We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and large room that's it. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Opal San Francisco
Ranked #99 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Clean and large room that's it. ”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

The room was clean and spacious. Staff friendly and prompt. Breakfast was very basic with no cereal, no apples, oranges nor bran bakery . I expected more in a health conscious city. Hotel was 8 blocks from our Hop on Hop off bus tour. Overall a decent stay because the room is the most important.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rgwmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear rgwmil,

Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear that we met most of your expectations during your stay with us!

We continually strive to improve our product and will take note of your suggestions for our breakfast. Currently, we offer a Complimentary Continental Breakfast which consists of fruit, bagels, toasts, hard boiled eggs, juices, and more.

Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope you choose The Opal San Francisco again for your next visit to The City!

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    527
    302
    73
    70
See reviews for
264
348
99
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, SC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

First let me way that we chose this place because of where it was at and the price was right. We like to walk while on vacation and this was a fairly safe place in San Francisco. If you have ever been to SF you would know what I mean. Vagrants are everywhere in this city EXCEPT along the waterfront which you can walk to in about 20 minutes. Union Square was about a 10 minute walk away. The hotel has controlled access at all the right places even in the garage. I rented 2 rooms, one for teenage kids and one for me and the wife. The kids room was good and clean. They had queen beds and a fairly new flat screen TV. So far so good right? BTW they had a good selection of cable TV channels.

Contrast that with my and my wife's room. There were stains of the carpeted floor, cracks in the ceiling and a tube type CRT TV. I NEVER saw any bugs. The AC works well in the bedroom but there is not an exhaust fan or AC vent in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was basically juice, coffee, bagels with cream cheese and jelly, toast (we called this "Toasts of the World" because of the selections of bread), hard boiled eggs and muffins. BTW we only stayed here for 2 nights and were only in the room to sleep. If I had been on a business trip this room would not have worked at all because of the noise and the lack of work space. My room faced Van Ness and it was so noisy from the traffic, (fire trucks and Police cars siren's screaming seemed to be right in the room with you.) I did see one other King room while I was there and did not see any problems with their room. The King rooms are not that big but not really tiny either. The Rooms with 2 queen beds were much bigger and updated. I guess I should have complained about the room but it was for 2 nights and we barely were there. One more thing: The bathrooms in the King bedroom are tiny.

The front desk staff were great. and the maid on our floor was very nice.

Check out Mel's next door for a good meal but beware that prices are really high in this city. How many of us have paid $14 for a hamburger with fries. The soft drink was ONLY $2.75. The food is good.

Room Tip: Chose the double queen deluxe. the view may suck but it's quieter and nicer. Check is not until...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donald29316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Donald293136,

Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel!

I am sorry that you felt like your expectations were not met after seeing your kids' room. Our hotel has undergone a minor refresh on some of the rooms, but we take incredible pride in providing a consistent experience for all of our guests. We work very hard to ensure that our entire hotel is well-maintained and clean.

As far as the noise, we are located in the middle of Downtown/Civic Center in one of the busiest and most densely populated cities in the world. Unfortunately, that also means that it can be quite noisy at times, especially when there are conventions and events in the area. I apologize that we were not able to find you a room away from the street.

Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope you give us another try on your next visit to the city!

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with two friends and thought it was a cute and cozy place. It is not that close to Union Square we had to catch a cab to Union Square didnt cost much about $6.00 but well worth it considering how much you would save on accommodation. Staff were so nice and helpful went above and beyond to help us with directions and to organize airport pick up. We also left some items behind and they were express posted to us back to Australia. Many thanks to Maria for doing that for us. The only negative would be a little bit dated the hotel furniture is pretty daggy very floral. But one again great value for money.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Aida Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Aida Z,

Thank you for your review of our cozy Civic Center hotel!

Our staff takes great pride in providing memorable experiences for our guests, and will be thrilled to hear your feedback! Maria is one of our most dedicated team members and your comments will make her day!

Thank you again, and we hope you stay with us again for your next visit to the City by the Bay!

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thonotosassa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The rooms are small and if you want to use a roll away bed you are stuck with a first floor room. The rooms face the parking lot so they have no view. you have to rearrange all the furniture to make the roll away bed fit in the room, which just fits if you think it through. They do not have a swimming pool if you are hoping to swim with the kids. No refrigerators or coffee pots in the rooms. They do have free coffee, tea, and hot chocolate in the lobby at all times.

The shower and the bathroom in general was small. The one light located on the ceiling was hard to find the switch for. The mattresses where all hard to sleep on. most of them where hard and lumpy.

The free breakfast is very basic but does not include milk or cereal for kids. if you want that you need to go to Mel's Dinner that is connected to the Hotel. Good food.

The staff are very friendly and helpful when asking for anything especially directions. Which when you go if you have never been there before, remember parking is expensive. At the hotel it is $35.00 a day.

Room Tip: Larger rooms are on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 32Carrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear 32Carrie,

Thank you for your review of our hotel!

Although we are an older hotel, we try to offer a great value to our guests. We offer complimentary coffee and hot chocolate in the lobby available 24/7. Our breakfast is continental and we offer a wide selection of muffins, bagels, toasts, hard boiled eggs, juices, etc. during our breakfast hours of 6:30 AM to 10:00 AM.

Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again for your next visit to San Francisco!

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I have no real opinion on this hotel, I had no problems here the rooms are fine the showers could do with a bit more water pressure, the hotel is dated but I knew that already. The reception staff were great and really helpful! There is no form of concierge service this is quite important to me for all day to day things. I asked for a taxi and I got told I was better off standing outside and waiting for one, (this can take time) I asked about getting some flowers sent to a room and they couldn't arrange this just gave me directions to the nearest florist this is completely useless if it's meant to be a surprise, the breakfast is fine no problems at all.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gorsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Gorsk,

Thank you for your review! Our team takes personal pride in providing excellent customer service, and will be thrilled to hear your comments!

Although we don't have a dedicated concierge on our staff, we do have our Guest Services Agents who can assist you with anything you need such as tours, transportation, suggestions for what to do around the city, etc.

I am sorry we were not able to assist you with your flower delivery request, but that is certainly something we can start doing from now on.

Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again on your next visit to San Francisco!

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The room was clean and comfortable...my number one requirement. Our room had a LARGE walk-in closet that was great for storing our bags out of the way. The air conditioner was quiet and didn't disturb our sleep. We were able to open the windows (how novel!) and it was nice to have fresh air when we didn't need the air conditioner. Free Wi-fi was accessible in our room.

Breakfast (included) was reasonable. Yogurt, fruit salad, breads and bagels, juice, coffee. Enough to get you started. Breakfast staff very pleasant. There was coffee and tea available in the lobby 24/7.

Laundry facilities consist of one washing machine and one dryer. Located near the garage, across from the basic fitness room. I didn't use either the laundry or the fitness room, but they appeared to be clean. They are located in a rather remote area of the hotel, and I wouldn't leave my laundry unattended anywhere, so if I was to use the laundry I would make a point of using the fitness facilities while I waited on it so that I could keep an eye on it.

Front desk staff were generally pleasant and helpful. However, we did receive bad advice on getting to the ball park. It is NOT a case of getting on the #49 bus and it taking you straight there. Also, we didn't receive the wake up call we requested.

We were aware that the location was not the best, but I expect that's why the price was reasonable...for San Francisco. The Opal is in the Tenderloin area of the city, which you'll find out if you take any tours is considered to be the 'seedier' part of the city. We (two older women) didn't encounter any problems, but we were aware of the many homeless people in the area. We ended up not going to a ball game because we weren't comfortable with the idea of walking around the area late at night, and were warned that it was very hard, if not impossible, to get a cab at the ballpark. The hotel is a 15 minute walk from Union Square, which is a stop for one of the hop-on, hop-off bus tours. Also, the city transit bus stops on the same block as the hotel. The bus ride to the Embarcadero area is 20 to 30 minutes. But if you have to be somewhere at a certain time (for example, to catch the ferry to Alcatraz), plan accordingly. The first bus was too full, and we had to wait for the second bus. The bus stops had electronic signs advising you when the next bus was due to arrive.

The front doors of the hotel are locked and you can gain access with your room key or by being 'buzzed' in by the front desk. The shuttle service that we booked to take us to the airport (arranged by the front desk) came into the lobby to find us so that we didn't have to stand outside in the early hours (4:00 a.m.). Overall, we felt safe staying here.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Janet O,

Thank you for such a detailed review of our hotel! We are very happy to hear that we were able to provide you a comfortable and relaxing stay while you were here. We like to think that all of our amenities (complimentary breakfast, wifi, fitness center, etc.) create a great value for our guests, and appreciate your comments on those areas. We take your feedback seriously and will use it to better improve our hotel.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope you visit us again soon!

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Great Hotel including central Location to transit, shopping and food......awesome customer service and cleanliness. Nice wine welcome in beautiful lobby. Will definitely return to this Hotel! The only thing that would have made our stay more enjoyable would have been a coffee machine in room, but did have good coffee available in lobby. Overall........very nice! Maria Zburlea at front desk was very nice and helpful

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Mark S,

Thank you for your wonderful review! Maria is one of our most dedicated team members at The Opal and she will be absolutely thrilled to hear your comments!

Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#126 of 229 in San Francisco
769 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,328 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 229 in San Francisco
2,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serrano Hotel
#97 of 229 in San Francisco
2,626 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#92 of 229 in San Francisco
1,005 reviews
Cova Hotel
#95 of 229 in San Francisco
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opal San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opal San Francisco

Property: The Opal San Francisco
Address: 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-6934
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Opal San Francisco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opal San Francisco is in the heart of San Francisco, walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown, Civic Center, and more! This family-friendly hotel is close to Union Square and Lombard Street. Make yourself at home in one of the 167 air-conditioned rooms featuring iPod docking stations and LED televisions. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and cable programming is available for your entertainment. Private bathrooms with bathtubs or showers feature complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. Conveniences include desks and irons/ironing boards, as well as phones with free local calls. Take advantage of recreation opportunities such as a fitness center, or other amenities including complimentary wireless Internet access and concierge services. This hotel also features tour/ticket assistance and assistance with planning your day. Satisfy your appetite at the Mel's Diner, which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, or grab a snack at the many nearby restaurants. Featured amenities include limited onsite gated parking (for $41/tax per night), on-site ATM, ice machine, vending machines, and dry cleaning/laundry services. A shuttle from the hotel to the airport is provided for a surcharge (available on request). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Opal San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opal San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Opal Hotel San Francisco
Opal San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing