We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Folks”
Review of Redwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Redwood Inn
Ranked #153 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Folks”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Well maintained rooms and effective cleaning staff - friendly, very welcoming and efficient front-office staff. Manager in-training, Paul went out-of-his way to insure our stay was a good one. We would return!

Room Tip: In the back and upper level keeps you away from most street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn1513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    197
    92
    26
    14
See reviews for
100
185
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We were happy with the room, the price was good and the people in the office were extremely friendly and helpful. The location was excellent. Across the street from a tour bus stop and around the corner from the public bus stop. Also walking distance to the Fisherman's Wharf if you are capable of walking. There were several restaurants nearby that were great for breakfast. We were on the third flour and there was an elevator which is a must for me. Free parking a good selling point for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collie, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

On our arrival the Manager was so friendly. Put us in room 45 on the 4th floor away from the noise. The room is good with a nice bed and fridge and microwave. Bathroom is very small but it's clean so all good. Hotel is close to some restaurants and right across the road from a bus stop. This is great so it's not far to walk. The staff are pleasant and if you need anything will get it for you. They have free donuts in the office every morning, but be quick as they go fast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicki5519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Finding lodging at decent price on thje 4th of July weekend is never going to be easy but we ended up staying at this motel. It was relatively expensive, but taking into account its convenient location and the date it was pretty ok. Nothing specially good, but nothing especielly bad either.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_Duck_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel was perfect for what we were looking for. The staff was excellent! The rooms were simple but great! The location was perfect! The donuts in the morning was a nice touch. Mae was an excellent employee! She was very nice and helpful!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mom02Mom02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We found prices high in the San Francisco area so were quite pleased to find the Redwood Inn in a prime location on Lombard Street (just a few steep blocks from the crookedest street) with parking included. We left our car there and walked to Fisherman's Wharf and took the bus/train to the ball game. The room was very basic but clean, and the staff were friendly and helpful. They only offer donuts in the morning but there is a cute reasonable café just a block away so we had our breakfasts there. The neighborhood has a nice safe residential feel with pastel colored homes to admire. For the price, it was great value and we found a better price on the motel's own website than on the major travel sites.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmArJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kelowna, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel is great value for San Francisco. Its located within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf and has parking included in the price so were were able to park our vehicle and explore the city on foot/public transit. The rooms were clean and comfortable plus there was free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnTheGoLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#80 of 229 in San Francisco
577 reviews
Marina District
Marina Inn
Marina Inn
#178 of 229 in San Francisco
489 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#145 of 229 in San Francisco
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#118 of 229 in San Francisco
752 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#114 of 229 in San Francisco
494 reviews
Marina District
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#186 of 229 in San Francisco
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Inn

Property: Redwood Inn
Address: 1530 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Redwood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Redwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redwood Hotel San Francisco
Redwood San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing