We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Opal San Francisco
Ranked #101 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location for price!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We recently took a group of teenagers on their senior trip to San Francisco and had booked to stay at another inn. After reading some very disturbing reviews we went in search of another place to stay that was within the budget. The Opal was one of the few that came up with a reasonable price and good reviews. The location was great since it was only a bus ride from everywhere with a bus stop practically right outside the door. The rooms were small but reasonable but after seeing the severe lack of space in San Francisco I was impressed with the size they provided. We had a room facing Van Ness but wasn't bothered by any noise. The bedding and pillows weren't spectacular but they kept you warm. The bathroom was neat and clean. Breakfast consisted of muffin, toast, bagel, fruit, and juice. We payed for the parking that the hotel offers and our vehicles were safe from thievery thanks to security gates. Don't be put off by the suspicious looking people who loom in the alleys around the hotel, San Francisco has an extreme number of suspicious looking people who are everywhere but the hotel has several security measures to keep out uninvited guests including an automatic locking front and back door. All in all we were pleased with the service that was given and very happy with the cleanliness for the price!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Planner18950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Planner18950,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our San Francisco hotel! We enjoyed having your group stay with us and are glad you all enjoyed your visit to San Francisco. We hope you will consider us again for your next visit to the city!

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    531
    304
    74
    72
See reviews for
269
351
99
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My friends and I stayed here for one night before heading out to wine country. This hotel is a great deal considering the location and the staff were friendly and helpful. But you get what you pay for. The rooms were cramped and a bit musty and there was no exhaust fan in the bathroom. The Opal delivered on my expectations for a two and a half star hotel- it is clean and the continental breakfast is pretty standard. I would return here but probably just for one night. If you're on a budget you're not going to find a better deal for this location- trust me I spent hours on Kayak and Hotwire.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethanyB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Opal is probably one of the best valued hotels in San Francisco. The central location is perfect for exploring the rest of the city; it's within walking distance of the BART, multiple bus lines, bike rentals, downtown, the pier, and countless interesting neighbourhoods. The hotel is older but classically beautiful and well-maintained. The continental breakfast features, bread, bagels, fruit salad, yogurt, muffins, and various spreads. I also impressed that all of the dishes and utensils used at breakfast are composted while the yogurt cups are recycled. This is not a five star hotel so you won't be basking in luxuries but you will find a clean, comfortable room with free wifi and helpful staff. I would definitely stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VanAlexica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

The opal is centrally located and with the muni buses you can go anywhere from right outside there door. I recommend not renting a car and using the buses. The room was big and roomy and the beds very comfortable. Continental breakfast was just right to get the day started and saved money. The front doors were always secure but never really had any issues with the local folks. They have free wifi just make sure you don't accidentally hit for the faster that costs. Will stay there again if I ever am back in San Francisco.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Daveclark007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambria, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel was easy to find but the parking was ridiculous. We had to walk through the AMC Theater with our bags from the parking garage to get to Van Ness where the hotel was. The building is very old. As are all the furnishings in the room. Ok for one night but wouldn't stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Vespagal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leavenworth, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Great little hotel for business with family. Within 20 to 30 min walk to little Italy and China town. We loved the old world charm of this little gem. Parking fee is $ 30; average to below average tot this city. I will return to this hotel for business or R &R. Our stay was greaf

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RMOZART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My wife and I researched way too many hotels in SF for our visit. We selected the OPAL for a few nights and were very happy with the choice. The rooms are nice and clean, staff very friendly and exceptionally helpful. The location is a few miles from Fishermans Wharf, Pier 39, etc. It's not an easy walk, however there is public transportation right outside the front door.
We didn't have the breakfast but hey you're paying $150 so don't expect a lot. We did go to Mel's - not to sure on the hype for the place. Food was okay, prices okay, service bad and slow.

Overall we really liked the Opal. A historical type feel to the place with a nice big lobby area. Close to public transportation but far enough away from the main attractions that you don't have to worry about noise at 1 a.m.

The homeless are not an issue. The streets are busy enough at night that safety shouldn't be a concern. But hey if you're out at 1:30 a.m. good luck to ya! There is a movie theatre right next store which seemed busy for a weekday.

The only iffy part of the stay was the AC. Not very good, but we went in March so it didn't matter too much. This is a really nice hotel, clean, good price, convenient and really good location. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room didn't face the main street so we had no issue w/noise. Windows can be open - but once...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeffh104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#77 of 229 in San Francisco
1,344 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#129 of 229 in San Francisco
777 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#91 of 229 in San Francisco
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serrano Hotel
#93 of 229 in San Francisco
2,678 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#100 of 229 in San Francisco
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opal San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opal San Francisco

Property: The Opal San Francisco
Address: 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-6934
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Opal San Francisco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opal San Francisco is in the heart of San Francisco, walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown, Civic Center, and more! This family-friendly hotel is close to Union Square and Lombard Street. Make yourself at home in one of the 167 air-conditioned rooms featuring LED televisions. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and cable programming is available for your entertainment. Private bathrooms with bathtubs or showers feature complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. Conveniences include desks and irons/ironing boards, as well as phones with free local calls. Take advantage of recreation opportunities such as a fitness center, or other amenities including complimentary wireless Internet access and concierge services. This hotel also features tour/ticket assistance and assistance with planning your day. Satisfy your appetite at the Mel's Diner, which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, or grab a snack at the many nearby restaurants. Featured amenities include limited onsite gated parking (for $41/tax per night), on-site ATM, ice machine, vending machines, and dry cleaning/laundry services. A shuttle from the hotel to the airport is provided for a surcharge (available on request). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Opal San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opal San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Opal Hotel San Francisco
Opal San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing