We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel never fails me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Opal San Francisco
Ranked #107 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is a great little hotel for a short stay in San Francisco. The staff are very good and nothing is too much. The location is good with about a 15 minute walk to Union Square / Powell Street and market street shopping and an easy bus or cab ride to Fisherman's wharf and other local attractions. I tend to walk in this city. free wifi and a cafe style breakfast. It's not a hilton or Marriott and Some of the decor is a little tired but it doesn't set out to be a 5 star hotel. It has parking and a small gym.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front on the 4 or 5 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ais0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Ais0n,

Thank you for noting our close proximity to Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf, and other attractions! We are an older hotel and may not have all of the bells & whistles of the big name hotels, but we try to make it up with our service and charm.

Thank you for your continued patronage of The Opal San Francisco! We look forward to welcoming you again!

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 377 of 1,175 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is a reasonably priced decent hotel. Rooms are clean and you can have a good sleep there. The main issue may be the location - to get there from the Union Square you need to walk ~15 min. through the Tenderloin neighborhood. Especially in the evening/night for some people it may be quite scary - plenty of lunatics, junkies and shady people. However, I had never experienced any unpleasant or dangerous situation, even when walking alone in the middle of night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wojtek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Wojtek T,

Thank you for your review! San Francisco has dozens of unique neighborhoods, which makes the city such a vibrant place to visit!

Our hotel is located in the Civic Center, on the outskirts of the Tenderloin. Our central location means that it's easy for our guests to use our hotel as a convenient "homebase" as they visit the sites around the city. We are only 15 minutes away from Fisherman's Wharf, and 15 minutes away from Union Square shopping.

Thank you again for your review, and we hope you stay with us again on your next visit to San Francisco!

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Located a little bit outside the center & not too easy to reach by public transport, it was a choice of need... Nevertheless the room was clean and the absolute minimal breakfast satisfactory, Im not sure whether I would go again but in the warped SF price range this was not the worst place one could have gotten into...

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank B V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear B V,

Thank you for your review!

Our Hotel is located right on the 47 - Van Ness public bus line which takes you directly to Fisherman's Wharf heading North, and to downtown/Castro heading South. There is also the 38 - Geary bus stop located 1-block away from the hotel, which will take you to Union Square or to the Cliff House in Ocean Beach.

We hope you give us another try on your next visit to San Francisco!

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

It was very nice and cute hotel
With perfect location in heart of Downtown , 10 min by walk from Union square))
in the area is full of restaurants and cafes
View on Van Ness ave
the staff is very responsive and accommodating))
We was really surprised with so good choice

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Akopyan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Akopyan S,

The Van Ness Avenue corridor and Civic Center has many dining options to choose from. On your next visit to our Hotel, please stop by our Guest Services desk for some great recommendations on food in San Francisco.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a very old hotel. The matresses are old, the bathroom and the facilities in general seem like 20 years old at best. Everything was clean but ceartainly it wasn't a 100% dream stay. Maybe the worst part of this hotel is the location, right next to the Tenderloin district with lots of homeless and drug soliciting. We had to take big walks in order to avoid going through the Tenderloin everything we get in and out of the hotel. You definitely can do better in SF.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miguel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Miguel M,

Thank you for your review. It is true that we are an older hotel with older facilities. We have an exciting renovation project planned in the not too distant future, and our hotel product will improve greatly when that happens.

In the meantime, however, we are an older hotel but we try to make up for it with charm and incredible service. We hope you give us another try on your next visit to San Francisco!

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Pleasant, clean if slightly musty hotel at the edge of Tenderloin. Rock bottom Hotwire rate. Attracts more affluent backpackers, Euro budget crowd. Staff pleasant. Roomsclean. Decent continental breakfast included. Get a corner room, they are bigger.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Fstein,

Thank you for your review!

We are very happy that you found our rooms to be clean and our staff pleasant. We are an older hotel, but we are well maintained and take pride in providing great service.

We hope you stay with us again for your next visit to San Francisco!

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The room was small, but it didn't really matter since you're right in the middle of the city and we weren't in the room a lot anyways, only to sleep and shower. It was actually a lot nicer than I had expected it to be, was clean and was actually pretty nice. Also the breakfast was good too, I don't eat much anyways so toast/bagel and juice was perfect. Staff wasn't helpful checking in, but on our way out the lady was really nice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amylfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Amy B,

Thank you for your response! We believe our central location is one of our hotel's biggest selling points! We are located right in the middle of the city, central to all that San Francisco has to offer.

We are an older hotel, but we are well maintained and we take great pride in what we do. We are very happy that our hotel exceeded your expectations!

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#119 of 231 in San Francisco
1,080 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#72 of 231 in San Francisco
1,443 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Music City Hotel
#117 of 231 in San Francisco
435 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#83 of 231 in San Francisco
667 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#185 of 231 in San Francisco
3,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opal San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opal San Francisco

Address: 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-6934
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £140 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Opal San Francisco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opal San Francisco is in the heart of San Francisco, walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown, Civic Center, and more! This family-friendly hotel is close to Union Square and Lombard Street. Make yourself at home in one of the 167 air-conditioned rooms featuring LED televisions. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and cable programming is available for your entertainment. Private bathrooms with bathtubs or showers feature complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. Conveniences include desks and irons/ironing boards, as well as phones with free local calls. Take advantage of recreation opportunities such as a fitness center, or other amenities including complimentary wireless Internet access and concierge services. This hotel also features tour/ticket assistance and assistance with planning your day. Satisfy your appetite at the Mel's Diner, which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, or grab a snack at the many nearby restaurants. Featured amenities include limited onsite gated parking (for $41/tax per night), on-site ATM, ice machine, vending machines, and dry cleaning/laundry services. A shuttle from the hotel to the airport is provided for a surcharge (available on request). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Opal San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opal San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Opal Hotel San Francisco
Opal San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing