We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable”
Review of Redwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Redwood Inn
Ranked #158 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The primary reason we selected this hotel was for its reasonable price and previously positive reviews. It had a good location and was what we expected, which was positive. The room was clean, nothing special, but nothing alarming. The location and parking were great allowing us to leave our vehicle and walk to the local restaurants and bars and see a show at the Davie's Symphony. The negative I remember was the horrible shower head which felt like I couldn't actually get anything wet that I wanted to wash. The most notable positive is that I slept the night through in peace and quiet. Of note, although there was a kitchen in the room, there were no plates, pots or pans or forks knives etc that I could find in the cabinets. Bring your own if you plan on cooking, or perhaps call ahead. Maybe they're available for loan. The staff at the counter was very helpful and pleasant. When we walked in late at night we were noticed and greeted with a wave which lent to a feeling of safety and oversight. If you just need a place to sleep, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaibacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stumbled across the Redwood as we drove into San Francisco, we've been travelling across the States for some weeks and this was one of the most friendly,helpful hotels we've come across
The owners were so helpful and there knowledge of how best to see the City was great, nothing was too much trouble
Thank you for making our stay memorable
John & Nikki

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WirralNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

A decent hotel which is close enough to the waterfront to walk. Heavy traffic goes right by day and night, and the windows (USA quality!) don't keep out noise or heat. The staff were friendly (we received a few boxes from Amazon), but we would not stay here again, or visit SF anytime soon. So overrated, and full of cheesy attractions. I guess if you're from Akron or the Mid-West, this might be a cool city, but we live in Switzerland which abounds in great coffee (ok, Peet's was a happy find), mountains, very, very old towns & sites, bike paths & routes everywhere and aside from top-notch ice-cream (USA is great for that), and well-priced sea-food (Switzerland sucks), SF was pretty disappointing, as was this hotel. It was poor value for money, as are many on this busy through route (be sure to check location carefully).

Room Tip: If you want a good, quiet room, go to another hotel. In any other less prententious city a motel lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spitzenwein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

One of the several motels we stayed at during our road trip in California. First of all I have to praise the guy in the reception who gave us wonderful tips about the City and places we had to visit. He even gave us a map where he marked everything up for us. The room was a typical Motel room with a fridge and a water boiler. The motel is located on Lombard Street and close to Fisherman's Wharf, Coit Tower and China Town. Free parking and a typical continental breakfast (a pastry and tea / coffee). The room was clean and the beds ok to sleep in, which is all you need when you spend all day exploring the city. I would definitely stay @ this Inn again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Lalander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a recent trip to San Francisco. Staff were all incredibly welcoming and friendly from arrival to departure (and again on a return stay later that week!)

Rooms are clean, comfortable and exceeded all expectations for the price.

It's well situated for exploring nearby Fisherman's Wharf or catching a bus a block away to visit downtown/connect to BART. Or if you fancy walking, be sure to pick up a complimentary donut or two for breakfast in the office to fuel you for those big hills!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank slothburrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed during my huge CA-NV-AR-UT trip. Wanted to stay just 2 nights. Anyway the price was high comparing to what I get. But one great adv - free parking (very rare case in SF - so you can deduct it from the rent payment comparing to other hotels). Rooms are just like in motel - huge windows, very noisy when someone's near the room. Despite the price many suspicious and unwelcoming people wandering near hotel and rooms - watch your stuff. Good location - 7 mins to Harbour and Piers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evgeny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Came over ski week from San Diego for the Chinese New Year parade, and the place was very good. The staff was very kind and friendly. Gonna suggest to my friends who are visiting next month. Thought it was an amazing place and worth the price.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuperTravel90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#89 of 230 in San Francisco
615 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#146 of 230 in San Francisco
153 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#114 of 230 in San Francisco
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#142 of 230 in San Francisco
220 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#148 of 230 in San Francisco
563 reviews
Nob Hill
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Nob Hill Motor Inn
#137 of 230 in San Francisco
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Inn

Address: 1530 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £67 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Redwood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Redwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redwood Hotel San Francisco
Redwood San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing