We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
US$324
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$265
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$444
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$287
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$432/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
US$331
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$324
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$288/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$288/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$296/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
US$374
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$368/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$336
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Diva(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (3,325)
Filter reviews
3,325 results
Traveller rating
747
790
865
510
413
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
747
790
865
510
413
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssam's dinercity hallcivic centerhistorical hotelbart stationpublic transportationf linean older hotelearly checkbig cityfew blocksstarbuckssforpheumdoormantrolleypier
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 3,325 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked this hotel due to proximity to downtown but not having to pay an arm and a leg.

Pro:
- pricing is cheaper than some
- historic hotel if you like that stuff
- very helpful and friendly staff

Cons:
- historic hotel with everything old. The hallways even smell old
- internet is very spotty
- bad neighborhood. Lots of homeless around. Either you take taxi, Lyft/Uber or public transit. Otherwise scary outside
- lighting throughout hotel needs improvment. Hallways and rooms a very dark.

Due mainly to the location, poor wifi (we changed rooms due to poor wifi, still not good) and dated furnishings, would not recommend

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Mick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Mick,

We appreciate your comments and we are working to address them.

Kevin V/DOO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were somewhat disappointed by this hotel. The staff was nice, we had clean towels, and security guards at the front of the building which made us feel better.
The lobby was very beautiful but we feel the rooms were not maintained very well.
The lobby gives a false sense of what youre getting. We are not against old hotels but it could use a good cleaning and dusting along with some maintenance work.
The area outside is somewhat frightening, due to the vagrants. Internet and parking was good. There is a Starbucks and the bus/trolley stop is right in front of hotel.
Mattresses need replacing.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Love2Travel682013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments and your concerns are being addressed.

Kevin V/DOO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a very old hotel in downtown San Francisco. It has a rich history as it once was SF's city hall after the earth quake. There are even jail cells in the basement. The room was clean but definitely creepy. No mini fridge inside and the wifi was a little spotty.

Definitely a very eerie hotel to be in, but for the price and location it will do. It isn't the best but definitely not the worst. It is in a great location to get around SF as it is literally on the bart's door steps. The beds were comfy and clean. The bathroom was very tiny.

Stayed: May 2018
2  Thank bianca12345_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We appreciate your comments, we apologize you were not informed we offer refrigerators upon request.

Kevin V/DOO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Check-in was quick and efficient. The building is in a central location. The rooms are old-fashioned but with nice features. Beds were too soft, not good for folks with weak backs. Not all elevators were working. WIFI was available in all rooms and worked well. We were able to walk to many restaurants and other activities.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Stephen,

We appreciate your detailed comments and we are addressing the areas that need correction.

Kevin V/DOO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The lobby is more stunning than any photo could ever depict. The carved wood to the delicate ceiling details, it is breathtaking. The rooms, however, not so much. The room we stayed in was for our wedding. We got the queen bed suite with the anticipation it was larger. It wasnt. The bathroom was quite small, the tub not big enough for one adult, the water pressure was low and the temperature of the water was all over the place. Most of the outlets were useless due to them being too loose. We had to unplug the lamps just to charge our phones.

The staff at the front desk were lovely. The housekeepers were not. We placed the privacy card in the key slot when we left for the wedding. All of our stuff was out, including checks from family that didn't make it out. We didn't want anyone in there. I was heading back to change after the reception and our door is wide opened with a cleaning cart in the doorway. I walked in and asked why they didn't respect the privacy sign and I just got blank looks. I instructed them to leave and got a rude response. Some of the checks were missing as well. Not pleased there.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank julie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin V, Manager at Hotel Whitcomb, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Julie,

I apologize for the incident mentioned and I would like to address it personally, I only ask that you contact to hotel and ask of me, Kevin Veasley, we do take these matters very seriously and would like to assure you we have done and covered everything to resolve this to your satisfaction.

Kevin V/DOO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews