We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at The Opal!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Opal San Francisco
Ranked #101 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay at The Opal!!!!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Great Hotel including central Location to transit, shopping and food......awesome customer service and cleanliness. Nice wine welcome in beautiful lobby. Will definitely return to this Hotel! The only thing that would have made our stay more enjoyable would have been a coffee machine in room, but did have good coffee available in lobby. Overall........very nice! Maria Zburlea at front desk was very nice and helpful

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Mark S,

Thank you for your wonderful review! Maria is one of our most dedicated team members at The Opal and she will be absolutely thrilled to hear your comments!

Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    531
    304
    74
    72
See reviews for
269
351
99
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is a great little hotel for a short stay in San Francisco. The staff are very good and nothing is too much. The location is good with about a 15 minute walk to Union Square / Powell Street and market street shopping and an easy bus or cab ride to Fisherman's wharf and other local attractions. I tend to walk in this city. free wifi and a cafe style breakfast. It's not a hilton or Marriott and Some of the decor is a little tired but it doesn't set out to be a 5 star hotel. It has parking and a small gym.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front on the 4 or 5 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ais0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Ais0n,

Thank you for noting our close proximity to Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf, and other attractions! We are an older hotel and may not have all of the bells & whistles of the big name hotels, but we try to make it up with our service and charm.

Thank you for your continued patronage of The Opal San Francisco! We look forward to welcoming you again!

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is a reasonably priced decent hotel. Rooms are clean and you can have a good sleep there. The main issue may be the location - to get there from the Union Square you need to walk ~15 min. through the Tenderloin neighborhood. Especially in the evening/night for some people it may be quite scary - plenty of lunatics, junkies and shady people. However, I had never experienced any unpleasant or dangerous situation, even when walking alone in the middle of night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wojtek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Wojtek T,

Thank you for your review! San Francisco has dozens of unique neighborhoods, which makes the city such a vibrant place to visit!

Our hotel is located in the Civic Center, on the outskirts of the Tenderloin. Our central location means that it's easy for our guests to use our hotel as a convenient "homebase" as they visit the sites around the city. We are only 15 minutes away from Fisherman's Wharf, and 15 minutes away from Union Square shopping.

Thank you again for your review, and we hope you stay with us again on your next visit to San Francisco!

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Located a little bit outside the center & not too easy to reach by public transport, it was a choice of need... Nevertheless the room was clean and the absolute minimal breakfast satisfactory, Im not sure whether I would go again but in the warped SF price range this was not the worst place one could have gotten into...

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank B V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear B V,

Thank you for your review!

Our Hotel is located right on the 47 - Van Ness public bus line which takes you directly to Fisherman's Wharf heading North, and to downtown/Castro heading South. There is also the 38 - Geary bus stop located 1-block away from the hotel, which will take you to Union Square or to the Cliff House in Ocean Beach.

We hope you give us another try on your next visit to San Francisco!

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

It was very nice and cute hotel
With perfect location in heart of Downtown , 10 min by walk from Union square))
in the area is full of restaurants and cafes
View on Van Ness ave
the staff is very responsive and accommodating))
We was really surprised with so good choice

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Akopyan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Akopyan S,

The Van Ness Avenue corridor and Civic Center has many dining options to choose from. On your next visit to our Hotel, please stop by our Guest Services desk for some great recommendations on food in San Francisco.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a very old hotel. The matresses are old, the bathroom and the facilities in general seem like 20 years old at best. Everything was clean but ceartainly it wasn't a 100% dream stay. Maybe the worst part of this hotel is the location, right next to the Tenderloin district with lots of homeless and drug soliciting. We had to take big walks in order to avoid going through the Tenderloin everything we get in and out of the hotel. You definitely can do better in SF.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Miguel M,

Thank you for your review. It is true that we are an older hotel with older facilities. We have an exciting renovation project planned in the not too distant future, and our hotel product will improve greatly when that happens.

In the meantime, however, we are an older hotel but we try to make up for it with charm and incredible service. We hope you give us another try on your next visit to San Francisco!

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Pleasant, clean if slightly musty hotel at the edge of Tenderloin. Rock bottom Hotwire rate. Attracts more affluent backpackers, Euro budget crowd. Staff pleasant. Roomsclean. Decent continental breakfast included. Get a corner room, they are bigger.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Fstein,

Thank you for your review!

We are very happy that you found our rooms to be clean and our staff pleasant. We are an older hotel, but we are well maintained and take pride in providing great service.

We hope you stay with us again for your next visit to San Francisco!

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#77 of 229 in San Francisco
1,344 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#129 of 229 in San Francisco
777 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#91 of 229 in San Francisco
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serrano Hotel
#93 of 229 in San Francisco
2,678 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#100 of 229 in San Francisco
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opal San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opal San Francisco

Property: The Opal San Francisco
Address: 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-6934
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Opal San Francisco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opal San Francisco is in the heart of San Francisco, walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown, Civic Center, and more! This family-friendly hotel is close to Union Square and Lombard Street. Make yourself at home in one of the 167 air-conditioned rooms featuring LED televisions. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and cable programming is available for your entertainment. Private bathrooms with bathtubs or showers feature complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. Conveniences include desks and irons/ironing boards, as well as phones with free local calls. Take advantage of recreation opportunities such as a fitness center, or other amenities including complimentary wireless Internet access and concierge services. This hotel also features tour/ticket assistance and assistance with planning your day. Satisfy your appetite at the Mel's Diner, which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, or grab a snack at the many nearby restaurants. Featured amenities include limited onsite gated parking (for $41/tax per night), on-site ATM, ice machine, vending machines, and dry cleaning/laundry services. A shuttle from the hotel to the airport is provided for a surcharge (available on request). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Opal San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opal San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Opal Hotel San Francisco
Opal San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing