We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Opal San Francisco
Ranked #101 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Singapore River, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Although an older hotel, we had newly refurbished room, two double beds, big enough for 2 teenagers, + M&D. Comfortable stay, interesting location. Breakfast OK but crowded Go to Tommy Joynt over road for great food & experience. Also deco movie theatre next door.
Top attractions were 1) Cable car - awesome, 2) bay cruise GG bridge + Alcatraz 3) Magician Peter Morrison (v.close to hotel) 4) Lombard st. 5) Ferry to Sausalito for lunch at Scoma's
Get 3 day Muni pass for transport - bus, cable car etc. very easy to get around
Biggest disappoint Science museum, U$125 for family of 4 - v.small, no compare to big (free) Brit museums
Also did coach trip Grand Canyon, Yosemite, Vegas - do it!!

Room Tip: Ask for newly refurbished room, some older rooms are smelly
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    526
    300
    73
    70
See reviews for
261
348
98
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 11 nights for a business trip.
It was okay to begin with, I would only stay during the evenings.
My first observation was that the breakfast selection was pretty poor but that was about it.

It just went from okay to worse.
On my last night stay, my pyjamas disappeared from my room and when I called to enquire they washed their hands off me. The next morning upon checkout, the same.
The receptionist took my email address but made no attempt whatsoever to apologise for the inconvenience.

A few weeks later, checking my credit card statement and I've been overcharged over $40 on my credit card, without receiving a receipt.
When I called from Australia, it took about 30 minutes for the receptionist to do the maths and another 30 minutes to get my email address.

Do yourself a favour, there's plenty of other hotels around the place.

Room Tip: Try to pick a room that doesn't face in to Van Ness Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariella3422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The lobby was beautiful and unexpected. It was a very old building with character. We stayed 2 nights and found the room a little cramped for 4 but still very nice. Someone on our floor was smoking in their room and after we and other complained, they comped us a free day of parking. The hotel was not far from everything and only a block or so from bus, taxi and trolley. I would stay there again if I could get the room at a better price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. If not you will be looking at the wall of the building next to you. We h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The lobby is cute and it is nice to know the doors to get into the hotel itself are locked unless you have a key. The room was a decent size for just two people but the carpets were stained and it was virtually impossible to sleep. You can hear everything from the streets as if you were down there on the sidewalk. Also it was incredibly hot in the rooms even with the AC and with the loud noise from outside already causing lack of sleep, opening the window wasn't an option.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Amanda H,

Thank you for your feedback!

We sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay with us. If you could, please contact me at jhung@theopalsf.com, and let me know the room number of the room you stayed in so that we can thoroughly investigate the issues you mentioned.

Thank you again for choosing The Opal for your visit to San Francisco. We are sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations this time around. If you give us another try on your next visit to the city, we promise it will be better.

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeport, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The Opal is an old hotel with lots of charm. The staff is friendly, welcoming, and always ready to help with your requests. The rooms are clean and well kept. The beds are comfortable. Even though it's located on two very busy streets, the rooms are quiet. One of the things that makes this hotel a gem is it's convenience. It has secure parking. Located on Geary and Van Ness, it's super easy to get anywhere in the city by bus. They serve a light, but nutritious breakfast. For larger appetites, there's Mel's Diner right next door and Tommy's Joint across the street. Both are SF landmarks in a way.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieQ1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear SuzieQ1971,

Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be welcoming and friendly. We are an older hotel, as you mentioned, but we try to make up for our lack of some of the modern amenities by giving outstanding service, and by providing a great value for our guests - such as the complimentary continental breakfast. We know our guests need fuel and energy to hike all of those San Francisco hills!

All of our team takes a huge amount of pride in our little San Francisco hotel. We may not be quite as fancy as the big names, but we try harder than anyone out there. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the city!

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I got a heck of a deal on this place, and figured, what the heck, how bad can it be? Well, the room smelled like marijuana, the desk staff was beyond rude, and the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor: my shoes were literally soaked. Great location, though, so if you just need a place to store your stuff while you hit the town, this might work. But we checked out after the first night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Brendan P,

Thank you for your feedback. It looks like your hotel stay was bad in Portland too! We apologize that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay with us. I am sorry that you checked out with us after the first night of your trip, and hope that the next hotel you stayed in was more to your liking.

Thank you again for your review, and we hope you give us another try on your next visit to the city.

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

As a rule I only stay in 4 Star hotels/resorts however my friend and I decided to take the kids to California on a 14 day tour of the Cali coast so we had to be frugal with our hotel stays. This is hard for me but not hard for her. We were taking turns choosing and paying for hotels. She chose The Opal and I was(to say the least) not happy and Very Concerned after reading dime negative reviews. She pointed out that the reviews were from a long time ago and to read the newer reviews and I did which, yes, they were good but the price on The discount sites were so much lower than the other 3 Stars that I was Very Concerned!!!
Upon check in and throughout the stay the staff members were great. Our room
Was large and VERY CLEAN!! The beds were VERY COMFORTABLE and the bedding was soft. The towels were super soft too. (The previous few nights we stayed at a Wyndham and the towels were not.)
The free breakfast was nice too. Fresh fruit, juices, hit teas and cocoa, bagels toast, boiled eggs and great yogurt, not the cheap stuff.
They had a secure parking which was great for 2 ladies w kids coming in late at night. :-))
I would MOST Definitely stay there again!!!!
You can't be the price!!!!!

I believe they are doing everything that they can do to change their image.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TTchristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear TTchristian,

Thank you for such a wonderful review of our hotel! Exceeding expectations is what we are all about!

Our team takes incredible pride in our hotel, and we strive to ensure that all of our guests have a pleasant experience while they are with us.

We are not trying to be the "cheapest" hotel on the block, but we do want our guests to feel like they are receiving a tremendous value when staying with us - which is why we provide the complimentary continental breakfast, etc.

We look forward to your next visit to The Opal! We are so glad that we have you as a loyal guest! Thank you again!

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 228 in San Francisco
1,326 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#126 of 228 in San Francisco
768 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 228 in San Francisco
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#92 of 228 in San Francisco
1,000 reviews
Cova Hotel
#97 of 228 in San Francisco
1,136 reviews
Serrano Hotel
#99 of 228 in San Francisco
2,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opal San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opal San Francisco

Property: The Opal San Francisco
Address: 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-6934
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Opal San Francisco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opal San Francisco is in the heart of San Francisco, walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown, Civic Center, and more! This family-friendly hotel is close to Union Square and Lombard Street. Make yourself at home in one of the 167 air-conditioned rooms featuring iPod docking stations and LED televisions. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and cable programming is available for your entertainment. Private bathrooms with bathtubs or showers feature complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. Conveniences include desks and irons/ironing boards, as well as phones with free local calls. Take advantage of recreation opportunities such as a fitness center, or other amenities including complimentary wireless Internet access and concierge services. This hotel also features tour/ticket assistance and assistance with planning your day. Satisfy your appetite at the Mel's Diner, which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, or grab a snack at the many nearby restaurants. Featured amenities include limited onsite gated parking (for $41/tax per night), on-site ATM, ice machine, vending machines, and dry cleaning/laundry services. A shuttle from the hotel to the airport is provided for a surcharge (available on request). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Opal San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opal San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Opal Hotel San Francisco
Opal San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing