We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodations for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Opal San Francisco
Ranked #103 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good accommodations for the price”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I was a little apprehensive pulling up to the hotel because it was not what I expected but once inside, the wonderful staff put me at ease. My room was a nice size and cleaned daily. The continental breakfast helped our budget. The front desk answered all our questions and gave great suggestions. Again as my mother would say, don't judge a book by its cover!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newyourka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    531
    304
    74
    72
See reviews for
269
351
99
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The Opal met our expectations and more. Perhaps after reading all the reviews on how terrible it was, we were not expecting much! We had the large superior room on the 5th floor at the back, and this had 2 queen beds with a double pull out bed - fitted our family of 5 well. It was quiet from the noise of the road but as our room was opposite the "ice room", we could occasionally hear people getting ice at 5am! Breakfast was the same daily but the provisions suited our needs. Breakfast room is a bit small and you have wait a little for a table and chair.
The location was great - could get the bus/tram going many directions in the city with the stops just 1min walk. We bought the City Pass which made our mode of transport so easy. Reception staff were good & helpful, especially Sergio. He constantly had a smile despite multiple customers at the desk.
We did not go to Mel's Diners but had a couple of quick dinners at Tomy's Joynt which is directly opposite the hotel - value for money. Hotel is about 10 - 15 min walk to Union Sq if you enjoy walking.
Just a few things to note of the hotel:
- water pressure a tad on the light side for showering
- ceilings and some parts of the walls could do with a coat of paint
- laundry only had 1 washer and 1 dryer which cost $1.50 per cycle each. The dryer did not dry very well on 1 round and we had to spend another $1.50 to ensure complete dryness. Not ideal (compared to other hotels which did the job in 1 round of 45mins).
- the carpet looks a tad old and dirty. Maybe could do with steam cleaning and getting the stains out!
Apart from that, The Opal was good for us.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the back of the hotel - it's quiet, unless you prefer view of the road and tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ewwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore River, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Although an older hotel, we had newly refurbished room, two double beds, big enough for 2 teenagers, + M&D. Comfortable stay, interesting location. Breakfast OK but crowded Go to Tommy Joynt over road for great food & experience. Also deco movie theatre next door.
Top attractions were 1) Cable car - awesome, 2) bay cruise GG bridge + Alcatraz 3) Magician Peter Morrison (v.close to hotel) 4) Lombard st. 5) Ferry to Sausalito for lunch at Scoma's
Get 3 day Muni pass for transport - bus, cable car etc. very easy to get around
Biggest disappoint Science museum, U$125 for family of 4 - v.small, no compare to big (free) Brit museums
Also did coach trip Grand Canyon, Yosemite, Vegas - do it!!

Room Tip: Ask for newly refurbished room, some older rooms are smelly
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 11 nights for a business trip.
It was okay to begin with, I would only stay during the evenings.
My first observation was that the breakfast selection was pretty poor but that was about it.

It just went from okay to worse.
On my last night stay, my pyjamas disappeared from my room and when I called to enquire they washed their hands off me. The next morning upon checkout, the same.
The receptionist took my email address but made no attempt whatsoever to apologise for the inconvenience.

A few weeks later, checking my credit card statement and I've been overcharged over $40 on my credit card, without receiving a receipt.
When I called from Australia, it took about 30 minutes for the receptionist to do the maths and another 30 minutes to get my email address.

Do yourself a favour, there's plenty of other hotels around the place.

Room Tip: Try to pick a room that doesn't face in to Van Ness Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariella3422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The lobby was beautiful and unexpected. It was a very old building with character. We stayed 2 nights and found the room a little cramped for 4 but still very nice. Someone on our floor was smoking in their room and after we and other complained, they comped us a free day of parking. The hotel was not far from everything and only a block or so from bus, taxi and trolley. I would stay there again if I could get the room at a better price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. If not you will be looking at the wall of the building next to you. We h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The lobby is cute and it is nice to know the doors to get into the hotel itself are locked unless you have a key. The room was a decent size for just two people but the carpets were stained and it was virtually impossible to sleep. You can hear everything from the streets as if you were down there on the sidewalk. Also it was incredibly hot in the rooms even with the AC and with the loud noise from outside already causing lack of sleep, opening the window wasn't an option.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Amanda H,

Thank you for your feedback!

We sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay with us. If you could, please contact me at jhung@theopalsf.com, and let me know the room number of the room you stayed in so that we can thoroughly investigate the issues you mentioned.

Thank you again for choosing The Opal for your visit to San Francisco. We are sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations this time around. If you give us another try on your next visit to the city, we promise it will be better.

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeport, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The Opal is an old hotel with lots of charm. The staff is friendly, welcoming, and always ready to help with your requests. The rooms are clean and well kept. The beds are comfortable. Even though it's located on two very busy streets, the rooms are quiet. One of the things that makes this hotel a gem is it's convenience. It has secure parking. Located on Geary and Van Ness, it's super easy to get anywhere in the city by bus. They serve a light, but nutritious breakfast. For larger appetites, there's Mel's Diner right next door and Tommy's Joint across the street. Both are SF landmarks in a way.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieQ1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeng Chi H, General Manager at The Opal San Francisco, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear SuzieQ1971,

Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be welcoming and friendly. We are an older hotel, as you mentioned, but we try to make up for our lack of some of the modern amenities by giving outstanding service, and by providing a great value for our guests - such as the complimentary continental breakfast. We know our guests need fuel and energy to hike all of those San Francisco hills!

All of our team takes a huge amount of pride in our little San Francisco hotel. We may not be quite as fancy as the big names, but we try harder than anyone out there. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the city!

Jeng Chi Hung, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,343 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#130 of 229 in San Francisco
777 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#91 of 229 in San Francisco
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serrano Hotel
#93 of 229 in San Francisco
2,675 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#98 of 229 in San Francisco
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opal San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opal San Francisco

Property: The Opal San Francisco
Address: 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-6934
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Opal San Francisco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opal San Francisco is in the heart of San Francisco, walking distance to Union Square, Chinatown, Civic Center, and more! This family-friendly hotel is close to Union Square and Lombard Street. Make yourself at home in one of the 167 air-conditioned rooms featuring LED televisions. Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and cable programming is available for your entertainment. Private bathrooms with bathtubs or showers feature complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. Conveniences include desks and irons/ironing boards, as well as phones with free local calls. Take advantage of recreation opportunities such as a fitness center, or other amenities including complimentary wireless Internet access and concierge services. This hotel also features tour/ticket assistance and assistance with planning your day. Satisfy your appetite at the Mel's Diner, which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, or grab a snack at the many nearby restaurants. Featured amenities include limited onsite gated parking (for $41/tax per night), on-site ATM, ice machine, vending machines, and dry cleaning/laundry services. A shuttle from the hotel to the airport is provided for a surcharge (available on request). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Opal San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opal San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Opal Hotel San Francisco
Opal San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing