywhere. also to add, when my boyfriend called to ask for the wifi password and asked the front desk man to slow down as his accent was very thick, he told him to come down and get the password himself then hung up.

never again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emmalouise_miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share this information with us. As the Director of Operations it is my job to make sure that we address these issues quickly to ensure that they do not occur again. I will make sure to share this information with the appropriate staff to let them know improvements are necessary. Thanks Again for yoru feedback.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

After travelling down the west coast from Seattle for 10 days, we were excited about visiting San Francisco. True, the location of the hotel is good if you want to be near downtown and not too expensive, but I have to say that it is old and worn (not in a charming "how cute" kind of way). If you have never been to the city before, the daunting amount of homeless people on Market Street (and the doorstep of the hotel) can give you a wrong impression of the beautiful city. I would not recommend if for someone who is travelling on their own. I also stayed at a charming hotel on Geary Street (and one on Sutter Street a few year before) and have to say that it is a much safer and nicer location and just as close to downtown. The wifi was slow and did not work that great, the beds were a bit soft and there is no fridge or complimentary water. The tv in the room wasn't working and the a/c sounded like a 747 taking off. I am not a very demanding hotel guest, but in this case I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TinafromRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay. We are pleased to know that certain aspects of your stay were pleasant and hope that the other areas you mentioned do not prevent you from staying with us again. Please contact me personally if you should return to the San Francisco area to handle your reservation.

Thanks Again.

kris Betz, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We're do we start all the reviews on here are correct this hotel is RANK ! The room: The base covering on the bed had blood covering it looked like someone had been murdered,the TV is from the 1920's when I turned it on sounded like it was going to catch on fire ! The plaster is falling of with a brown stains on the ceiling. The bathroom is as big as a closet the door hits the sink and makes a dint on the door,there was a dribble stain on the pillow,a sperm stain on the sheet,heater dosent work,stinks so bad very musty smell and the hallway is like a scene out of the shinning ! Outside the hotel: bums hang out everywhere and they use the bathrooms in the hotel,dirty outside everwere its a rough part of town also while we were about a 2 minute walk away there was a stabbing ! DO NOT STAY HERE !!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Texan4855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback about your stay and are dissapointed that you feel that you did not have a positive experience. We are addressing many of the areas that are under our control to make improvements.

Thank You.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I have always found great old hotels and been happy in SF. This is my first bomb. My 17 year old was afraid every time we walked out of the hotel towards the Academy of Art where she was interviewing. She finally learned to keep her head down and not look at anyone.
The front desk people were surly and unhelpful. The bar tender who has been there 20 years and the doorman were both nice.
Elevators are slow and small and in the morning if you need to be on time for something better plan to take the stairs.
Room was ok and clean, the drains are slow, the heater and AC make a lot of noise and smell badly enough to turn off so you can sleep. Bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: Go to the Beresford Arms Hotel. much better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank majordopolix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are dissapointed to know that certain areas of your stay were not positive. We are constantly doing what we can to address issues that are under our control to improve the overall guest experience.

Thanks Again.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#124 of 230 in San Francisco
1,225 reviews
Cova Hotel
#99 of 230 in San Francisco
1,192 reviews
SoMa
Best Western Plus Americania
Best Western Plus Americania
#135 of 230 in San Francisco
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#126 of 230 in San Francisco
814 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#142 of 230 in San Francisco
307 reviews
SoMa
The Good Hotel
The Good Hotel
#191 of 230 in San Francisco
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Whitcomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Whitcomb

Address: 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-1400
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £87 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Whitcomb 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Whitcomb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitcomb Hotel San Francisco
Whitcomb San Francisco
Whitcomb San Fransico
Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing