We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel, not so good area of town”
Review of Hotel Whitcomb

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Whitcomb
Ranked #183 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, not so good area of town”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I stayed here as part of my Contiki Tour, and the rooms were clean with really really comfy beds. The hotel isn't in the best area of town, but is a short walk to Union Square and other things to do. The elevators are quite old and slow, and so you have to be patient when it comes to this. All in all a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us. We love to get feedback from our tour groups and their passangers as they have another unique perspective on the hotel experience. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that if you return to SF you choose us again.

Thanks

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    724
    778
    437
    348
See reviews for
511
901
239
546
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This hotel is has a very beautiful lobby, and has a very old, vintage feel about it. There are lots of elevators although they are quite slow so you wait a short time for one, but its not the worst that i've encountered. The hallways leading to the rooms are a little eyrie, being very long and quiet, but the rooms are nice, again with the vintage feel. The beds are very good! The bathroom that I got was very very small and the shower wasn't very good, but that is all I can fault. Many other reviews talk about the homeless people sitting out the front of the hotel, and theyre are homeless people there but if you walk around San Francisco you find that they homeless are everywhere and they are harmless so it is not something to fault the hotel for. It was nice and I would recommend staying there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel Whitcomb and for providing us your feedback. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the historic feel of the hotel and that you had a great overalll stay. We do hope that if you return to SF from Austrailia you will stay here again.

Thank Again.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We were a big group travelling to San Francisco together and all of us were put up in this hotel. It is very convenient to downtown San Francisco, but the neighbourhood is quite dodgy. I did not feel safe venturing out alone after 8pm, so we usually stuck in groups. The room itself is quite smelly (of urine) and was right opposite the ice machine (which had no door). So throughout the night there would be people using the machine,and waking me up. The hotel itself is quite dated, but it adds to its history. Very helpful staff, in giving advice and directions. Has a Starbucks in the foyer, so breakfast is never a problem. The room did not have any view, and the curtains never close - felt insecure that other guests could potentially look in to my room.

Room Tip: Avoid a room close to the ice machine or the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IT_Traveller2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your stay. We appreciate all the commnets as it helps us improve our guest experience. I will be looking into all areas you mentioned to try make necessary imporvements.

Thank you Again.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stay in this hotel because its near Bart and close to downtown. If you are looking for comfortable beds and friendly staff this is your place. You can also find Starbucks and a restaurant inside the hotel. Rates are very reasonable as compare to other close by places

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experieice with us. We really appreciate the grerat review and hope that we will see you here again in the near future.

Thanks Again.

kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I had a last minute business trip and this hotel was the only one available at the time. This hotel is definitely past its glory days and needs renovation. For me alone it was OK but I will never stay here with family. Check in took forever and room was small with extremely small bathroom. Outside, there are lots of homeless people. The only advantage is that subway station is barely 50 yards so very easy to commute.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CP M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We appreciate all the details you provided. We take every review seriously and do all we can to use this information to better the overlall guest experience.

Thank you.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

A few weeks ago I had the distinct pleasure of staying at the Hotel Whitcomb. I have visited the Hotel Whitcomb a number of times throughout the years [full disclosure, my Dad is the singing doorman], and I have to say that the hotel has undergone a tremendous transformation in the past few years. It has really grown into a beautiful and majestic site. The staff was wonderful to me and my guests. One aspect of the Hotel that I found particularly delightful was the beautiful, informative and educational display in the Crystal Gallery. The gallery display is one of the greatest historical collections assembled, detailing the history of some of San Francisco's greatest entertainment legends, like the Forbidden City, Kubla Khan, Jimbo's Bop City! I felt such a wonderful connection to the great pulsing heart of San Francisco at the Hotel Whitcomb. Civic Center leaves a lot to be desired in terms of neighborhood safety, but it's also the place most accessible to, well, every other place you might want to go when you're in the city!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. But be forewarned, the elevators also have an old world charm as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jalila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitcomb1, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review. It is nice to hear from Larry's daughter as he is a great part of the hotel charm and success. We hope that you get back to SF soon.

Thank You.

Kris Betz, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Fr...
#119 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#138 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Serrano Hotel
#99 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Best Western Plus Americania
Best Western Plus Americania
#129 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#185 of 228 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Cova Hotel
#95 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Whitcomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Whitcomb

Property: Hotel Whitcomb
Address: 1231 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-1400
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Whitcomb 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Whitcomb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitcomb Hotel San Francisco
Whitcomb San Francisco
Whitcomb San Fransico
Hotel Whitcomb San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing